We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unfriendly Hosts”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Golden Glow Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Golden Glow Motel
Ranked #38 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
Hastings, New Zealand
1 review
“Unfriendly Hosts”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2011

We found the hosts were not very friendly at all. Not even a 'thank you' when we paid on departure or a 'hope you enjoyed your stay'. I found the cleaners more friendly.

The family studio we booked was adequate for what we were after, really just a place to sleep. We booked for 3 nights, ended up staying 4. We would have just stayed for the 3 nights and moved onto another motel if it wasn't for the hassle of packing up 3 children and re-organizing them somewhere else.

Location was very handy.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wezshay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
golden_glow, Owner at Golden Glow Motel, responded to this review, March 29, 2011
We are stunned and very sorry to receive such negative feedback! Our aim is at all times to be friendly and give helpful, advice on all Rotorua has to offer. Since this review is two months after the event, it is harder to recall details, especially at such a busy time of the year! We are surprised that someone who labelled us unfriendly would even consider staying an additional fourth night ! Our records do show that this guest was given a special rate from the beginning - it was 'peak rate' time but they were only charged 'off peak' rates and no charge for the use of a cot. How 'unfriendly' is that? We can only assume these people didn't receive the attention they were expecting. This is a shame and we sincerely apologise for unknowingly and unintentionally neglecting these guests. We try our hardest to converse freely with all our guests as time allows us to, without encroaching upon their personal time - must have got the balance wrong here. It is inexcusable and extremely rare for us not to say 'thank you' upon departure - can't imagine how that occurred! We hope this guest can forgive our failings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    46
    5
    7
    5
See reviews for
51
47
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lower Hutt, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2010

Fantastic location, just across the road from Countdown. Comfortable beds and lovely and warm in the middle of winter. Separate spa room in the unit was great, although not thermal water. The hosts and staff were friendly and helpful. The 10% discount for staying longer than 3 nights was a bonus.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GrannySmith20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2010

After previously having a very bad experience at a motel in Rotorua, it was getting late and we were desparate to find accommodation. We came across the Golden Glow and straight away they made us very welcomed and offered us several choices of units. Cars are parked directly in front of the units so we chose units on the upper floor which gave us more privacy. The rooms provided all that one needed and were amazed at the large spa tub. You are provided with spa foam but no other toiletries were provided (shower/shampoo) etc, so ensure that you bring some with you. We initially intended to stay just for one night but we were so comfortable for stayed for two. As you leave the motel turn right and on the corner there is a fish & chips/chinese take away, their fish was very moist and most enjoyable, we went back the next night and had a chinese take away - why cook when you have excellent food on your doorstop.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lawriehatten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2010

We stayed at the Golden Glow on our way down towards the South Island and were so happy with it we booked for a stopover on our return trip back up to Auckland. We loved the spa bath - a real treat for us poms, and Yvonne & Lance were very helpful and accomodating.
Would highly recommend it!

Marian & Dave Walker, Bromley, Kent UK

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mazzaBromley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2009

When booking our holiday we were looking for accommodation close to the town centre that was cost effective and provided cooking facilities. We were pleasantly surprised with how clean and tidy the room was and how extremely helpful the staff were. The convenience of the location was brilliant being across the road from a supermarket, green grocer and butcher, and only a brief walk to the town shopping centres. The privacy of the personal spa bath topped off a fantastic day of sightseeing. We would recommend this motel to any traveller looking for reasonable rates and value for money.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melbonite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taupo
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2009

One of the best motels we have stayed in. Clean and comfortable, couldnt ask for better hosts. Would recommend Golden Glow Motel to anyone, very reasonable rates.

Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AvyL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taranaki
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2008

We booked this motel based on the listing in the Jasons directory. The motel is very, very dated and whilst clean gave the impression of being there to make money not provide comfort. The owner was incredibly rude and definately not willing to provide any extra advice on the area. We had our children with us also and found that the rooms were impractical for younger children and there was nothing for the children to do at this motel. Being New Zealanders ourselves it is very embarrasing to think of tourists using this motel, however we then stayed at another motel in Parapaumu that was FANTASTIC!!

  • Disliked — the rude owner and dated decor
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Swarkee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
golden_glow, Owner at Golden Glow Motel, responded to this review, December 21, 2008
We are not rude to our guests and we do spend considerable time promoting the local Rotorua attractions. We are a middle of the road motel, clean, comfortable and reasonably priced. Most of our units have been upgraded with new showers, vanity units and paint etc.
Interesting that we can't find anyone of this name on our guest list in June 08 and we wonder if they are talking about another motel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.5 mi away
Brylin Motel
Brylin Motel
#47 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
0.2 mi away
Six on Union
Six on Union
#50 of 93 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lake Rotorua Hotel
Lake Rotorua Hotel
#48 of 93 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua
0.1 mi away
Fernleaf Motel
Fernleaf Motel
#30 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cleveland Thermal Motel
Cleveland Thermal Motel
#12 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Glow Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Glow Motel

Property: Golden Glow Motel
Address: 253 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#31 Family Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Glow Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering spacious studios and family apartments with a private spa pool, Golden Glow Motel is a 5-minute walk from Rotorua Town where various shops and restaurants can be found. It offers free parking, free WiFi daily and a free shuttle from the bus station. Heated guest rooms have a kitchenette with a microwave, hot plates and a toaster. Each has a flat-screen TV with over 50 satellite channels. The en suite bathroom comes with toiletries and shower. A self-service guest laundry service is available and luggage storage is provided. Motel Golden Glow is a 10-minute walk from the Polynesian Spa and Lake Rotorua. It is a 15-minute drive from the Rotorua Regional Airport, and a 20-minute drive from Wai-O-Tapu Thermal Wonderland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Golden Glow Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Glow Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing