We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“do it on your own”
Review of Te Puia

Te Puia
Book In Advance
More Info
$38.85*
and up
Te Puia Maori Arts and Crafts Institute with Optional Cultural Performance
More Info
$73.96*
and up
Te Puia Maori Cultural Tour and Steambox Lunch
More Info
$85.91*
and up
Rotorua Cultural Eco Small Group Afternoon Tour
Ranked #5 of 112 things to do in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Te Puia spans 70 hectares within the historic Te Whakarewarewa Valley, on the edge of town. We are home to the world famous Pohutu geyser, to mud pools, hot springs, to silica formations to the Kiwi bird and the national schools of wood carving, weaving, stone and bone carving. We have shared these treasures with manuhiri (visitors) for 170 years and proudly continue that legacy today.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“do it on your own”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

while guided tours are available at no charge, i found it much more interesting to explore the site on my own (prerequisite is ability to walk for an hour or so)

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Philipp S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,745 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,999
    1,226
    377
    98
    45
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Buinen, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Impressive view”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The cultural show was very entertaining. Well organized and every person could see the podium were the performance was held. The explaining during the show made everything very clear. The guides are well known with the history and the whole park. The geyser was very impressive and although a lot of the surrounding is not very colorful it still is very beautiful to see.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nick J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mascot, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Beautiful performances.”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We visited Te Puia and were rewarded by a wonderful experience, entering a meeting house and seeing wonderful performances of the Haka and Poi dances, by wonderfully talented performers. Everything about this trip was rewarding, saw the geyser and hot mud pools. Lovely.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank liz77_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great trip, cultural tour and hangi feast were brilliant”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

The was one of the highlights of our trip. The cultural tour was eye opening and the passion of the staff shows through.

The maouri dancing and traditions was done really well and you learnt a great deal. The food was lovely and the hot chocolate at the end outside was a nice touch.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jess B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Level 6 Contributor
673 reviews
243 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 462 helpful votes
“Love the wood carving school!”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

This lovely spot was included as a stop on our Celebrity Cruises shore excursion out of Tauranga. We loved the wood carving school - my daughter has a mobility issue requiring her to use a wheelchair, and one of the wood carvers whisked her privately out of the main line of tourists and gave her an extensive behind the scenes tour of the wood shop - such a kind thing for him to do, and what a memorable experience for us! Additionally, we very much enjoyed the boiling mud pools, the steam vents, etc, of the thermal reserve. There is a lot to see here, an excellent venue to take in the deep Maori culture.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank lexmiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Te Puia also viewed

 

Been to Te Puia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing