We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good visit”
Review of Te Puia

Te Puia
Experience for Yourself
More Info
$38.74*
and up
Te Puia Maori Arts and Crafts Institute with Optional Cultural Performance
Ranked #6 of 112 things to do in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Te Puia spans 70 hectares within the historic Te Whakarewarewa Valley, on the edge of town. We are home to the world famous Pohutu geyser, to mud pools, hot springs, to silica formations to the Kiwi bird and the national schools of wood carving, weaving, stone and bone carving. We have shared these treasures with manuhiri (visitors) for 170 years and proudly continue that legacy today.
Wales
Level Contributor
189 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Good visit”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

We went here yesterday using the combo ticket. This included a guided tour around the attraction, good explanation of Maori customs and the area. Then we had a show followed by a meal. Goodway to spend an iffy evening. Very impressed with the wood carving and weaving schools.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank madasaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,659 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,937
    1,210
    372
    97
    43
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Cape May, New Jersey
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great scenery, decent tour.”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We arrived on a cloudy day, but the every alone was worth the admission. The tour is about an hour and is very educational, and it was nice to see the Maori work on their craft. The nature trails are easy to follow and have some great sights. In addition, the farthest trails seem to have the least foot traffic, so it's great for quiet walks. Did not see the dance performance so I can't give any insight on that.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank stauf82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Just Incredible”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Hot Geysers, Maori Village, being challenged by a warrior with a traditional haka, eating a hangi meal, there is just so much to see and do. Walking over ground that is hot underfoot, mud pools that bubble constantly. What a wonderful place, put it on your list of things to do.
I visited this wonderful place with my friend who lives in Waikanae in 2009 just after my husband passed away, New Zealand and all its sights was what I needed to calm and rebalance myself. Some quite challenging terrain so not a great place for buggies, or people with mobility problems.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Vicky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Go on the guided tour to get the full appreciation of this thermal area and Maori culture. The tour goes for about an hour and for a little extra you get the Maori concert as well.A msut do.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank narello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Geyser and Mud pools”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

After a long trip from Pauanui ,it was great to be greeted at the entrance by a smiling face, welcoming us to "Te Puia".
My wife asked if we could get a senior discount and were told, "Only for NZ pensioners"
With another laugh ,we were given discount as we were tourists from out of the country.
Not a lot, but a nice gesture.
On entering, there is a meeting place where you can join a tour of the whole area, or, you can walk around at your own pace.
If you take the tour, it includes talks about the Geyser, wood carving , and cultural ways.
My wife and friend did the tour whilst I stayed up at the geyser look-out, waiting for the geyser to erupt.
Things do not always go to plan as advertised.
Eruptions twice an hour are touted , but once an hour is the norm.
Well it did go off, with a lot of build -up before the main geyser went ballistic.
Actually, there are 2 main vents that shoot water and steam up into the air.
One small, and the other that , when lets go, last for about 20 minutes, until it finally subsides, to go again in another hour.
If you catch the eruption from the look-out, walk down to the viewing board-walk that surrounds the geyser.
Pretty spectacular viewing from this close .
Try sitting on the concrete apron adjacent to the Geyser. Gets quite hot on the backside.
Keep travelling around to the other viewing platform(go right ) and feel the wet spray as the steam condenses back into water.
Word of warning though, take a poncho and cover your camera, as it will get a white mineral deposit settle on all parts of the camera.
A really good part of this tour is the wood carving area.
The large carvings are made by gluing timber to-gether and are at least 10 metres long.
Also totems are carved out of whole tree trunks.
Mud pools and steam vents dot the area, so stay on the paths.
What is also amazing is that local buildings are built so close to the thermal area
The staff and guides are all very friendly and full of knowledge about what happens within the park.
Fell free to ask questions.
At around $47-00 per person it is well worth it.
You can stay for an hour or the whole day if you wish.
The choice is yours. No one bundles you out.
Well worth the entry fee.
There is also a souvenir shop waiting to tempt you on your way out.
If you are visiting Rotorua, make the time. You won't be disappointed.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank DiverDan09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Te Puia also viewed

 

Been to Te Puia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing