We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Regent of Rotorua

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Regent of Rotorua
Ranked #8 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great stay.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at Regent of Rotorua. The rooms were extremely warm (important because the air temperature outside was very cold!) and there was obviously a lot of thought and effort which went into the decor (quite flamboyant) and the room amenities (including a microwave, plates and cutlery). The managers were very helpful and jolly. We would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank addictedtotravel24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,006
    268
    56
    12
    2
See reviews for
249
763
50
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

We love the Regent! From the chic decor to the excellent service and recommendation, we cannot recommend it highly enough. The location is perfect - you can walk to anything in the city center. Make sure to use their onsite mineral soaking pool(s) and cuddle up in their ultra soft bathrobes (truth: we even bought one to take home). The hotel restaurant is also worth trying - you won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: Try the rooms in the new Annex - we chose to stay in the original building, but heard that the new r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DSB395
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014

Great location right in the heart of the town and close to eat street.

Rooms and the bathrooms are very nicely decorated and modern. V comfy bed. We were upgraded which was nice touch. Nice and quiet. Nice extras like cutlery, crockery and a microwave.

Staff were very friendly.

Food was a bit pricey and i didnt like the extra $5 charge for room service.

It was s shame that there was no kids TV channels.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RossEmma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

I love this place and will definitely be back

Things are looking up in rotorua!

I have avoided rotorua a bit in the last few years, it can feel a bit soulless and expensive. Rotorua has great natural attractions but the hospitality infrastructure has always been 2nd rate. Anyone remember venturing out of a Fenton st motel to find a meal and the best you could find was a valentines? Or staying in a hot shabby 'executive' hotel that is just dreary, so you can't wait to get home?

The regent of rotorua is different.

It's stylish, clean, quiet, in a FANTASTIC location. You can walk in 2 mins to 20 restaurants. Although you won't need to as the hotel restaurant is outstanding. And they bring it all to your room so you can feed your noisy kids great quality meals in the privacy of your own room

The hosts were born to run this sort of hotel, warm, welcoming and on-to-it.

We stayed in a 2 bedroom unit, and it was perfect for a family of 5. We wanted to hang around our room. The kids loved a hot swim, and borrowed a DVD player from reception so we could have a movie night

Beds comfy, everything clean.

It's different...it's not a brand new purpose built hotel. It's an old motel meticulously renovated. It's a bit quirky and definitely cool. The only option for this family next time we visit rotorua

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank RachaelMG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

Stayed 3 nights and loved everything about this place. The staff, decor and food were all fabulous. Beds super comfortable. Generous sized showers and bath. Large sofa that we could all fit on. Room service dinner was divine for both adults and kids. We had a 2 bedroom place which came with 2 bathrooms which was a nice surprise. Each room had a TV and a heat pump. Great location only a few metres to Eat St - far better location than being amongst the motels on Fenton St. Would stay again.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ppppaulau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
118 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014

This is a fabulous hotel conveniently located right in the village of Rotorua.
It's not pretentious but the property is impeccably clean and well taken care of.
I have no words to describe the level of customer service provided by the nice gentleman at the front desk. Simply amazing staff and service!
They gave us a 2 bedroom suite which was the size of an apartment with all the amenities.
There's no question that this place truly deserves its 5 star rating! HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SanDiegoLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

I would highly recommend staying here on your next trip to Rotorua. The hotel is quaint yet extremely elegant and tastefully decorated...Upon arrival you are greeted by the friendly staff and Regal ambiance of the Hotel foyer. The real surprise was when we entered our room and saw the fully stocked bar fridge and a basket of sweets a bottle of NZ's best white wine and even toy's for the kids! What a treat :) The room was spacious and elegantly decorated. The beds were super comfortable..if only they would have fit into my suitcase!! Each morning they put on a full buffet style breakfast downstairs in their dining area which consisted of everything you could have wanted for a delicious and filling breakfast. The only drama we had was that our entire floor was taken over by very loud and rude teenage boy's keeping us awake till well after midnight and then the next day smaller children using the floor as a playground. So my advice would be to ask for a floor with not a lot of kids LOL other than that we didn't want to leave and will stay again :)

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.3 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 93 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
1.3 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
0.1 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
0.2 mi away
Princes Gate Hotel
Princes Gate Hotel
#39 of 93 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
1.5 mi away
Regal Palms 5 Star City Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regent of Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regent of Rotorua

Property: Regent of Rotorua
Address: 1191 Pukaki Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#4 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#6 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#7 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Regent of Rotorua 4.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Regent of Rotorua Boutique Hotel redefines modern hospitality with a visionary blend of classic design, luxurious facilities and bespoke service. Our philosophy is to marry personalized, intuitive service with divine rooms and suites, stunning surroundings and a smart, relaxed atmosphere. Perfectly located in the heart of Rotorua within walking distance of the eating & shopping precinct, the lakefront, government gardens and the convention centres. The Hotel offers 35 guest rooms, restaurant & bar, outdoor heated pool, natural mineral pool, mini gym, spa services, meeting rooms, unlimited free WiFi & laundry services. Our award winning restaurant can cater for up to 70 guests banquet style and meetings can be held in a choice of 3 rooms from 21sqm up to 200sqm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Regent of Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Of Rotorua Hotel Rotorua
Regent Rotorua
Rotorua Regent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing