We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fab-u-lous!!!!”
Review of Regent of Rotorua

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Regent of Rotorua
Ranked #8 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“fab-u-lous!!!!”
Reviewed August 29, 2009

The Regent is absolutely spot on when they say they are bringing glamour to Rotorua. This wonderful gem of a place offers luxury, glamour and all the comforts one would expect in fabulous accommodation. The rooms have been completely renovated and are gorgeous...be sure to book a suite, they are fantastic! Loads of space, great furnishings, fittings are high quality and just a fabulous space to sit and enjoy! While our visit was for leisure, the suite was well furnished with anything we would have needed had we been there on business. The bathroom is amazing, brand new and very sleek with lovely toiletries. Bed linens and towels have been carefully selected, are high quality and are luxurious to use! We stayed two nights and wished we could have stayed longer. "Restaurant Row" is literally 3 minutes walk away with a great choice of places to eat. The owners are delightful and it's obvious that they take great care in ensuring their guests have a wonderful stay. Thank you to the The Regent for offering a wonderful guest experience at amazing rates!! As far as we're concerned Rotorua is back on the map now that THE REGENT is there & when we go back, we won't stay anywhere else!!

Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank RandSK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,059
    296
    60
    13
    2
See reviews for
276
801
53
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2009

This place is amazing. My partner had booked and warned me that this place was a motel. Well Im sure it was some time ago, now its just an absolute gem. Location is good with lots of eating options just 100 metres walk. The room itself is fabolous with a new big plasma and fantastic heating for the cold. Probably the highlight stay of our NZ driving trip. A must stay.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Benched1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 13, 2009

We found the Regent of Rotorua through pure luck on the internet. This was not what we were originally looking for. We had started out wanting a nice relaxing B & B or boutique hotel that included a large home cooked breakfast and not in central Rotorua. But after seeing the pictures of the Regent of Rotorua and reading reviews we had to give the hotel a go and were not disappointed.

It is a renovated motel which used to charge NZ$69/night and you would never know. They have done an amazing job and the rooms are amazing. They are decorated in a black and white theme and with high standard furniture, equipment and decor. The staff are friendly and helpful and make you feel very welcome, thank you Buddy. It is in the perfect location for Lake Rotorua, restaurants and bars. They are currently adding to this facililty, restaurant, additional rooms, new reception and this in no way disturbed us.

Try it - you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loulabelle377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nz
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2009

We enjoyed our short stay in Rotorua. The Regent staff were great and helped us book some sightseeing. We could only stay one night as we were off to taupo the next morning.
Hope to get back one day.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrharper3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2009

In a word, wow! We drove by this place and from the initial looks of it, thought it was closed down...but upon further discovery confirmed the opposite. The owner is absolutely delightful. And the rooms are, hands down, the nicest (in terms of decor) we've stayed in while New Zealand. The rooms are very retro...black/white and very trendy. Also fully stocked/equipped (fridge, coffee plunger, dishware, etc). And to boot, you're within walking distance to all the main restaurants. The bed was not only super comfy but had top-quality linens and down-filled pillows (the FIRST down pillows we've had since being in New Zealand). We learned from the owner that they're in phase one of construction and will be constructing a second wing and pool soon (so don't be put off by the outside appearance). A total gem of a hotel...would highly recommend this place and we'll definitely be staying here again!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DS087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2009

We were in Rotorua to attend a conference at the Novotel - why didn't we stay there?Well they wouldn't guarantee a non-smoking room - in 2009?
So onto the internet and we found this Gem- rooms brand new and trendy- all the latest and equipped to a fantastically high standard.
I was shocked by the outside appearance though - very 60's motel- not shabby and extremely well painted etc - so don't be put off - this is the start of a major redevelopment - so if the rest is completed to the same standard then the opposition had better watch out.
...and the best...the price - far too cheap- sometimes when you get such a great deal you can be a little suspicious- in this case don't be put off- it's great.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heritage1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2009

We really enjoyed our time in the Regent of Rotorua. It is very retro which you may or may not like but as the rooms are all newly decorated and I was quite happy with my navy blue and white colour scheme with black and white printed wallpaper!
It is like a motel block from the outside but the rooms are all very comfortable - lovely bed although it did give me back ache as it was maybe a bit too soft!
The shower and bathroom is airy and light and the monsoon shower really good.
You can park right outside the motel and it is really centrally located - a few hundred yards from the restaurants and bars. Just note that everyone eats extremely early in Rotorua - by 8pm the restaurants were dead!
We were only booked in for one night but ended up doing two and that was no problem either - the guy on reception was very laid back and we didn't confirm it until the morning that we wanted to stay so very relaxed.
All in all it was a very different experience to anywhere else I stayed in New Zealand but a good one. Nice to have a change from a standard hotel although at £80 per night it was pricier than some of the places we stayed.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicolafb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.3 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
706 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
1.3 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
0.2 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
185 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#18 of 92 in Rotorua
847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regent of Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regent of Rotorua

Property: Regent of Rotorua
Address: 1191 Pukaki Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#4 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#7 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#7 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Regent of Rotorua 4.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Regent of Rotorua Boutique Hotel redefines modern hospitality with a visionary blend of classic design, luxurious facilities and bespoke service. Our philosophy is to marry personalized, intuitive service with divine rooms and suites, stunning surroundings and a smart, relaxed atmosphere. Perfectly located in the heart of Rotorua within walking distance of the eating & shopping precinct, the lakefront, government gardens and the convention centres. The Hotel offers 35 guest rooms, restaurant & bar, outdoor heated pool, natural mineral pool, mini gym, spa services, meeting rooms, unlimited free WiFi & laundry services. Our award winning restaurant can cater for up to 70 guests banquet style and meetings can be held in a choice of 3 rooms from 21sqm up to 200sqm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Regent of Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Of Rotorua Hotel Rotorua
Regent Rotorua
Rotorua Regent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing