We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Rotorua Destination”
Review of Regent of Rotorua

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Regent of Rotorua
Ranked #8 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Fairfax, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great Rotorua Destination”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Stayed two nights at the Regent and enjoyed our stay immensely. This property has been totally renovated and the finished product is amazing. Our room was very nicely furnished and we enjoyed quiet nights and a sound sleep. The entire hotel and our rooms in particular, were freshly painted and perfectly clean. Our hosts were extremely friendly and anxious to help out in getting us reservations for local attractions and providing directions to others. We did not eat dinner at the Regent, but we did have breakfast on the two mornings we were there and found nothing to complain about, in fact everything we had was very good and the service was excellent. We highly recommend the Regent and will no doubt stay there again should we return to Rotorua.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kent-Debbie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,050
    292
    59
    13
    2
See reviews for
273
793
53
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Our stay at the Regent of Rotorua was nothing short of spectacular. The entire property has been renovated, giving what was once a motel a new, modern feel with a great pool, a fitness area, a mineral spa, and an excellent restaurant. What really makes this place shine, though, are the owners and staff. In our years of traveling, we have never had a more thoughtful, attentive "concierge" as Darryn, who is one of the owners of the property and obviously loves what we he does. Our stay here was spectacular and we wouldn't think of staying anywhere else if we returned to Rotorua.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tsarsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chessington, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
527 reviews
211 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

This place has a motel-like appearance outside but couldn't be more different inside. Very friendly welcome from Daryll, including lots of tips on things to do ("Do you like sheep? No, Hobbits? No, Mud?) and we were given room 5 on the first floor overlooking the pool. It was a large room with a separate lounge / kitchenette area, a bathroom running along the back with a large bath, separate shower and separate WC. There was a comfy sofa, two chairs, another desk & chair, microwave etc. All very black & white and all very clean. Fast, free wifi.
We had dinner in the restaurant: the bread starters were delicious, followed by chicken & beef fillet also gorgeous. Service was good.
The hotel is in a quiet location, a short walk from the centre of town and from the lake.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PotterMoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Darren, Gretchen and all the staff from waiters to housekeeping were genuinely, pleasantly extremely helpful. I can't say enough good things about the hotel. Beautifully appointed lobby and rooms. Darren went above and beyond to help us juggle attraction appointments mad by our travel agent. We were able to fit in everything we wanted and he acted as if it was his mission to help us have the best vacation available and then acted like it was nothing. I would recommend this hotel to anyone going to Rotorua. We will be back to stay with the Regent Boutique Hotel in the near future. Thank you Darren and staff for impressing us with the true Kiwi art of hospitality. Best wishes for success in the future.

Room Tip: All the rooms in the main location look out over the pool and lounge area. Great big sunny windows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kori B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We stayed here for the Ragamuffin music festival in Feb. I just can't get over how perfectly styled this hotel is, so modern and chic. The attention to detail is amazing and the interior designer should be commended. Check in was pleasant and the staff were lovely - especially Darryn. They gave us plenty of advice/ information about activities in Rotorua. Our room was gorgeous, comfortable and cozy. The pool looked amazing, although we didn't get a chance to use it as it was quite cold. Location is central - walking distance from shops, food and clubs. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SashDav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

We were disappointed when we rolled up to the Regent. It was a renovated motel, not within sight of the lake. We tend to travel " upscale" and this really did not seem to be our kind of place. We were wrong.

The entire place is newly reconstructed ( not just spiffied up). Extraordinary bathrooms were constructed with deep tubs. Everything was done ... I have to say it ... Lovingly. The owners work the front with huge smiles and winning personalities. They are effective concierges and handle matters with aplomb.

Okay ... There is no lake view, but the pool is lovely and there is both a spa and a mineral hot tub.

A fine breakfast was included and we had a nice dinner one evening as well.

The enthusiasm of the staff was far nicer than any "view."

Stay here

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Jwcaldwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

This is the second time we have stayed in the Regent, once again we were not disappointed, you really need to experience the level of comfort & service from the team at the Regent, we stayed there three years ago & the level of service is ten out of ten. We met friends whilst in the area & we had an evening meal in the restaurant that was absolutely fantastic. If you want to stay at a hotel where nothing is too much trouble then stay at the Regent.

Room Tip: All rooms are fantastic & have a very very high standard of decor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.3 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
696 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
1.3 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
0.2 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#4 of 92 in Rotorua
170 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#17 of 92 in Rotorua
839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regent of Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regent of Rotorua

Property: Regent of Rotorua
Address: 1191 Pukaki Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#4 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#7 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#7 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Regent of Rotorua 4.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Regent of Rotorua Boutique Hotel redefines modern hospitality with a visionary blend of classic design, luxurious facilities and bespoke service. Our philosophy is to marry personalized, intuitive service with divine rooms and suites, stunning surroundings and a smart, relaxed atmosphere. Perfectly located in the heart of Rotorua within walking distance of the eating & shopping precinct, the lakefront, government gardens and the convention centres. The Hotel offers 35 guest rooms, restaurant & bar, outdoor heated pool, natural mineral pool, mini gym, spa services, meeting rooms, unlimited free WiFi & laundry services. Our award winning restaurant can cater for up to 70 guests banquet style and meetings can be held in a choice of 3 rooms from 21sqm up to 200sqm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Regent of Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Of Rotorua Hotel Rotorua
Regent Rotorua
Rotorua Regent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing