We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Koura Lodge not what we expected”
Review of Koura Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Koura Lodge
Ranked #10 of 52 Rotorua B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We were really looking forward to this part of our trip but were very disappointed. First, we did not realize this was a bed and breakfast. That is more on our travel agent than the property. But in previewing the website prior to our trip, it looked like a very warm and friendly place where the owners and their dog greeted guests, served afternoon tea, etc. for guests arriving. When we arrived, we had been traveling since early morning and arrived around early afternoon. We were greeted by the Manager who was very nice but seemed a bit distracted. We had to lug our luggage up a hill and stairs to get to our room. There was no "afternoon tea" as advertised on their website and there was nothing to eat because it was a B & B. We were starving and since we were traveling without a car, we were stuck. Luckily there was a menu for delivery and we go some food. In the entire stay, we never once saw an owner, they live next door and we never saw them or their dog. The property is run by two on-site Managers, very nice people, but not the owners as the website leads you to believe. The property itself is beautiful, but it has a cold feel to it. We were looking forward to spending some down time at the property but got the feeling we were just in the way, very uncomfortable. Almost felt like staying in a hotel but without the convenience of a hotel, i.e., restaurant or bar. The location is pretty far out from town and it is literally a $20 cab ride each way. So, if you are staying there wthout a car, it will cost you $40 round trip each time you go into town - and you have to go into town in order to get a lunch, dinner, or drinks. Once in town, Rotoura doesn't really have much to do for our taste. We found a couple good restaurants but they are mostly Indian and Thai restaurants - not our favorite. Also, they all seem to close down between lunch and dinner so if you are in town for lunch and don't want to spend another $40 for round trip to get back to Koura Lodge and come back in for dinner, you have to hang around until they open again at 5:30 ish. We did spend our last day at the Polynesian Spa in the mineral pools and getting a massage which was really nice.

I am sure for many, Rotoura is a great place is you can tolerate the smell of sulfur and want to visit all the geological parks and geysers - we have seen those in Yellowstone. It really was not a good choice for us, but again, that is on us. If you have a car and lots of activities to do, then staying at Koura Lodge is not a bad choice. Again, the property is beautiful and peaceful, but just not real warm and inviting as the other B & B we stayed at in Queenstown and certainly not convenient to town.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Connie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GinaWells, Owner at Koura Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry that Jake (our dog) was not there to greet you, he died last year. We are pleased to hear that Gavin & Kim (Managers) were able to look after you. All guests to Koura Lodge are offered on arrival tea & coffee and home baking, you were no exception to this. We are sorry that our on-site facilities, open air spa pool, sauna, tennis court, kayaks and lodge lounge, did not fulfil your holiday expectations. It seemed our town and its choice of restaurants fell short also, we can only apologise for this and be grateful your opinion is in the minority. Not sure why you didn't find the fully stocked fridge in the guest kitchenette, plenty of wine, beer, drinks to choose from. You make a good point that it is always best to travel by car in NZ, a small country but many things to do and see far apart.
For the benefit of anyone reading this review, please note, Rotorua has more to offer than a few Thai restaurants and geothermal parks. To list a few, 14 lakes, redwood forest walking and mountain biking park, Luge, Zorb, several adventure parks, 5 golf courses, spa facilities and more.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (223)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 223 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is a beautiful property right on the shore of the lake. Our room (4) had french windows opening on to a lawn, with deck chairs, which led down to the lake and had stunning views. Actually the room had much more going for it than that. It was large and light. It had a big bathroom with a spa bath and good shower. Everything that could be thought of was provided. the list includes thick bathrobes, good quality face flannels, steal able coat hangars and free wifi. We stayed 2 nights the first we were on our own and the second the lodge was full allowing us to meet other travellers. Breakfast was convivial and cooked to order.
The owner Gina could not do enough for us including booking our restaurants (excellent choices) and arranging our tours including a motor scooter because at present having a knee problem I cannot walk far.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gmm83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Knowing we were returing to Rotorua, we simply had to go back to Koura Lodge - we were not disappointed. We upgraded to a superior room that was slightly off the lake side, but we still had the marvellous view. The breakfast [included] was lovely. They have now even added a hot dish of the day for breakfast. The canoes are free to use on the lake and the hot tub is a lovely way to spend half an hour. We will return again!! Please note - it is quite a way out of Rotorua.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Great hospitality by Kim & Gavin and really super breakfast. Upgraded to room with jacuzzi bath. Wonderful location overlooking lake. Great hot tub. One of the highlights of our holiday in New Zealand.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank susan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

The Lodge is located in front of the Lake, and it's a great moment to enjoy breakfast while enjoying the view. Our hosts were so nice, helping us planning activities and cooking us great breakfast. We went there as a couple for our honeymoon and it was a perfect start for our trip.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fabien D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a couple of nights and thoroughly enjoyed it. We had an upgrade on our room which was large and comfortable with a lovely modern bathroom with a jacuzzi bath which took ages to fill as it was so big. Tea and coffee making facilities were communal and directly outside our room so the bathrobe came in handy!
Kim and Gavin are lovely managers as was the lady who cleaned our room. I liked the way Gavin prepared a little something each day for breakfast to supplement the usual breakfast fare. The breakfast choice wasn't as extensive as we experienced elsewhere, but was perfectly adequate and delicious. One little thing that would make it seem more upmarket would be to ditch the sachets of jam and marmalade on the breakfast table and replace them with quality conserves.
The Lodge offers the use of a kayak to explore the lake and we fully intended using it one afternoon, but the weather closed in and the lake got tossed around so we had to forgo this pleasure. Nice to have it on offer though.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pauline K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

The lodge is right next to Lake Rotorua which meant that we were able to walk out of the french window in our room down to the shore of the lake. The lodge also provided kayaks for the guests to use - that meant that I could go and have a play on the lake. The receptionist also said that it was safe to swim in the lake - I also did this. The water wasn't as cold as I expected, so it was a very pleasant swim (although the weeds were a bit unpleasant around the legs). The lodge was really nice. The room was comfortable, large and well-equipped. The breakfast was brilliant: Gavin came up with some really interesting and tasty items. The granola was the best we had in NZ.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GerMar60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
2.2 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
765 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hamurana Lodge
Hamurana Lodge
#16 of 92 in Rotorua
420 reviews
1.8 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Peppers on the Point - Lake Rotorua
9 mi away
Treetops Lodge & Estate
Treetops Lodge & Estate
#41 of 92 in Rotorua
188 reviews
0.2 mi away
Black Swan Lakeside Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koura Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koura Lodge

Address: 209 Kawaha Point Road, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Rotorua
Price Range: $359 - $479 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Koura Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Koura Lodge offers boutique bed and breakfast lakeside accommodation in Rotorua, New Zealand. Enjoying an un-rivalled lakefront location, Koura Lodge is at the centre of it all. Just five minutes' drive to the city centre and even closer to many of Rotorua’s world famous attractions. Accommodating a maximum of 18 guests, our hosts are able to provide the individual attention you require, while ensuring your stay is restful in our tranquil surrounds. The Lodge offers a variety of accommodation, with all 8 rooms featuring magnificent lake views. A fresh buffet and cooked breakfast, lakeside open air hot-tub, sauna, canoeing, fishing are all part of Koura Lodge's real New Zealand experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Koura Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing