We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Luxurious”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Regent of Rotorua

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Regent of Rotorua
Ranked #8 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Very Luxurious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2012

A very comfortable stay centrally located.
Very well decorated and stylish. Good facilities for size of apartments. Staff very helpful with information of where to go sightseeing and eating etc.
Would defiantly go back if in the area again!

Room Tip: Rooms around the pool seemed to be the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StubStAlbans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,006
    268
    56
    12
    2
See reviews for
249
763
50
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2012 via mobile

Great place, as stated in the reviews on trip advisor. Stylish decor, very comfy beds, lovely cotton sheets and feather pillows. Would have liked to sample the restaurant for dinner tonight, but it's not that big and was booked out - suggest you ring and book ahead. Would recommend highly

Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Greenkandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012

Great hotel - looks like a 70's concrete motel from the outside but fantastically renovated. Staff friendly and helpful.
Great location for sightseeing. Close to cafes & restaurants and the Polynesians Spa.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ishoej, Denmark
Level Contributor
82 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

Regent of Rotorua
Centrally located hotel with lovely rooms. Helpful staff that spoke about and handed out brochures for trips etc. The breakfast is extremely expensive

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WinnieTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, New Zealand
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012

This is a lovely hotel, with great service from hard working staff. It's location in Rotorua is perfect, close to many of the restaurants and shops. It is stylish and smart.

However, I was disappointed with the room we were given. I tried to book a 2 bedroomed suite for my family of 4 (2 teenage girls), but this was unavailable and we were given the Regency Room. This turned out to be the conference room and a small adjoining bedroom converted into a suite temporarily. This meant that the living area was huge, but had a corporate feel, with rows of plug sockets, 2 TV screens in the same room and the furniture all felt temporary. Unlike the rooms advertised on the website, there were no luxurious leather headboards or pretty lighting, and no iPod docking station. There were also 3 separate toilets but no bath, just one shower. The room had 2 separate exits. All great for a conference, not so great as a luxury get away.

The shower head was huge and stylish, but the water pressure was not sufficient for it, so water spurted in different directions from only some of the holes. I longed for the soaker bath from the website! I know ... first world problems. But these sorts of breaks are a rare treat, so I was disappointed.

The single beds pushed together to make a queen bed were hard, although they had a soft pad placed on top of them, and the linen was excellent. There were dirty sheets and used plates piled up outside the doors of the rooms in one corridor from our room for the duration of our stay.

We had some great cocktails in the evening. The breakfast was also delicious. I can see that this is a great hotel, and I will return if we can afford it, just not to the Regency Room.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
w2london, General Manager at Regent of Rotorua, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
Dear Sam
Firstly thank you so much for choosing to stay with us, we do appreciate it. I am delighted you enjoyed the hotels location and style and especially recognising our staff (including their cocktail making ability!!!!). I am very proud of them and know as we do, they always try hard to look after our guests to the best of their ability.

When your request arrived, the hotel was already fully reserved, but we did not want to disappoint you completely, so we offered our Regent Room as our only option as it does offer most but not all of our wonderful room facilities and in recognition of this we offered this to you at a reduced room rate.

I am sorry if we did not fully explain the facilities of the room (such as no bath), and can only apologise that you did not enjoy the Regent Room, although we have many guests who have and some guests even request the Regent Room each time they return.

It is always difficult when first requests cannot be met, but we hope you understand all we did was try our best to provide an option for you to accept or not rather than just saying no.....No really is a word we do not like to use at the Regent of Rotorua and will always try to assist if we possibly can.

Thanks also for your feedback, we do appreciate it, and will make sure our Housekeeping area ensures the Hallways are kept clear and will be checking into the shower....it is not the pressure so must be that shower head which rest assured we will fix, and lastly thanks for enjoying breakfast with us, it is a great way to start the day!

Thanks again

Darryn Whitehead
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2012

We booked this hotel based on the reviews provided by other travellers and im so glad that we did. The room and bathroom were clean and modern and comfortable with lovely toiletries.. We didnt have time to eat in the restuarant as we were only there for the one night but will definitely return. Bonus that you can park your car in their car park at no cost; great hotel and friendly staff!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mm_at2814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

If I had to describe this hotel in a word it would be 'fabulous'! We very stupidly arrived a week early (typical us) and we would've completely understood if there was no room at the inn but to our amazement they found the whole situation funny and moved us into the conference suite - no extra charge - Very informative, and gave us great advice on where and what to do, I decided to try bungee jumping! Again I cannot recommend this hotel higher, we were recommended this hotel by previous guests and what's better than show tunes at breakfast!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeremiahblack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.3 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 93 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
1.3 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
0.1 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
0.2 mi away
Princes Gate Hotel
Princes Gate Hotel
#39 of 93 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
1.5 mi away
Regal Palms 5 Star City Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regent of Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regent of Rotorua

Property: Regent of Rotorua
Address: 1191 Pukaki Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#4 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#6 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#7 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Regent of Rotorua 4.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Regent of Rotorua Boutique Hotel redefines modern hospitality with a visionary blend of classic design, luxurious facilities and bespoke service. Our philosophy is to marry personalized, intuitive service with divine rooms and suites, stunning surroundings and a smart, relaxed atmosphere. Perfectly located in the heart of Rotorua within walking distance of the eating & shopping precinct, the lakefront, government gardens and the convention centres. The Hotel offers 35 guest rooms, restaurant & bar, outdoor heated pool, natural mineral pool, mini gym, spa services, meeting rooms, unlimited free WiFi & laundry services. Our award winning restaurant can cater for up to 70 guests banquet style and meetings can be held in a choice of 3 rooms from 21sqm up to 200sqm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Regent of Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Of Rotorua Hotel Rotorua
Regent Rotorua
Rotorua Regent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing