We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty location but....”
Review of Koura Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Koura Lodge
Ranked #9 of 52 Rotorua B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
124 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Pretty location but....”
Reviewed March 21, 2012

The lodge is on the shore of a beautiful lake with a great view of downtown Rotorua. The room we had was large but not lux. As mentioned by others, one downside of the setup is that people can walk by your room so you don't really have a lot of privacy. There is no wifi but there is a PC available that was always available for us.

Breakfast was good with cold and hot offered, and on the day we were leaving, the hosts arranged for us to have breakfast before the regular hours. The hosts were helpful in arranging for a birthday cake and gave us a complimentary half-bottle of wine for the birthday.

One last note re location, it is about a 10- 15 minute drive to town which isn't really a problem except if you want to go to dinner and have a drink.

Room Tip: We were in Room #4 which is at the end of the building so there are fewer reasons for people to pass...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank egliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    47
    19
    0
    1
See reviews for
30
157
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
Reviewed February 9, 2012

At Koura Lodge, you couldn't really ask for a more peaceful, scenic location. The hosts were absolutely lovely, very friendly and helpful. But we still felt that the standard room we stayed in ($345/night) was over-priced...more so in comparison to other luxury/boutique accommodation we stayed in around NZ. Far more expensive but with seemingly less.The room was small and lacked coffee/tea making facilities in the room itself; the tv (whilst LCD) was small; and one real negative for us was the lack of sheer curtains which meant we couldn't enjoy the view with any privacy. Unfortunately having the room right next to reception was also bad for noise/privacy. For a couple wanting a private retreat, I wouldn't recommend the standard room due to these reasons. There is free internet on a public computer to use, but isn't worth the time as it is so slow (possibly due to the computer rather than internet speed). Koura Lodge is 5 stars on first glance, but slowly drops off as it becomes apparent that it is below standard in some areas.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GinaWells, Owner at Koura Lodge, responded to this review, February 13, 2012
Thank you for taking time to comment. We appreciate your positive comments and would like to address your thoughts regarding value and space. Firstly it is important to recognise that all Koura Lodge rates are all inclusive, meaning your rate of $345 included not only your room, but a tea and coffee lounge adjacent to your room, homemade afternoon tea on arrival, full cooked and fresh buffet breakfast, internet, parking, sky T.V, canoes, spa, sauna, tennis court and not to forget your room was 10m from the lake edge. You were also offered a complimentary bottle of wine in acknowledgement of your marriage. The constant feedback we receive from our guests is that our rates represent fantastic value. We would like to point out that Koura lodge consists of two large lakeside houses and the bedrooms are just part of the private space the guests are able to enjoy, unlike a Hotel where the only private space is your room. We are disappointed you didn’t fully understand the concept of a bed and breakfast lodge and take full advantage of what Koura Lodge has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brackley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2012

Wonderful location on the waters edge, Very pleasant room . Nice staff, something different each day for breakfast. Seemed really strange being from England and eating breakfast Alfresco in November !
Doug

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2012

No trip to New Zealand is complete without seeing the amazing geysers of Rotorua. However, the town of Rotorua is a bit of a tourist trap - great for groups of young friends or singles, but a bit gaudy for couples. If you fall into the latter category (as we do!) then consider staying at the Koura Lodge. The lodge is set back from the road in a mostly residential area, in private grounds, close enough to the town to reach it within 10 minutes, but far enough away to not be bothered by all the hustle and bustle. We were on honeymoon, and were given the largest suite in the lodge. The room was large and comfortable with a King size bed, jacuzzi bathroom, and a deck which led straight onto the lawn and the lakeside beyond. The views from the room are simply breathtaking. Also, the hot-tub right down by the lakeside is a fantastic place to unwind.

The young English couple who were running the place when we stayed were excellent - so friendly and helpful when it came to advising us where to go and what to do. The breakfasts were very nice (baked eggs - yum), and are served on the deck, again taking in those great views.

A number of people have complained that Koura Lodge is expensive, which I can't confirm as we were booked in by our travel agent as part of a tour of the North Island. All we can say is, it's a special place in a beautiful setting with a friendly welcome. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestreshire, England
Level Contributor
69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2012

This accommodation has a wonderful, smell free position on Lake Rotorua. The amenities are good without being exceptional. The managers are first class, helpful and make a wonderful breakfast for each individual guest. The food is good and substantial. But no wonder they call the area Rotovagus. Of all the first class accommodation we stayed in in New Zealand this was by far the most expensive and nowhere near the standard of our boutique hotel in Auckland

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DickandDi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2012

Koura Lodge is situated on the shores of Lake Rotorua and we had a beautiful view from our room. We took advantage of the jacuzzi and tennis courts, and would have enjoyed the kayaking had the weather been a bit better. Our room was nice but a bit stuffy as there was no AC and the windows did not offer very good ventilation. The location is nice, however, as it is only a short drive from town and various activities. This wasn't my favorite B&B that we stayed in during our holiday but it was still very nice.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kryan12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2012

Having driven around New Zealand's North Island for two weeks and having stayed at various properties, I would say that this was probably the worst in terms of value for money. Don't get me wrong, the property has beautiful views to the lake and service is friendly, but having stayed at so many fabulous places during our tour, this place lacks in charm and personality by comparison. It's not the most expensive place we have stayed at, nor the cheapest, during our tour and we have had great stays at both ends of the spectrum. There is not a lot of privacy in the room we stayed in as the deck outside is somewhat shared and people can and do walk by so make sure your curtains are drawn. Walls are also quite thin so you will hear your neighbours flushing and closing doors...Breakfast is decent but definitely lacks behind some of the amazing ones we have been given at some of the other places we have stayed at.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel-planner-mum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.1 mi away
Peppers on the Point - Lake Rotorua
3.2 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
1.8 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
689 reviews
9.0 mi away
Treetops Lodge & Estate
Treetops Lodge & Estate
#43 of 92 in Rotorua
181 reviews
2.3 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koura Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koura Lodge

Property: Koura Lodge
Address: 209 Kawaha Point Road, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Koura Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Koura Lodge offers boutique bed and breakfast lakeside accommodation in Rotorua, New Zealand. Enjoying an un-rivalled lakefront location, Koura Lodge is at the centre of it all. Just five minutes' drive to the city centre and even closer to many of Rotorua’s world famous attractions. Accommodating a maximum of 18 guests, our hosts are able to provide the individual attention you require, while ensuring your stay is restful in our tranquil surrounds. The Lodge offers a variety of accommodation, with all 8 rooms featuring magnificent lake views. A fresh buffet and cooked breakfast, lakeside open air hot-tub, sauna, canoeing, fishing are all part of Koura Lodge's real New Zealand experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Koura Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing