We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and clean”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of YHA Rotorua

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
YHA Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great location and clean”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

The building is modern and in a great location. The staff are very helpful and book activities and trips for you. There is lots of room in the kitchen and it has ovens! The rooms are clean and tidy and the bathrooms are modern and clean.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra8286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    148
    57
    7
    8
See reviews for
28
114
105
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

okay 1st when i arrived at Rotorua i wasnt sure if i could stay there the smell got right up my nose but after booking in to this lovely place i got comfy and unpacked again i felt at home again and the smell didnt feel so bad then off to do alll the things you do in this town but over all the YHA was very clean and a great place to stay not the best but very close to the top of the tree will be back and thanks for the staff for being so nice

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Esterelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

Building is modern and location is okay. Free off-street parking is a perk in this town where metres have taken over the streets. But as far as YHAs go, it wasn't the best.

PROS:

Modern building

Close to Lava Bar at BASE where you can get the only cheap drinks in town

Big Kitchen

Rooms have radiators and the guests can alter/control the temperature or turn it off.

Location is central


CONS:

Too big, as many YHAs in bigger towns/cities are - more like a hotel

No fireplace

Dorm rooms don't have lights at each bed and only one set of outlets for 6 people.

Private room is a great value at $58 if you have two people.

The on-site staff doesn't seem to be responsible for any cleaning; rather, it seemed like a cleaning service came in each morning. As a result, the bathrooms were still dirty from the night before at 10 am the next morning (whereas at other YHAs, they were cleaned each night or early morning). Another example of this is how in the morning while cooking breakfast, there were NO tea towels anywhere to be found. I asked the girl at the front desk and she told me that all the tea towels were being washed and that I should just leave my dishes. This has never happened at any other YHA in NZ, so no idea why they were cleaning all tea towels at a peak time (breakfast) other than it seemed like this task was put off until the cleaners showed up around 9:30 am.

A bit boring, as many YHAs are, unfortunately. YET no one seems to step in when people don't do their dishes or are playing music in the hallways outside the rooms late at night.


Recap: It's not awful, but could be cleaned more regularly by staff and would be nice if it were smaller (obviously, nothing is going to change this now other than a wrecking ball).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovingfloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

I got a nice room and the bathrooms were ok, but the place was quite boring and have to pay for the internet access and lockers. There are other hostels around Rotorua that give you a much better experience. A good thing is that the hostel is close to Lava Bar were people can go to take a drink a play pool.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pierre S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

I booked the YHA looking at decent online reviews and as the higher rated places were sold out. The location is decently close to the bus stop if you are a budget traveller like me, but the room we got (ensuite for a couple next to the main entrance) was super tiny, the bathroom was musty smelling, and our's was the first window next to the main gate so everybody walking by could hear us. The room is so tight fit and there are no closets. The receptionist we met was also nit that great as we were asking for sight seeing tips and she wasn't particularly helpful especially when we were asking if one place is better than another. Her only job was to point at the pamphlet rack and say where to find the info.

Room Tip: If you are a backpacker, ask for a room which is well aired out..
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mridu_globetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
179 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

I stayed for one night at this hostel. It is a quite big hostel with lot of rooms and a large kitchen. For me it was a good place (clean and enough facilities).

The staff was very friendly and helpful.

Only negative part is maybe it is a big hostel so it gets busy by all the people, but for me it was ok.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AufDerFlucht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

We came with high hopes because of the 5 star qualimark. The building looks lovely from the outside, new and shiny. The staff who greeted us, as well as the staff through out our visit, was friendly and helpful, and one even went out of his way to find us a night light (we were travelling with two little girls), and change our room to one without bunks. But it quickly went downhill from there. The room was very small, and contained 4 beds pushed close together, and nothing else. The bathrooms were rarely clean. The kitchen, though large, lacks basic necessities (pot covers, knives, teaspoons). The main area is in separate building than the sleeping quarters, and because it rained during our visit, every time we went for a meal or even just to sit, we had to run through the rain.
The YHAs we'd been to up till now have been wonderful, so this was especially disappointing.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weinyael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.2 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 93 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
1.2 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
0.3 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
0.4 mi away
Princes Gate Hotel
Princes Gate Hotel
#36 of 93 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rock Solid Backpackers
Rock Solid Backpackers
#5 of 55 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Rotorua

Property: YHA Rotorua
Address: 1278 Haupapa Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand (Formerly YHA Treks Backpackers)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — YHA Rotorua 5*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to YHA Rotorua, a purpose built backpacker hostel in the central city for your complete Rotorua experience. Rotorua’s finest lodge, YHA Rotorua offers budget backpacker accommodation right beside Kuirau Park, Rotorua’s free geothermal attraction, and only two minutes walk from shops, cafes, restaurants and beautiful Lake Rotorua. There is a wide range of backpacker accommodation to choose from: 4 bed share rooms, 6 bed bunk rooms, triple room, standard double rooms, twin/double ensuite rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your YHA Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yha Treks Backpackers Rotorua
Yha Treks Backpackers Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing