We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Downstairs Flat” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lyons Lakestay

Lyons Lakestay
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lyons Lakestay
Ranked #40 of 57 Specialty Lodging in Rotorua
Waitakere City, New Zealand
1 review
“Downstairs Flat”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

At a glance the web site gave an impression of secluded accommodation in a natural setting by the lake. In reality this is a downstairs flat of a residential house on a small section tucked between other residential houses close to the lake. It was great to know that only natural cleaning products are used for this accommodation - a definite plus. The rooms are small. Can hear people walking upstairs in the morning. The rooms and bathroom are clean and tidy. The kitchen facility is good.
We were keen to get away from cell towers in the main town and be closer to nature. This was unfortunately substituted by wifi (practically a mini-celltower in the upstairs flat). There were no other tenants staying on the night and I asked the host to turn off the wi-fi modem during the night. According to my electrosmog meter this was not done. In the morning we also noticed a large electromagnetic field from electric underfloor heating in the kitchen area. This accommodation is definitely not for people who are looking to get away from electropollution.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JAFWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
okpossum, Owner at Lyons Lakestay, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
I am very sorry about the disappointment of your stay at the lakestay. Although we do have houses either side of us , there is bush between all of them. All the rooms have an outlook onto the native bush and gardens. There are views of the lake from the front garden.
Our accommodation is above and behind the Lakestay. The noise is usually minimal as only 2 of us living here, so I am sorry if it was unpleasant for your stay.
As for the electropollution, was a bit of a surprise as the majority of guests are asking for the FREE Wifi. It would have been helpful if you had made us aware prior to your arrival. If I know about guests special requirments I am happy to try and accommodate. My husband was working late that evening and obviously forgotten to turn it off.
Cheryl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    7
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
11
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
91 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2012

Stayed here for two nights in April. The place was spacious and self contained. The kids loved the room with the bunk beds. Well stocked kitchen with pots, pans and almost everything that you needed. Overall a very pleasant experience.

Pluses:
Great views of lake Okareka from the backyard.
Very spacious unit.

Minor cons:
Not really close to town so a car is a must.
The rooms were a little dark. Wish the lighting was better.
No toiletries were included. Luckily we always carry extras.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevelling_Macs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
okpossum, Owner at Lyons Lakestay, responded to this review, May 31, 2012
Thank you Gina ,great to hear you and the family enjoyed your stay. Feedback is important to us so i have noted comment about the lighting and try to remedy.Some toiletries always availble in bathroom cupboard.We are a budget accommodatiion, so dont focus on the extra "frills".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2012

We stayed here for two nights while touring NZ. It was OK and in a lovely area for walking (though a fair distance from the town) but the room was quite small and as it was off the driveway, under the house, there was no view at all of the lake. Perhaps a bit pricey in terms of value for money compared to other places we stayed and we were very disappointed in the breakfast which didn't even include real coffee ... help yourself to the instant. (By that time we had got used to really good fresh coffees at many places.) We were strongly recommended to go along to the Hangi meal at the Mitai Mauri village on the night we arrived, and although very "staged", the food and entertainment were good. However, we found out the next day that we could have had a much better deal from the tourist office.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fionafayre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
okpossum, Owner at Lyons Lakestay, responded to this review, May 31, 2012
Thank you Fiona for your review. I am very sorry that we did not meet your expectations.I am not sure why you expected a lake view from your room as they are not advertised as Lake Views ,but garden views, which your room had out 1 window and although next to the drive ,it does look out to Native trees and ferns ,planter boxes along the drive.There are lake views from the Courtyard and front garden.NB comment by guests following you in next review.
I am very sorry you were not happy with the breakfast and I must say very surprised to hear as ,you are ythe 1st person to complain about the breakfast.
They are very wholesome,Organic,free range eggs and bacon,Homemade bread ,jams.
I am not sure wat happened re the coffee .There is Fresh coffee available in the lakestay with a plunger ,but I usually do offer freshly made tea and coffee with breakfasts ,so i do apologise .Not sure what happened there.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2012

Tea, coffee, fresh veggies from the garden, well stocked kitchen with basic staples in a quiet lovely setting, with a strong commitment to green travel. We had a lovely stay, topped by fresh smoked trout, a delicacy I thought I'd never get to try in NZ, which was a special treat! We had a lovely stay. I strongly recommend that you stay more than one night. Do be aware that you may be sharing the kitchen, depending on who else is staying there. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dcdt666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Central, New Zealand
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2012

As a family of 6 we only just fit in the wee (and I mean tiny) apartment that is underneath the owners house. It was damp and musty smelling as soon as we walked in. The towels that were provided for us and the bed linen also smelt like mildew. In all fairness it has been a very wet summer, but we do not think the amount we paid to stay here per night in any way reflected value for money. There is no lounge so the only place to hang out is either on one of the beds or the kitchen table. There is no freezer, dishwasher or oven. You have to pay extra to use a washing machine and the kayaks that were advertised on the website as being available to hire for a 'nominal fee' were $30 each per day!!! We had the dehumidifier on most of the time we were there and it extracted a lot of water from the place. On the third night our daughter (15) discovered fleas in her bed. There was nothing we could do except use insect repellent overnight. The next day we inspected all the beds and found fleas in 3 of them. We decided to leave at that point even though we had 4 more nights booked, as with the dampness, cramped quarters and fleas we had had enough... We contacted the owner, and while being shocked at us finding fleas, she did get back to us promptly and refunded us nearly all of the portion that we cancelled. She was very apologetic that the accommodation wasn't up to 'their' usual standard. We do however still believe this is not a good place for large families to stay as it is not big enough. In our experiences of staying in baches and holiday homes as rentals, this should not go in the same category. (We booked through holidayhomes.co.nz) We had friends who had booked two houses right on lake edge Rotiti with everything this place was missing at quite a bit less than Lyons Lakestay cost, and they had kayaks free to use! It really is backpacker lodgings except all linen is provided.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laz60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
okpossum, Owner at Lyons Lakestay, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
WE are very sorry that this family were not happy with the Lakestay .It is unfortunate that they didnt seem to be aware of the facilities.We are advertised as a Holiday Unit (not a house) most families that have stayed here have enjoyed that it is not too big and easy to look afer while they are here.The Kitchen/dining area combines as the communal area with cane armchairs as well as kitchen furniture and opens on to outdoor courtyard area(not good in rain).This family had older children ,the weather was and had been "atrocious"!! The worst I have ever known here in over 20 years .It was constant rain for days,weeks. Obviously the drying of towels had been difficult but all had been put in drier.I only wish they had said about the towels would have been happy to replace.The Lakestay is not a damp unit it is well built and insulated with double glazing.Despite it being summer the windows were left closed which added to the problems this family had.Due to thebush surrounds ,you can get a musty smell in and outside when it is wet.Just natural for the area.I had the dehumidifier on in the rooms before the family arrived and yes there was moisture ,not excessive but would be in any home in the weather conditions.Obviously more moisture with a family in the unit and all windows shut(no airflow).The windows do have secure locks on so you can have them open a small amount and still secure.I acted on the report of fleas immediately,found a couple in 1 room only.This was a problem purely due to the weather had been a problem in many homes this summer.Obviously not what you like to have when you are on holiday.We have not had a problem like this before and I can guarantee it will not happen again. The rooms were all treated safely and ready to ocupy within 2 hours.We dont advertise that the Lakestay is suitable for large families.We also have kayaks and Bikes FREE for guests .The lakestay has all linen provided and some daily servicing ,taking care of rubbish etc.The properties at rotoiti,were cheaper due to having to [provide your own linen and they are considerable further from the city.We are only 12km ,a 10 min drive.Lake Rotoiti is more like 25-30 mins away from the city.The Lakestay has a high standard of cleaning,as it is also used as a B& B so cleaned daily when guests are here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2011

Thankyou again Cheryl for being very fair after i had messed up the booking!Cheryl's homemade bread & muesli is superb!We all loved Possum the cat...after we actually caught him. Lake Okareka has to be seen to be appreciated-this is tranquility.The house is very neat & comfortable.Will have to come back again to explore the local area-it really is a hidden gem.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trippeople
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2011

Stayed over in a double room. We were the only people there, so had the whole place to ourselves, which was brilliant. Facilities were really good and the place was super tidy.

Kitchen was great and there was tea and coffee there as well.

Everything worked really well and we were looked after the whole time.

Cheryl was really helpful and showed us where lots of different places were in Rotorua, really went above and beyond what she needed to do as a host. We made it to the secret hot pools, so thanks a lot for that guys! :-)

We had a great time using the kayaks in the morning and the kayak trolleys were great, really good! We were even able to watch the Ireland vs Australia game on for the RWC and were a big fan of the rain water in the fridge.

Keep up the good work guys – If we come to Rotorua again, we will be back.

Thanks a lot

Andy and Annie

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
5.4 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
2.5 mi away
Solitaire Lodge
Solitaire Lodge
#25 of 93 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
11.5 mi away
Hamurana Lodge
Hamurana Lodge
#15 of 93 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Ramada Resort Rotorua Marama
1.2 mi away
Blue Lake TOP 10 Holiday Park & Motel
11.2 mi away
Lakeview Heights Farm Stay
Lakeview Heights Farm Stay
#15 of 56 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lyons Lakestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lyons Lakestay

Property: Lyons Lakestay
Address: 8 Okareka Loop Rd | Lake Okareka RD5, Rotorua 3076, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 57 Specialty Lodging in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lyons Lakestay 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small, eco-friendly accommodation that is quiet, but only 12 kms from Central Rotorua. Nestled on the hill in Native Bush, opposite Lake Okareka (20m).The lakestay has 3 rooms suitable for Double and single B& B,or "boutique budget" self catering option in the 3 or 4 bed room suitable for those looking for "backpacker style" sharing facilities, in a modern ,well designed facility. Also suitable for small groups 4-8 persons to have the Lakestay as a holiday unit for yourselves. The Lakestay is an evolving Organic business and a member of the Rotorua Sustainable Tourism Charter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Lyons Lakestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing