We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and location”
Review of YHA Rotorua

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
YHA Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 13, 2012

The rooms and facilities were excellent - all clean and well maintained. And the location is great too. Some of the accommodation in Rotorua is quite a way out of the town, but the YHA is right in the centre and many of the sites are within walking distance. The reception staff were really helpful with advice and help with bookings.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluecastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (406)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

243 - 249 of 406 reviews

Reviewed December 12, 2012

Stayed here a few days in September 2011. I booked myself a single room and found it to be clean, warm and quiet. Parking was always available and everything in town was in walking distance. It was an easy and fuss free stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Voelser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

YHA run excellent hostels. I can't speak more highly of them. Great value for money, really clean rooms and bathrooms, lots of amenities and services. The staff in every YHA I stayed in during my trip (in 5 different places) were all polite, friendly and very helpful, they all go above and beyond. The YHA membership is pretty cheap and if you stay in multiple YHAs then the discount you get quickly reimburses the card price. The Rotorua standard private room size is decent, the linen was included at no extra price and best of all the bathrooms were nice and clean; separate male and female with plenty of toilets and showers. The staff are more than happy to give recommendations of local places and help you book tours if needed. Internet is quite reasonably priced also.

Room Tip: Standard privates are not that much more expensive than dorm rooms and it's nice after a long da...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liv437
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

We spent a night there with our 3 year old daughter, and enjoyed the place very much. It is located in the very center of the city, and you don't need to drive anymore when you've parked the car at the YHA parking lot. Playgrounds, bars & restaurants are at a very walkable distance. The room was clean, as were the sleeping stuff. Kitchen, if noisy, was clean and tidy too. We bought our tickets to Wai O Tapu from the desk, and, along with a friendly service, had a 10% discount. Overall a very good value for money!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katatjuta74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

While I admit I had not hostelled in a while, the YHA Treks in Rotorua was much nicer than expected. The pics online are accurate. The rooms and common areas are clean, simple and well kept. The noise level was acceptable, no wild parties happened on property while we were there at least. This is not a hostel with a bar and generally seems attract the older clientele in addition to the classic younger backpacker. I would stay here again if in the area. If you have a car, they have a large parking area too.
Rooms aren't large and are without air conditioning, but they have windows that open.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank packinPnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

This hostel is a little bit more expensive than a few others but worth every penny! Me and my boyfriend stayed a few nights in Jan and stayed in a private room (60dollars a room).

Positive:
Toilets/showers very clean and lots of them.
Room a nice size and clean towels each day.
Wifi is brilliant.
Kitchen is huge and lots of space for food etc.

Overall, everything at this hostel was perfect and quiet... Nice break for us after being on the kiwi bus.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Goldfish124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Stayed in a double with a ensuite. Felt more like a hotel than a hostel! Everything was really clean and looked nice. The staff were fantastic and very helpful!!!! Got some great recommendations on what activities to do and was all booked for me. Great location - was very close to everything and all shuttles for the activities would pick you up there. Would defiantly stay there again. :-)

Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
Thank NadeneDudley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.2 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
765 reviews
0.4 mi away
Princes Gate Hotel
Princes Gate Hotel
#22 of 92 in Rotorua
848 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crash Palace
Crash Palace
#5 of 58 in Rotorua
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Rotorua Downtown Backpackers
0.3 mi away
Rock Solid Backpackers
Rock Solid Backpackers
#10 of 58 in Rotorua
77 reviews
0.3 mi away
Spa Lodge
Spa Lodge
#12 of 58 in Rotorua
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Rotorua

Address: 1278 Haupapa Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand (Formerly YHA Treks Backpackers)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 58 Specialty Lodging in Rotorua
Price Range: $40 - $67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — YHA Rotorua 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to YHA Rotorua, a purpose built backpacker hostel in the central city for your complete Rotorua experience. YHA Rotorua offers budget backpacker accommodation right beside Kuirau Park, Rotorua’s free geothermal attraction, and only two minutes walk from shops, cafes, restaurants and beautiful Lake Rotorua. There is a wide range of backpacker accommodation to choose from: 4 bed share rooms, 6 bed bunk rooms, triple room, standard double rooms, twin/double ensuite rooms. Popular features: 2GB free WiFi per day, newly refurbished well-equipped kitchen, TV room, pool table, outdoor patio and BBQ area, communal laundry, free travel and activity booking service, breakfast packs for sale on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your YHA Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yha Treks Backpackers Rotorua
Yha Treks Backpackers Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing