We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place great location”
Review of Regent of Rotorua

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Regent of Rotorua
Ranked #7 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice place great location”
Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

Really nice place to stay. Very close to the main restaurant street.
The gym they offer is pretty rubbish . The rooms were awesome studio type style very nice.
All in all a top hotel for rotorua .

.................………………

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Walshynz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,059
    296
    60
    13
    2
See reviews for
276
801
53
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We stayed in a two bedroom suite that was perfect for a two nights stay. The room was very stylish, and well appointed. The bathroom was huge and perfect for a family stay. We loved the decor, our only minor strife was that the couch was not that comfortable in our living space, however, not a huge deal. The hotel is located within walking distance of wonderful restaurants that kept us fed morning, noon, and night. You only had to walk two blocks and could get any meal you wanted. The staff was very friendly and we enjoyed hearing their recommendations for the area. I have to agree with a previous reviewer that the "heated pool" was a disappointment. I think my bath was warmer than this thermal pool. Great place to stay while visiting Rotorua.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler60614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

Booked in here for a weekend away to see what Rotorua had to offer. Very pleasantly suprised to find this place as good as it was. Excellent service, extremely clean and well presented, and fantastic food. The owners host you and make it feel like you are entering their personal lounge. Top notch. I will stay at only this place from now on when i come back.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank evangking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We stayed in the two bedroom executive suite with our two young children. It was a fantastic place to stay. Very stylish, great interiors, bathrooms and amenities. The "heated pool" was very cold which was disappointing for the kids but the small thermal pool warmed them up. The food in the restaurant was very good. We ate there twice and also had room service delivered. Absolutely brilliant location, only a few steps from restaurants and bars. Also the lakefront is a short five minute stroll away. Would have preferred a king sized bed in the main bedroom as there is room for one. Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AHOFXN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We picked the Regent of Rotorua based on Trip Advisor reviews and were happy with the accommodation during our recent one night stay. The hotel is in a great position and is within walking distance to restaurants. The staff are fantastic and more than happy to recommend places to visit while in Rotorua. The hotel reception is nicely decorated and looks very luxurious.
The rooms are laid out in old school motel style but have been fully refurbished in a classy black and white theme. While the rooms are very nice it still feels like you are staying in an old roadside motel. The white lounge and shaggy rug in our room were looking quite tired due to stains and dirt build up. Maybe white is not such a good idea for hotel furnishings! The bathroom is nicely presented but becomes completely saturated after a couple of showers even with the exhaust fan on and window open. It became apparent that the refurbishment was cosmetic only and some aspects (such as bathroom ventilation) may have been overlooked.
Overall the hotel is very nice and would recommend it for short stays in Rotorua.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MrandMrsBG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

Loved the deco of the one bedroom suite. The bathtub was big enough for 2, bed was comfy and it was an excellent location, near the Polynesian Spa and food. It's a pity I didn't have a drink at the cool looking bar. This is the perfect place to relax at the end of the day.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poppyanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.3 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
706 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
1.3 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
0.2 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
184 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#17 of 92 in Rotorua
848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regent of Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regent of Rotorua

Property: Regent of Rotorua
Address: 1191 Pukaki Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#4 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#6 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#6 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Regent of Rotorua 4.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Regent of Rotorua Boutique Hotel redefines modern hospitality with a visionary blend of classic design, luxurious facilities and bespoke service. Our philosophy is to marry personalized, intuitive service with divine rooms and suites, stunning surroundings and a smart, relaxed atmosphere. Perfectly located in the heart of Rotorua within walking distance of the eating & shopping precinct, the lakefront, government gardens and the convention centres. The Hotel offers 35 guest rooms, restaurant & bar, outdoor heated pool, natural mineral pool, mini gym, spa services, meeting rooms, unlimited free WiFi & laundry services. Our award winning restaurant can cater for up to 70 guests banquet style and meetings can be held in a choice of 3 rooms from 21sqm up to 200sqm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Regent of Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Of Rotorua Hotel Rotorua
Regent Rotorua
Rotorua Regent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing