We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and tidy and good price for central location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ambassador Thermal Motel
Ranked #26 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
256 reviews
189 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Nice and tidy and good price for central location”
Reviewed February 5, 2012

We enjoyed our stay here and found the reception lady very friendly. We caught 6 trout and cooked 2 up in the motel in the frypan. Motel has a cool spa, and a mineral pool.

Very central location, you can walk to the center of town, its just a few blocks.

We will stay again

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cameron4611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryekid, Manager at Ambassador Thermal Motel, responded to this review, March 30, 2012
Thank you for you comment. We are now in the process of upgrading all the units over this yr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    75
    14
    2
    0
See reviews for
42
60
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level Contributor
87 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2012

We were travelling with some family members from overseas, and stayed in a 1-bedroom unit with a separate bedroom (queen bed + single bed) and the main room/lounge (2 single beds). We chose the motel mainly due to the price/location ratio and it was a good choice. Most motels are further away from the city centre, so we chose the Ambassador Thermal motel as it was in a central location and very reasonably priced. The unit was spacious and comfortable, and although the decor is dated, everything worked and the room was tidy and clean, including the kitchen that had all basic equipment needed for cooking breakfasts and easy meals. The hosts are very friendly and can give you tips on what to see and what to do in Rotorua, and there's ample parking space right in front of the motel.The motel itself has a thermal pool (interestingly it's indoors), a jacuzzi and a heated swimming pool, which was really nice as we could go swimming without having to leave the hotel, and after a long drive soaking ourselves in the pools was heaven. The motel is in an excellent location almost next to the main entrance to the Government Gardens, so the gardens, the lake front, the spas and the city centre services are all just a stone's throw away. A very good choice if you're on a budget.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank finntastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryekid, Manager at Ambassador Thermal Motel, responded to this review, March 30, 2012
Thank you for you comment. We are now in the process of upgrading all the units over this yr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2011

the host is a very friendly lady and she has a lot of insights of Rotorua to offer if you have time for a chat.It is located walking distance from eating joints and also has free parking.Its apartment is spacious and the kitchen is well equipped.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KashyapParikh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryekid, Manager at Ambassador Thermal Motel, responded to this review, March 30, 2012
Thank you for you comment. We are now in the process of upgrading all the units over this yr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2011

Room: We stayed in a 1 bed room, which was spacious and comfortable. The decor was quite dated but everything was in working order. The bed was comfortable, albeit a very soft mattress, and was actually a double (rather than 2 singles pushed together).

Cleanliness: The room, including kitchen and bathroom, were very clean. There were some stains on the ceiling and walls from old watermarks.

Facilities: The kitchen was well equipped to make basic meals. There were a variety of thermal pools, free to use for guests.

Location: The location is excellent, being a short walk from the Government Gardens, the Lake and the town centre. There is plenty of free parking directly outside the hotel.

Arriving: We booked this motel in the morning of our intended stay and advised the reception that we would be arriving at around 9pm. When we arrived at 9.10pm, the reception was shut. We eventually managed to get the attention of staff after a lot of knocking, but thought it was a little strange not to mention to us on the phone that the reception shut at 9pm given the fact that we advised of an arrival time. Otherwise, the staff were friendly and helpful, advising of places to see and eat.

Overall, this is an excellent budget choice in Rotorua and would recommend a stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cs6345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryekid, Manager at Ambassador Thermal Motel, responded to this review, March 30, 2012
Thank you for you comment. We are now in the process of upgrading all the units over this yr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 21, 2011

We book at the hotel by Booking.com and take us just few minutes check in. We only settle the charges when check out. The unit we stay good with excellent kitchen facility which us well. The washing machine & laundry room just right in front of our unit.
Highly recommended for family with older kid, with the thermal hot pool as added facility.
The couple that run the units very friendly and close to the main street.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CAPTWONG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryekid, Manager at Ambassador Thermal Motel, responded to this review, March 30, 2012
Thank you for you comment. We are now in the process of upgrading all the units over this yr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
137 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2011

The Ambassador was an excellent choice from which to tour the thermal wonders of Rotorua, NZ during their wet and cool winter season. It was clean, spacious, and front desk Mike was very friendly. Most appreciated was the room’s warmth resulting from the thermal activity at the property. [Apparently this same warmth is less appreciated in warmer seasons; even though heavy coats were welcome outdoors, we received instructions on the air conditioner.]

The Ambassador is in a great location for downtown shopping and evening dining at tasty restaurants. And in nicer weather it one would enjoy walks along the lake. Our room had a kitchenette fully functional for simple meals like breakfast and lunch. A stove, microwave, and refrigerator were complimented by a widest collection of utensil. We bought basics – including wine – at a local supermarket and brought them back to the room.

Our room was spacious and functional. We besides the AC, we had fan, hair dryer, in room coffee, nice flat panel TV, and a pair of chairs. The bathroom was clean; the toiletries were modest. One wall was cinder block, another sheet rock, and the entry wall entirely glass with sliding door. We had the opportunity to select from several different rooms. If you select a room close to the thermal pools, be aware that children in these pools will likely create a good bit of playful noise which easily penetrates the sliding glass doors entry doors.

Four thermal pools are right on the property. One is outdoor. There is also indoor Jacuzzi and two indoor thermal baths – hot and very hot.

There is wireless internet on the property at $5 NZD per hour or $15NZD per day. There is a guest laundry available.

We felt that the price and value was about equivalent to what one would find in the Heartland states of America. A traveler could certainly spend a great deal more for some of the newer Rotorua brand named hotels and not get anything additional in the way of service or amenities or convenience.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank djonce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryekid, Manager at Ambassador Thermal Motel, responded to this review, March 30, 2012
Thank you for you comment. We are now in the process of upgrading all the units over this yr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 15, 2011

We loved this motel. The manager was very helpful and friendly. The motel is in a great location near the lake and Govt Gardens and walking distance to the restaurants. The Rotorua smell was present but that only added to the atmosphere!!!! We had a one bedroom unit and it had all the facilities you would need for self catering. Supermarkets are a short drive away. The area is really quite so it is vey easy to get a good nights sleep.

Would HIGHLY recommend this motel and we will be staying here on our next visit to Rotorua!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dunk514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryekid, Manager at Ambassador Thermal Motel, responded to this review, March 30, 2012
Thank you for you comment. We are now in the process of upgrading all the units over 2012
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.0 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
150 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
690 reviews
0.4 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ibis Rotorua
Ibis Rotorua
#33 of 92 in Rotorua
1,130 reviews
0.1 mi away
Princes Gate Hotel
Princes Gate Hotel
#32 of 92 in Rotorua
765 reviews
1.1 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#16 of 92 in Rotorua
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Thermal Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Thermal Motel

Property: Ambassador Thermal Motel
Address: Cnr Whakaue and Hinemaru Sts | PO Box 1212, Rotorua, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ambassador Thermal Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ambassador Thermal Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Thermal Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing