We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok for Rotorua”
Review of YHA Rotorua

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
YHA Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
266 reviews
206 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 319 helpful votes
“Ok for Rotorua”
Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

Firstly Rotorua is hideously expensive for New Zealand so this hostel will probably be at the upper end of what you pay for a hostel anywhere in the country (I'm typing this in a hotel room in Wellington which has a private bathroom, satellite tv, wifi and fridge that is charging less than what the Rotorua YHA charges for a tiny double room with shared bath and NOTHING in the room). But for Rotorua it is well priced. Location is good, staff are lovely, shared bathrooms are huge and clean and the kitchen facilities are great. Good (but very basic) choice.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Grant_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YHA N, Manager at YHA Rotorua, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thank you for your feedback!

It’s a shame you found Rotorua to be expensive. There is so much to do here ranging from free to whatever your budget allows. There are some amazing options available at very affordable prices. We do hope you got to experience some of what Rotorua offers and within your budget.

We're sorry you found the room to be basic for the price you paid in comparison to other accommodation in other locations. Our prices are similar or competitive to other hostels in Rotorua.

Thanks for staying with us and for letting us know that you found the facilities to be good and clean and the team looked after you well!

Haylee Bloor, Hostel Manager
YHA Rotorua
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    151
    60
    8
    8
See reviews for
29
117
108
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

Great location in the centre of town - easy to walk around the town and close to many restaurants and cafés and the Polynesian Spa! Very clean and clean linen provided. They opened up a special building for us as they didn't have any room left in the normal dorms which was very kind of them.

Would have been better if they provided free wifi. Customer service was also variable - some staff were great but others were less helpful.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank mpat891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YHA N, Manager at YHA Rotorua, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on your stay here with us! We're glad you enjoyed your stay and found our location to be great. We do supply free unlimited WiFi for our members and offer a very good price of $5 for 24 hours for non-members, which I hope was explained to you on your arrival.

I appreciate your feedback in regards to the customer service being variable, we do try to be consistent at all times and with all staff, so I will give a reminder to the team to follow up on this.

Once again thank you for your review and enjoy your onward travels.

Haylee Bloor, YHA Rotorua Hostel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

Good location with free car parking. Staffs at the reception were friendly. I stayed in the 6 bed dorm room which was a lttle small with no place to put our luggages. The cleanliness of the toilets was poor as it didn't smell nice - urine smell everywhere. But overall it is still good budget place to stay thanks to the friendly staffs and good location.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simlez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

The building is modern and in a great location. The staff are very helpful and book activities and trips for you. There is lots of room in the kitchen and it has ovens! The rooms are clean and tidy and the bathrooms are modern and clean.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra8286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

okay 1st when i arrived at Rotorua i wasnt sure if i could stay there the smell got right up my nose but after booking in to this lovely place i got comfy and unpacked again i felt at home again and the smell didnt feel so bad then off to do alll the things you do in this town but over all the YHA was very clean and a great place to stay not the best but very close to the top of the tree will be back and thanks for the staff for being so nice

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Esterelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Building is modern and location is okay. Free off-street parking is a perk in this town where metres have taken over the streets. But as far as YHAs go, it wasn't the best.

PROS:

Modern building

Close to Lava Bar at BASE where you can get the only cheap drinks in town

Big Kitchen

Rooms have radiators and the guests can alter/control the temperature or turn it off.

Location is central


CONS:

Too big, as many YHAs in bigger towns/cities are - more like a hotel

No fireplace

Dorm rooms don't have lights at each bed and only one set of outlets for 6 people.

Private room is a great value at $58 if you have two people.

The on-site staff doesn't seem to be responsible for any cleaning; rather, it seemed like a cleaning service came in each morning. As a result, the bathrooms were still dirty from the night before at 10 am the next morning (whereas at other YHAs, they were cleaned each night or early morning). Another example of this is how in the morning while cooking breakfast, there were NO tea towels anywhere to be found. I asked the girl at the front desk and she told me that all the tea towels were being washed and that I should just leave my dishes. This has never happened at any other YHA in NZ, so no idea why they were cleaning all tea towels at a peak time (breakfast) other than it seemed like this task was put off until the cleaners showed up around 9:30 am.

A bit boring, as many YHAs are, unfortunately. YET no one seems to step in when people don't do their dishes or are playing music in the hallways outside the rooms late at night.


Recap: It's not awful, but could be cleaned more regularly by staff and would be nice if it were smaller (obviously, nothing is going to change this now other than a wrecking ball).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovingfloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

I got a nice room and the bathrooms were ok, but the place was quite boring and have to pay for the internet access and lockers. There are other hostels around Rotorua that give you a much better experience. A good thing is that the hostel is close to Lava Bar were people can go to take a drink a play pool.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pierre S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.2 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
696 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#4 of 92 in Rotorua
170 reviews
0.5 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Princes Gate Hotel
Princes Gate Hotel
#30 of 92 in Rotorua
775 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#17 of 92 in Rotorua
839 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crash Palace
Crash Palace
#3 of 58 in Rotorua
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Rotorua

Property: YHA Rotorua
Address: 1278 Haupapa Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand (Formerly YHA Treks Backpackers)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 58 Specialty Lodging in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — YHA Rotorua 5*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to YHA Rotorua, a purpose built backpacker hostel in the central city for your complete Rotorua experience. Rotorua’s finest lodge, YHA Rotorua offers budget backpacker accommodation right beside Kuirau Park, Rotorua’s free geothermal attraction, and only two minutes walk from shops, cafes, restaurants and beautiful Lake Rotorua. There is a wide range of backpacker accommodation to choose from: 4 bed share rooms, 6 bed bunk rooms, triple room, standard double rooms, twin/double ensuite rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your YHA Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yha Treks Backpackers Rotorua
Yha Treks Backpackers Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing