We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Regent of Rotorua

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Regent of Rotorua
Ranked #8 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
U.K.
Level Contributor
69 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2012

We stayed here for two nights last minute booking, The hotel was very good modern rooms and excellent service from the staff. The restaurant food was the best in N.Z so far. Loved there long island ice tea!!!

Many thanks to the staff

Room Tip: Try a long island ice tea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,006
    268
    56
    12
    2
See reviews for
249
763
50
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2012

Had a nice room, good location (Abit further from the smell),within walking distance of everything you'd need (information centre, Fenton street, eat street etc). The guys at reception can organise to have you picked up for most of your activities anyway. The service was fantastic and the facilities were very modern. Actually the service was darling. The managers were professional and friendly. They were experienced and very competent with tourist information. Quiet location tucked just far enough from the hustle and bustle and the whole place is just so well set out. It really does have a fine air to it (excuse the pun).
Cant really say I was blown away by the studio room but it was lovely all the same.
I'd definitely visit again if I was in town but would get a one bedroom. Then again (I've never liked studios) I'm sure it will suit most travellers.

Cocktail bar wasn't mind blowing but probably one of the finer places in town. Restaurant seemed quite busy over the weekend which probably could be attributed to the lovely service, extensive menu and tasteful decor.

Room Tip: Higher floors are always nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vivian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2012

Very chique rooms and reception, and very helpful and friendly receptionist/owner.

We were only here for one night, but were impressed by the place. Can't comment on the supposedly very good restaurant.

The only real down for us was the gym. I (think it) had a rower, stepper and runner, none of which were commercial gym standard and at least one of which was not working. No real issue, but if you are looking for a place with a gym (which we were, as a sort of fitness refuel on our road trip), then check ahead beforehand. That being said, I know that most places have no gym unless they are chains and/or huge, so something is better than nothing.

As a summary, if you are in Rotorua, then I would certainly recommend this place.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
158 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2012

Clean, modern, well equipped, super bedding, neat black and white decor, lots of free parking, close to all the down town activities and restaurants, complimentary WIFI, good restaurant, bar, pool, spa and above all, super friendly and helpful service from the owners.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moneychanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2012

My partner & I stayed at the Regent last year in June for 5 nights & everything was just great!

My Dad booked this hotel for us as we planned to take a trip to Rotorua for a well deserved holiday from university. As my partner & I are quite young we were worried that the staff would treat us differently/not take us seriously as guests because of our age, as we've received from other hotels. But it was quite the opposite at the Regent! Their service was awesome! They catered to everything that we needed as well as going that extra mile! For example, they knew we were going to Rainbow Springs one day so they gave us some vouchers to get free fish food for the trout. To me, those small gestures mean a lot! Just in general as well the staff were very nice & very genuine!

On top of the great service, our room was nice. Very clean & very funky! Loved the decor of the room & the bathroom was very nice. We loved the monsoon shower in particular!

The location was good for us because it was right in town but only a short taxi ride away from the attractions.

If you're willing to spend that little bit extra for a good hotel, choose the Regent! It's definitely worth the money with it's lovely rooms & great service! Those two things put together make it an awesome place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mackere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2012

When we pulled up to the Regent in Rotorua it looks like an average small hotel from the outside but as soon as you walk up to the front door you realize it is far from average!!When you walk up to the door you are greated with a warm & friendly welcome that makes you feel like you have arrived home .The staff are very accommodating and nothing is too much problem for them even for a noisy group like ours. We arrived quiet late but we were on QLD time so to us it was 3 hours earlier and we were ready for a few nice NZ wines. So not to upset other guests the staff opened the restaurant and bar inside to take care of us. This excellent customer service & consideration for every guest continued for the entire 5 days, the word NO is not in their vocabulary, they always offered a solution to our requests!
The rooms were very homely & had everything we required for comfort even a nice little throw on the end of the bed for those afternoon rests. My husband’s only complaint was that he would have liked a firmer pillow. The most important thing for me is always the air-conditioning which worked well & was nice and quiet (this for my hot flushes!!)
The breakfasts are great with a nice variety, my only little issue was I like my own pot of tea as the warmers with the large pots is never hot enough. In saying this I asked for a pot every day & I received it.
I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Rotorua.
PS We went to the Black Swan lodge/ restaurant ,owned by the same people for a wonderful lunch .It's woth a visit!!

Room Tip: We were upstairs which is very quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2012

These guys will go to any lengths to make sure you have an excellent stay. Cuisine is top notch! You can't go wrong booking with them. Alos check out thier new Lodge - the Black Swan. Just opened a few months ago. Stunning.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roxann h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.3 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 93 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
1.3 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
0.1 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
0.2 mi away
Princes Gate Hotel
Princes Gate Hotel
#39 of 93 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
1.5 mi away
Regal Palms 5 Star City Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regent of Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regent of Rotorua

Property: Regent of Rotorua
Address: 1191 Pukaki Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#4 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#6 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#7 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Regent of Rotorua 4.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Regent of Rotorua Boutique Hotel redefines modern hospitality with a visionary blend of classic design, luxurious facilities and bespoke service. Our philosophy is to marry personalized, intuitive service with divine rooms and suites, stunning surroundings and a smart, relaxed atmosphere. Perfectly located in the heart of Rotorua within walking distance of the eating & shopping precinct, the lakefront, government gardens and the convention centres. The Hotel offers 35 guest rooms, restaurant & bar, outdoor heated pool, natural mineral pool, mini gym, spa services, meeting rooms, unlimited free WiFi & laundry services. Our award winning restaurant can cater for up to 70 guests banquet style and meetings can be held in a choice of 3 rooms from 21sqm up to 200sqm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Regent of Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Of Rotorua Hotel Rotorua
Regent Rotorua
Rotorua Regent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing