We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful food attentive service a charmer”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Regent of Rotorua

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Regent of Rotorua
Ranked #7 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Paris
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Wonderful food attentive service a charmer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

Loved this place after so many stays at boring sixties style monoliths in Rotorua this made over motel is a delight. The young helpers were french - they had come to learn the ropes from the innovative owners who are real foodies. Locals came to the restaurant to graze and we were walking distance from the lake. Rooms are large (we had 2 room and a living room). It was the middle of winter and we were warm as toast. Deco is tasteful with a modish chic! The hot spa was difficult to cool the night we arrived - the water bubbles up at 50°c and you have to balance it with cold water so had to wait till next day was still more appealing than the public pools though. The owners are doing a great job

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorginaParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,005
    267
    56
    12
    2
See reviews for
249
761
50
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

Awesome spot, location is perfect, close to the dining strip. Rooms are modern and fresh. We stayed in the older wing but liked that they preserved the old and mashed it with the new to make a trendy spot. Nele your friendly welcome kicked us off to a great experience.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ExploreNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

Great location! Not in the middle of all the buzzing but adjacent enough that you can stumble back to the hotel after hanging out with some locals at the pubs or restaurants in the area.
Also, because it's a couple of blocks away from the lake, the area doesn't smell bad at all.
No laundry faculities in the apartments, which was rare for NZ, but laundry is available thru the hotel at regular hotel prices.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrMon79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

Whether it business or pleasure this well appointed Hotel I highly recommend. Central location in the hub of cafes, lakefront and shopping precinct, very attractively furnished and oozing professional and personalized "service". This property absolutely deserves to be called a Boutique Hotel and is a pleasure each visit. Thank you Sharene of Auckland

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharene T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

Stayed at this hotel as part of a pre-planned tour and loved it. The owners and staff are super friendly and helpful without being annoying. My room, like the rest of the hotel, was newly remodeled with a modern black and white (with a splash of lime green) decor. Spa like bathroom, delightful bed and linens. Small fridge and coffee/tea making area. Walking distance from lake, downtown, old spa museum and working spas. A block over from bars and restaurants, the owners of this hotel also own and run a restaurant that received top reviews from my fellow travelers (I was too full from a reception we'd had at the hotel.) Breakfast was made to order and served in a cozy lobby/dining area that includes a table full of dozens of magazines to borrow and a full service bar. There is a charming swimming pool in the courtyard. Their mineral spa was basic and in a windowless room. I didn't go for it, but some other friends did and appreciated the opportunity to have this resource on site. I highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: I was happy to be on the second floor rather than the ground floor because it ensured that I was out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skipperpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from a weekend in rotorua, we were delighted with the regent, the rooms are beautifully decorated in black and white, the staff are very helpful but not in your face, it was a very wet weekend, and the little touch of being offered umbrellas was so helpful. Breakfast was great, freshly cooked to order and the restaurant was decorated in the same colours as the rooms. Overall a great find in rotorua, so central for restaurants, the lake and all the town amenities

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, NZ
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

From the greating of "Welcome Home" you get a very good first impression of this Hotel.
Completely refurbished with a very modern twist, it is a great place to stay. Very handy to all the bars and restaurants, with its own supurb restaurant to boot, you will impressed!
Rooms are not huge but very comfortable. Nice thermal heated pool, great place to sit in the sun with a beer and relax. HIghly recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stowaways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.3 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 93 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
1.3 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
0.1 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
0.2 mi away
Princes Gate Hotel
Princes Gate Hotel
#39 of 93 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
1.5 mi away
Regal Palms 5 Star City Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regent of Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regent of Rotorua

Property: Regent of Rotorua
Address: 1191 Pukaki Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#4 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#5 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#7 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Regent of Rotorua 4.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Regent of Rotorua Boutique Hotel redefines modern hospitality with a visionary blend of classic design, luxurious facilities and bespoke service. Our philosophy is to marry personalized, intuitive service with divine rooms and suites, stunning surroundings and a smart, relaxed atmosphere. Perfectly located in the heart of Rotorua within walking distance of the eating & shopping precinct, the lakefront, government gardens and the convention centres. The Hotel offers 35 guest rooms, restaurant & bar, outdoor heated pool, natural mineral pool, mini gym, spa services, meeting rooms, unlimited free WiFi & laundry services. Our award winning restaurant can cater for up to 70 guests banquet style and meetings can be held in a choice of 3 rooms from 21sqm up to 200sqm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Regent of Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Of Rotorua Hotel Rotorua
Regent Rotorua
Rotorua Regent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing