We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Modern, fresh, clean and welcoming”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Regent of Rotorua

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Regent of Rotorua
Ranked #7 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
auckland
Level Contributor
93 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Modern, fresh, clean and welcoming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

We spent one night in this oasis during a terrible weather bomb. We loved the retro conversion of an old fashioned two storey motel block into a modern black and white themed hotel. The staff were fantastic, especially Pierre who was graciously coping with overbooking for the Easter weekend. We had dinner and breakfast at the hotel and both meals were excellent. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: We were in room 23 which was on an upper storey overlooking the pool area. It was over the restauran...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nzdarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,003
    264
    55
    12
    2
See reviews for
248
756
50
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lisarow
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

We stayed here last Wednesday and found it to be everything the other reviewers had said. Great rooms with everything you could want, excellent service and very comfortable beds to sleep in. Location is great and so close to a large number of restaurants. Parking close to the rooms was also appreciated. We'll definitely stay here next time we visit Rotorua.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014

Exceptional staff made all the difference in this hotel. Our family of 5 stayed here while on vacation over the Christmas holiday break - although a bit of a trek to our start point for the Tongariro crossing hike, it was so worth it. Darryn rose in the middle of the night to pack delicious breakfasts and snacks for us, and had ample coffee and tea ready for our long van ride to the start point of the 9 1/2 hike on the Tongariro trail. Our three rooms were lovely and comfortable, beautifully decorated, and very clean. I so wish we had more time to spend in the area, and in the hotel. The thermal mineral pool is quite small, but the main pool is spacious with a lovely lounging area. I would not hesitate to stay here again, and would definitely recommend both the hotel and the restaurant. I hope to return soon.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
76 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

We recently stayed here and it was a lovely place .It was in very easy walking distance to restaurants and the main street. The hotel had an award winning restaurant, pool and hot spa. The staff were friendly and obliging. The only problem I had was the maintenance man who decided to cut trees outside our room before 9:00 am and on the other days clean our outdoor furniture right outside our bedroom window at 8:30 am. They weren't even dirty. I found it a bit creepy and as we like to sleep in so it was rather disturbing. I am sure he was only doing his job but...?The rooms were, clean and crisp and the bed extremely, spacious and comfortable. The bathroom was beautiful. I would have loved it if I had requested a single hotel room. Unfortunately my travel agent stuffed up. I had requested a one bedroom, suite .My husband tends to sleep in and I had nowhere to sit or go in the room except a chair in a corner with no light so I had to go for walks each morning while he slept. This is an older style building and we were very close to people walking past and car park noise. It's beautiful, quirky and immaculate but not what I ordered.

Room Tip: Ask for a one or two bedroom suite away from the car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xena100bc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

This is a magnificent hotel that is recommended without reservation or qualification. The staff, the accommodation, the location, the restaurant - all absolutely first rate. Nicely different without being quirky and with outstanding attention to detail, in service as well as decor

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

Lovely room with A/C that actually works! Personal service by owners and wonderful staff. Great breakfast too. Can dine outside overlooking the beautiful pool. Great location -- short walking distance to Eat Street, which is the hub of town.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KricketsMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonita Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
81 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

This small hotel is a gem and our stay there made our Rotorua stay most enjoyable. A spacious and comfortable room, king sized bed, great A/C, and personable owners who are present and helpful. Darren was a pleasure. We ate great dinners there twice and enjoyed the breakfasts also. This place stands out as special during our three week trip to Australia and New Zealand.

Room Tip: Ask for a King bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.3 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 93 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
1.3 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
0.1 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
0.2 mi away
Princes Gate Hotel
Princes Gate Hotel
#39 of 93 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
1.5 mi away
Regal Palms 5 Star City Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regent of Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regent of Rotorua

Property: Regent of Rotorua
Address: 1191 Pukaki Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#4 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#5 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#7 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Regent of Rotorua 4.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Regent of Rotorua Boutique Hotel redefines modern hospitality with a visionary blend of classic design, luxurious facilities and bespoke service. Our philosophy is to marry personalized, intuitive service with divine rooms and suites, stunning surroundings and a smart, relaxed atmosphere. Perfectly located in the heart of Rotorua within walking distance of the eating & shopping precinct, the lakefront, government gardens and the convention centres. The Hotel offers 35 guest rooms, restaurant & bar, outdoor heated pool, natural mineral pool, mini gym, spa services, meeting rooms, unlimited free WiFi & laundry services. Our award winning restaurant can cater for up to 70 guests banquet style and meetings can be held in a choice of 3 rooms from 21sqm up to 200sqm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Regent of Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Of Rotorua Hotel Rotorua
Regent Rotorua
Rotorua Regent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing