We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The BEST staff around”
Review of Regent of Rotorua

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Regent of Rotorua
Ranked #8 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Queenstown, New Zealand
1 review
“The BEST staff around”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Darren, Gretchen and all the staff from waiters to housekeeping were genuinely, pleasantly extremely helpful. I can't say enough good things about the hotel. Beautifully appointed lobby and rooms. Darren went above and beyond to help us juggle attraction appointments mad by our travel agent. We were able to fit in everything we wanted and he acted as if it was his mission to help us have the best vacation available and then acted like it was nothing. I would recommend this hotel to anyone going to Rotorua. We will be back to stay with the Regent Boutique Hotel in the near future. Thank you Darren and staff for impressing us with the true Kiwi art of hospitality. Best wishes for success in the future.

Room Tip: All the rooms in the main location look out over the pool and lounge area. Great big sunny windows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kori B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,028
    284
    58
    13
    2
See reviews for
258
782
52
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We stayed here for the Ragamuffin music festival in Feb. I just can't get over how perfectly styled this hotel is, so modern and chic. The attention to detail is amazing and the interior designer should be commended. Check in was pleasant and the staff were lovely - especially Darryn. They gave us plenty of advice/ information about activities in Rotorua. Our room was gorgeous, comfortable and cozy. The pool looked amazing, although we didn't get a chance to use it as it was quite cold. Location is central - walking distance from shops, food and clubs. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SashDav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
71 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

We were disappointed when we rolled up to the Regent. It was a renovated motel, not within sight of the lake. We tend to travel " upscale" and this really did not seem to be our kind of place. We were wrong.

The entire place is newly reconstructed ( not just spiffied up). Extraordinary bathrooms were constructed with deep tubs. Everything was done ... I have to say it ... Lovingly. The owners work the front with huge smiles and winning personalities. They are effective concierges and handle matters with aplomb.

Okay ... There is no lake view, but the pool is lovely and there is both a spa and a mineral hot tub.

A fine breakfast was included and we had a nice dinner one evening as well.

The enthusiasm of the staff was far nicer than any "view."

Stay here

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Jwcaldwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

This is the second time we have stayed in the Regent, once again we were not disappointed, you really need to experience the level of comfort & service from the team at the Regent, we stayed there three years ago & the level of service is ten out of ten. We met friends whilst in the area & we had an evening meal in the restaurant that was absolutely fantastic. If you want to stay at a hotel where nothing is too much trouble then stay at the Regent.

Room Tip: All rooms are fantastic & have a very very high standard of decor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lulea, Sweden
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

A good accommodation for spending a couple of nights. Rooms were medium size and quality breakfast items were offered on an order basis. The most impressive part of our experience, however, was the manager; Darryn showed a warm and welcoming spirit throughout our entire stay.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Ice P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chennI
Level Contributor
682 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Checked in on a rainy day and what a welcome we had. Darryen took a lot of effort to tell us what we could do around town on a day like that, gave us some discount coupons that we could use, reconfirmed our Tamaki tour, gave us an insight into the thermal parks around and sent someone up to explain the features of our room to us. Most courteous welcome that we had on our entire trip.
The room itself is one of my favourite on this trip. A blend of Black and White, Bold and Subtle the mixture of decor is amazing. Bedding was awesome and bath rooms are so spacious and well stocked with toiletries.
The hotel also had a outdoor heated swimming pool an indoor mineral pool filled with thermal waters. You need to contact the reception to use the thermal pool.
They have a restaurant The Regent Rom but we did not eat there and there is also a bar near the reception area where you can lounge a bit. Location is central but quiet and you can walk to the middle of town.
Parking is free and so is wifi. Would love to be back when in Rotorua.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vidhusagar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2013

Loved our stay here. Within 5 minutes of arriving, Darryn on the front desk had sorted our itinerary for the short time we had in Rotorua. We arrived on Xmas eve and he knew exactly which attractions were open on which days and his recommendations were spot on. Our rooms were comfortable, well appointed and well equipped. Breakfast is freshly cooked and delicious. We had an excellent Christmas Day meal at the Hotel. The service and attention to detail are first class and the staff are personable and human! The hotel is close to shops, cafés, bars, open spaces, the museum and more.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.3 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
690 reviews
1.3 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
0.1 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
0.2 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
150 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#19 of 92 in Rotorua
821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regent of Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regent of Rotorua

Property: Regent of Rotorua
Address: 1191 Pukaki Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#4 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#7 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#7 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Regent of Rotorua 4.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Regent of Rotorua Boutique Hotel redefines modern hospitality with a visionary blend of classic design, luxurious facilities and bespoke service. Our philosophy is to marry personalized, intuitive service with divine rooms and suites, stunning surroundings and a smart, relaxed atmosphere. Perfectly located in the heart of Rotorua within walking distance of the eating & shopping precinct, the lakefront, government gardens and the convention centres. The Hotel offers 35 guest rooms, restaurant & bar, outdoor heated pool, natural mineral pool, mini gym, spa services, meeting rooms, unlimited free WiFi & laundry services. Our award winning restaurant can cater for up to 70 guests banquet style and meetings can be held in a choice of 3 rooms from 21sqm up to 200sqm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Regent of Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Of Rotorua Hotel Rotorua
Regent Rotorua
Rotorua Regent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing