We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Geyser at Te Puia” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Te Puia

Te Puia
Book In Advance
More Info
$36.82*
and up
Te Puia Maori Arts and Crafts Institute with Optional Cultural Performance
Ranked #6 of 108 things to do in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Te Puia spans 70 hectares within the historic Te Whakarewarewa Valley, on the edge of town. We are home to the world famous Pohutu geyser, to mud pools, hot springs, to silica formations to the Kiwi bird and the national schools of wood carving, weaving, stone and bone carving. We have shared these treasures with manuhiri (visitors) for 170 years and proudly continue that legacy today.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Geyser at Te Puia”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

It is a place where one can get as close to a geyser as possible. Apart from the geyser and the boiling mud, there is also a Maori cultural village where you can attend a cultural show. However do check on the times of the show. By comparison, Hell;s gate is a better place to go and visit (if time is a factor) though Te Puia has the geyser to boast.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank supermum1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,453 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,803
    1,157
    357
    95
    41
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
171 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“The Truth & Nothing But the Truth.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

We did the Combo tour - tour/show/dinner - a bit top dollar, but when in Rome??

The tour was extremely informative, wet & cold. Having been told to rug up and given an umbrella, we had no problems. The evening show and dinner was more than expected and the erupting giesyer was a fitting finale.

This is an educational facility and not a show for entertainment but very educational.

A bit top dollar but when you are on a tight timetable, well worth the effort.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank GILLRI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“If you only get to one thermal area ....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

I lived in NZ quite a few years ago and visited most of the thermal areas. in 2013 I took our family to the North Island for a holiday but wanted to balance the types of things we did. After going to Craters of the Moon and Orakei Karako (both near Taupo and with their own thermal area beauty) I wanted as a last effort show the boys a classic thermal area, Being close to town (Rotorua) it is very popular so we turned up around 9 am to avoid the tour busses. Partially successful. We had a great Maori guide with a lots of information and humour that even kept the 9 and 11 year olds interested in flax weaving! That aside the geysers were amazing and performing - the biggest issue was watching the breeze to avoid being caught in sulphurous showers - not good for cameras. The Maori cultural show was well done albeit some tour bus participants were more interested in chatting than listening. I even got 'encouraged' to go on stage with twn others to learn the haka - much to my kids enjoyment. Highly recommended.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katikati, New Zealand
Level Contributor
137 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fantastic way to spend and evening in Rotorua”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

My husband and I were in Rotorua as part of a conference and were lucky enough to visit both Te Puia and Mitai. They were both brilliant experiences and both different and complement each other. Lovely Maori concert, delicious hungi, and the Geyser was blowing at it's best. They had thought of everything and as it was a chilly winter night we were all given woolly blankets for the short trip in a little train type thing to the Geyser and then we sat on hot rocks sipping hot chocolate while we watched the Geyser. The carving school was really interesting too. Definitely on my list of top 5 things to do in Rotorua.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank 610Margaretd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good choice for variety of activities”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

Of all the available geothermal options we chose this Te Puia primarily because it was convenient, being right in town. We took the one hour free guided tour where we saw the geyser and other thermal attractions, the carving school, the weaving school, the kiwi house, the cultural show, and the Maori exhibits. It was a comprehensive group of activities and although we can't compare it to the other similar offerings,we thought it was a good choice.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank tsheltont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Te Puia also viewed

 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Te Puia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing