We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best”
Review of YHA Rotorua

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
YHA Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“One of the best”
Reviewed June 3, 2007

This hostel is fantastic. The kitchen was imaculate, including utensils, no washing before using needed here. It was really well laid out and equiped. The living area had plenty of space. The location is great, 10 minute walk to supermarket, couple of minutes to the centre of town, the old bath house and museum is at one end of the road and at the closer end is a thermal park.
Our room was beautiful, like a small but very modern hotel room, we did have a twin with en suite as they were very busy but the dorms were well done too.
We really wish we could have had longer there just to take time out and enjoy the hostel!
They have a huge car park and will collect you from the bus depot.
The one thing they need to work on is recycling as they only do glass and plastic but otherwise...!

  • Liked — The layout
  • Disliked — Lack of recycling
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank fearon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    153
    60
    8
    8
See reviews for
29
117
109
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Northampton
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2007

I completely agree with the other reviews, it is centrally located within walking distance of everywhere(as the place itself isn't that big!), extremely clean and tidy and the common areas are well maintained. I'm not sure if it's nice simply because it's new or because they have an excellent team of staff but whichever way, it was a pleasure to stay there-cheers!
p.s. The Peasant Plucker pub does fantastic meals-ask at reception!

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue2807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2006

By boyfriend and I stayed here for 4 nights during a round-the-world trip. The hostel is excellent in all aspects, the rooms, shared facilities, location, staff (excellent knowledge of the area). We stayed in a 4 dorm hostel, the rooms all have single beds - so no noisy bunks! I would drfinatley reccomend anyone (all ages) to stay at this hostel if visiting Rotorua.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Nil
  • Tips/Secrets — Speak to staff for local info - they know heaps!
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank BeeB0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2006

This brand new hostel, located in the quiet end of Downtown Rotorua is the best backpackersmy husband and I have stayed in. Friendly, very new, very clean and very spacious. You can walk to everything, good parking system and a fantastic kitchen. Very funky - feels more like a hotel than a hostel. I would not hesitate to recommend this to anyone - if you're going to Rotorua, stay here!!

  • Liked — Very new and very clean
  • Disliked — I liked everything
  • Stayed January 2004, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank 26yrOldAussieChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.2 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
706 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
185 reviews
0.5 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Princes Gate Hotel
Princes Gate Hotel
#29 of 92 in Rotorua
783 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
0.4 mi away
Crash Palace
Crash Palace
#3 of 58 in Rotorua
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Rotorua

Property: YHA Rotorua
Address: 1278 Haupapa Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand (Formerly YHA Treks Backpackers)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 58 Specialty Lodging in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — YHA Rotorua 5*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to YHA Rotorua, a purpose built backpacker hostel in the central city for your complete Rotorua experience. Rotorua’s finest lodge, YHA Rotorua offers budget backpacker accommodation right beside Kuirau Park, Rotorua’s free geothermal attraction, and only two minutes walk from shops, cafes, restaurants and beautiful Lake Rotorua. There is a wide range of backpacker accommodation to choose from: 4 bed share rooms, 6 bed bunk rooms, triple room, standard double rooms, twin/double ensuite rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your YHA Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yha Treks Backpackers Rotorua
Yha Treks Backpackers Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing