We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Calm and Peaceful”
Review of Koura Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Koura Lodge
Ranked #10 of 52 Rotorua B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
142 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Calm and Peaceful”
Reviewed January 13, 2009

We only stayed here for two nights but I would have happily stayed for a week.. We had a lovely room with a lakeside view - black swans and small ducks swimming around - it was just beautiful and peaceful.

The breakfast was good and the dining room comfortable. It wasn't warm enough when we were there but you could also eat outside beside the lake. There was also a lounge where you could relax and also free access to the internet.

The staff were really kind and helpful with ideas of what we might want to do in the area. There were lots of things to do, walking, exploring in a really exciting and unusual environment - I loved the bubbling volcanic mud and sitting in the local park soaking my feet in the thermal water! The combination of Koura Lodge and Rotorua resulted in two lovely days - thoroughly recommend it.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — Nothing - I thoroughly enjoyed it
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Indira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    47
    19
    0
    1
See reviews for
30
156
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2008

We stayed at Koura Lodge for 3 nights having travelled down from the Bay of Islands. We received an incredibly warm welcome and excellent advise on where to eat and visit while we were in Rotorua. Our room had a stunning view over the lake and we indulged in the lakeside spa while we were there too! The rooms are both spacious and very tastefully decorated and when people say that its a lakeside lodge it is exactly that, we enjoyed the most amazing fresh cooked breakfast while sitting out on the veranda right on the shore of the lake watching the sun come up - breathtaking. We toured New Zealand for 3 weeks staying in 8 different hotels but this one pipped them all to the post being our favourite stay on the whole trip. Would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Rotorua, great value for money and stunning location and property.

  • Liked — Absolutely Everything!
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank RinnaAdie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, England
Level Contributor
69 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2008

Our only mistake with this wonderful lodge was that we only stayed one night. The location was second to none, right on the lakeside and with no sulphur smells! The drive down was a little tricky to negotiate but once there you really had found your own small piece of heaven.

The owners were friendly and helpful, and the room, whilst compact, was perfect with a fabulous lake view.

Breakfast was plentiful and set out in a delighful dining room, again overlooking the lake.

Not cheap, but well worth it.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — Television very small
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TL13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2008

My Wife and I loved the lodge, but something's to be aware of...
The walls of the rooms, especially in the main building where we stayed are extremely thin. With the T.V. on the lowest volume setting, the room next to us could hear it.
The location is perfect - but the driveway is a bit tricky to get down as it is very narrow. Probably our biggest complaint was just about everything has a 'rule' about this house - hence our nickname for it 'House of Rules' - we have traveled all over and stayed in hostels to 5 star resorts - and we love house rules as they ensure a good stay - but this place just took it too far in our opinion. One night we were not feeling well and thought about getting a movie to watch - $10 rental per night (why not free?) So we thought about using the sauna to help relieve some of the sinus pressure - again $10 per person with 24 hour notice needed to use it (why not free?). Want to check your email or get directions online - that'll cost you too, not to mention the wine and water in the common area has fee's also. Forget about using the refrigerator in the common area for any drinks you may have brought along (and there are none in the rooms) - that is for the use of the management only.
Minor issues for most, but to us, the details count, and for the price we paid to stay, we would have expected things like e-mail/dvd's and use of a refrigerator to be free.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank WalkerCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GinaWells, Manager at Koura Lodge, responded to this review, September 29, 2011
1. Koura Lodge no longer charges a fee for tennis racquet & ball hire, standard email service, DVD Hire and Sauna – these are all included in the advertised rate.

2. Historically, use of the Tennis Court, Canoes, Games, Outdoor Spa Pool and a home-baked afternoon tea on arrival has always been complimentary.

3. A guest fridge is provided in both communal areas as is a filtered water tap. (We would normally point this out to our guests on arrival)

4. Unfortunately bottled water & wine is not included in the tariff, as is the case at most hotels, lodges & B&B's
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cincinnati
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2008

We were delighted with the Koura Lodge. The location overlooking the lake is spectacular, yet it is easy to get to the city center by car. We loved the pine beams used in the lodge construction. The rooms are very comfortable and the decor is understated but just beautiful. Not to mention the lake view and the tranquility.

The proprietors were gracious. We communicated by email before our arrival. They gave us good driving directions by email before our trip, made us dinner reservations, and helped to arrange lake fishing. Upon our arrival they gave us touring tips and called to confirm arrangements that we had prebooked and to make sure we would be picked up as scheduled.

Our children, 10 and 13, enjoyed swimming and kayaking in the lake. We were there for 2 nights only and wished it had been longer. Highly recommended.

  • Liked — Beauty of the lodging and the setting
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank cincitrini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folsom, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 19, 2007

This was,without a doubt, the highlight of our two week trip to Australia and NZ.

David, Gina and NIcola were the consomate professionals providing exquisite accommodations, personal touches and the touch of class one comes to seek, but never quite finds when traveling. They hit the mark and then some. From the comfortable beds and linens to the service provided without asking, this was a wonderful experience. Our accommodations were perfect. A two bedroom, two bath "villa" overlooking the lake, with a full kitchen and pool table to boot!

We took the opportunitity to take in the infamous trout fishing excursion with Clark Gregor tours and found my wife still catches the first, biggest and most when trout fishing. AWESOME!

Without notice, our host, smoked the catch from our trout excursion and delivered to the room an unbelievable entre' for the four of us.

Back to the resort. Accommodations were wonderful, hospitality exquisite and memories.....a life time. We're gong back and you will too! We now have new experiences, and friends and look forward to upon our return.


Sam & Charlene Spiegel
Folsom, CA 95630 USA

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank R39ROD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2007

There were two of us who were on Business in Rotorua, New Zealand and we needed a place to stay for at least 3 weeks. An associate told us about the "Swiss Lodge" so we drove out there to check it out. We learned that the new owners (David and Gina Wells) have renamed it the Koura Lodge and have significantly upgraded the rooms and the outside grounds. The folks at Koura Lodge made us feel right at home. Their newly upgraded Penthouse Suite was perfect for our needs. Separate bedrooms with private baths, fully stocked kitchen and plenty of room to spread out our work. FREE Internet connections and great breakfast in their dining room right on the lake are included. Our hosts made us feel part of their family. Being away from Home in Massachusetts for that length of time can be hard but we felt our hosts hospitality made the time go by fast and enjoyable. We have stayed there now for 3 weeks in December, 3 weeks in January and now plan on making our last 4 week trip in March.
It is a great place to stay for a length of time. Within 10 minutes from great restaurants in Rotorua and of course if you are a fisherman, just walk outside and cast a line into Lake Rotorua for a chance at some world class Rainbow Trout.
We met other folks that were staying there who wished they had booked longer stays. A good sign for those who may be traveling through Rotorua and find they want to stay longer. They have all the luxury items a romantic couple may need also. Rooms with a Jacuzzi, a hot tub and sauna set on the shore of the lake and a great selection of wines at your disposal. Koura Lodge has a helicopter landing area so an adventurous couple could fly to exotic locations around the island with a tour guide. Our hosts have plenty of experience helping guests plan some great trips. Koura Lodge is only 15 minutes from Rotorua Airport.
Overall Koura Lodge rates high in our books, providing a good balance of family friendly accomodations and private romantic getaways. Can't wait to get back there in March.

  • Liked — Great place to relax after working in area, friendliness of hosts
  • Disliked — No evening meal restaurant at lodge
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank newctrg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.1 mi away
Peppers on the Point - Lake Rotorua
3.2 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
4.6 mi away
Hamurana Lodge
Hamurana Lodge
#15 of 92 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
9.0 mi away
Treetops Lodge & Estate
Treetops Lodge & Estate
#44 of 92 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
0.2 mi away
Black Swan Lakeside Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koura Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koura Lodge

Property: Koura Lodge
Address: 209 Kawaha Point Road, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Koura Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Koura Lodge offers boutique bed and breakfast lakeside accommodation in Rotorua, New Zealand. Enjoying an un-rivalled lakefront location, Koura Lodge is at the centre of it all. Just five minutes' drive to the city centre and even closer to many of Rotorua’s world famous attractions. Accommodating a maximum of 18 guests, our hosts are able to provide the individual attention you require, while ensuring your stay is restful in our tranquil surrounds. The Lodge offers a variety of accommodation, with all 8 rooms featuring magnificent lake views. A fresh buffet and cooked breakfast, lakeside open air hot-tub, sauna, canoeing, fishing are all part of Koura Lodge's real New Zealand experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Koura Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing