We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant cultural experience!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Te Puia

Te Puia
Book In Advance
More Info
$36.82*
and up
Te Puia Maori Arts and Crafts Institute with Optional Cultural Performance
Ranked #6 of 108 things to do in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Te Puia spans 70 hectares within the historic Te Whakarewarewa Valley, on the edge of town. We are home to the world famous Pohutu geyser, to mud pools, hot springs, to silica formations to the Kiwi bird and the national schools of wood carving, weaving, stone and bone carving. We have shared these treasures with manuhiri (visitors) for 170 years and proudly continue that legacy today.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Brilliant cultural experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

We had an amazing evening at Te Puia and really enjoyed the Te Po Indigenous Evening Experience. Our guide met us at the entrance and gave us some information about the tour and first interesting facts about the Maori culture.
After visiting the steam oven where the cooks prepared the delicious Hangi Meal we were welcomed by the tribe in a traditional welcoming ceremony. The concert in the meeting house was fantastic and the men also got the chance to learn the famous Haka.
The Hangi Meal exceeded all our expectations and we enjoyed the different tastes and tried lots of new things.
At the end we went up to the erupting Pohutu Geyser and had a fascinating view to this natural spectacle!! Our visit at Te Puia was excellent and we won't forget this great experience!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Maria_Auckland2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TePuiaN, Marketing Coordinator at Te Puia, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Tena Koe

Hey thanks so much for your great feedback, We definitely love having our visitors through and correct me if i'm wrong but that hangi meal is delicious isn't it!

Please keep in mind we're always open and if you are ever back in town now you know a great place to bring more family and friends, for not only a great meal but a great all round experience as well.

All the best for your travels. Looking forward to seeing you again.

Nga mihi nui
Te Puia Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,452 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,803
    1,157
    356
    95
    41
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
128 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“We don't go to cultural shows, but this was different”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

We have been to so many cultural shows over the years that we generally avoid them now. We only went to this one at our travel agent's urging. We would missed something quite special if we had not done so. We went to the evening programme which involved a cultural show, evening meal, and a tour of the geyser field. After a rather slow start in the shop/waiting area (& that was our last bad feeling for the night - it was going to be all commercial) we were very caught up with the enthusiasm of the guide and the performers. They must have done it so many times but they seemed to be enjoying themselves as much as we. The meal was excellent and more than abundant (we hope they didn't just have to throw out what we couldn't eat as we have to in Australia) and was accompanied by a solo singer. The short ride out to the illuminated geyser field was worth every moment. With the lighting there was an ambience that daylight lacks. Being able to sit on the naturally warmed rocks in the midst of a quite cold night was an experience in itself. All finished and warmly farewelled at a reasonable hour. Having happy chatty companions on the tour helped as well.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Richard O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TePuiaN, Marketing Coordinator at Te Puia, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Hey there!

We here at Te Puia are super happy that you took the opportunity to come and experience the "Te Po" evening experience!

We will pass on your lovely words, I know what it looks like but those performers do genuinely enjoy what they do, no doubt play tricks on each other throughout.

Hope to have you through again some time in the future, whenever that may be..

Nga mihi nui
Te Puia Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Awesome Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

We visited on the weekend just gone. We had a fantastic experience. our tour guide was Karla who was very informative and funny, she explained everything perfectly and engaged our group. We also did the cultural show and hangi which again was great. The show was good and great interaction between the visitors and performers. The hangi was well presented and it was great to see it being lifted out of the pit before we were served the food. We arrived at 4pm and left at 9.30, was a great day out and great value. Highly recommended :)

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank LovesToTravelKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TePuiaN, Marketing Coordinator at Te Puia, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Tena Koe

Hey we love to have our visitors for our "Te Po Combo" Tour, we appreciate the time you set aside to come and see us and we're so proud of our guiding and restaurant team for putting on a great experience for all our visitors.

lovely to have you, we will pass on your kind words and hope to see you again some time in the future!

Nga mihi nui
Te Puia Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
329 reviews
155 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
“A great day out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

The excellent combination of the cultural show and the interesting geothermal area gave a fantastic condensed introduction to region. Probably did not have enough time to cover the whole site unfortunately which really needs a few hours. There are not many places in the world where you can see and smell such activity, being limited to Iceland for those of us from the Northern Hemisphere so this was a real treat.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sanjaya_Wijeyekoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TePuiaN, Marketing Coordinator at Te Puia, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Kia Ora

Hey great point about the time it takes to visit us here at Te Puia.

Hopefully if you visit again please remember that we advise 2 hours to really take your time, see everything that we have on offer and really get your moneys worth.

We're really happy to have hosted you though, especially from the northern hemisphere hope you're enjoying it down here!

Nga mihi nui
Te Puia Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
“Great show and guided tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

Although it rained the day we visited, we had a great time. The cultural display of singing and dancing was informative and entertaining. Our friendly guide Carla was a hoot! Her stories had us all relaxed and laughing. Everything bubbled and hot water shot in the air, right on time. It was interesting to see this glimpse of traditional Maori life. Great venue!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Christine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TePuiaN, Marketing Coordinator at Te Puia, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Kia Ora from Te Puia

Thanks for the awesome feedback, we'll make sure to pass on your kind words to Carla she's a great tour guide, we're always having a laugh i can tell you that.

Have a safe and happy remainder of your trip

Nga mihi nui
Te Puia Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Te Puia also viewed

 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Te Puia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing