We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great people make great hotels”
Review of Regent of Rotorua

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Regent of Rotorua
Ranked #8 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great people make great hotels”
Reviewed April 27, 2011

The Regent of Rotorua is special. You can se the dream of the owners that has unfolded and grown over the years. You can enjoy a sense of style and luxury, in a fun way. Best of all, you can be treated like someone special and given help to experience the best of Rotorua.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cowrakid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,059
    296
    60
    13
    2
See reviews for
276
801
53
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2011

I spent Easter at the hotel and was most impressed with the service, decor and friendliness of the staff. I will definitely be back. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ging466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havelock North, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2011

What a wonderful hotel. Great attention to detail. Great wine glassess!

Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank JofromHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2011

an amazing boutique hotel, we only stayed one night but will definitely stay longer during our next holiday to Rotorua, one of the best hotels I've stayed at, very clean and the rooms are nicely furnished, it was hard to check out !

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holidays_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
431 reviews
175 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2011

This place is just wonderful- can't recoomed it highly enough. Everything is delicious- the food, the cocktails, the pool, the decor... there's nothing to dislike. And the staff are extremely accommodating

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KP58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2011

We only stayed here for one night earlier this month on our way to Taupo - the room was pleasantly clean and well set out, the free wi-fi (up to 100Mb) was also a pleasant surprise. The staff were friendly and helpful. The only downside were the moths that kept coming into our room through the bathroom windows! They were everywhere in the bathroom which made it a bit unsightly. Other than that, a very good place to stay at.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alkanoate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2011

We stayed at the "Regent of Rotorua" for 3 nights during a month of honeymooning in N.Z and I've got to say it was great hotel experience. From the moment you walk through the door the warmth and service offered by Darryn and Brent rival some big chain 5 star competitors. The attention to detail is not limited to the service as these guys have breathed new life into this property with a stylish modern black and white theme through out. The location is great close to cafes and restaurants but consider giving the hotel restaurant a go as the food was great and well priced. Give this little boutique hotel a try you wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skexylex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.3 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
706 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
1.3 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
0.2 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
185 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#18 of 92 in Rotorua
847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regent of Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regent of Rotorua

Property: Regent of Rotorua
Address: 1191 Pukaki Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#4 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#7 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#7 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Regent of Rotorua 4.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Regent of Rotorua Boutique Hotel redefines modern hospitality with a visionary blend of classic design, luxurious facilities and bespoke service. Our philosophy is to marry personalized, intuitive service with divine rooms and suites, stunning surroundings and a smart, relaxed atmosphere. Perfectly located in the heart of Rotorua within walking distance of the eating & shopping precinct, the lakefront, government gardens and the convention centres. The Hotel offers 35 guest rooms, restaurant & bar, outdoor heated pool, natural mineral pool, mini gym, spa services, meeting rooms, unlimited free WiFi & laundry services. Our award winning restaurant can cater for up to 70 guests banquet style and meetings can be held in a choice of 3 rooms from 21sqm up to 200sqm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Regent of Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Of Rotorua Hotel Rotorua
Regent Rotorua
Rotorua Regent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing