We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inexpensive stay in Rotorua”
Review of YHA Rotorua

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
YHA Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Grand Junction, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Inexpensive stay in Rotorua”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

While I admit I had not hostelled in a while, the YHA Treks in Rotorua was much nicer than expected. The pics online are accurate. The rooms and common areas are clean, simple and well kept. The noise level was acceptable, no wild parties happened on property while we were there at least. This is not a hostel with a bar and generally seems attract the older clientele in addition to the classic younger backpacker. I would stay here again if in the area. If you have a car, they have a large parking area too.
Rooms aren't large and are without air conditioning, but they have windows that open.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank packinPnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    153
    60
    8
    8
See reviews for
29
117
109
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

This hostel is a little bit more expensive than a few others but worth every penny! Me and my boyfriend stayed a few nights in Jan and stayed in a private room (60dollars a room).

Positive:
Toilets/showers very clean and lots of them.
Room a nice size and clean towels each day.
Wifi is brilliant.
Kitchen is huge and lots of space for food etc.

Overall, everything at this hostel was perfect and quiet... Nice break for us after being on the kiwi bus.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goldfish124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Victoria, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

Stayed in a double with a ensuite. Felt more like a hotel than a hostel! Everything was really clean and looked nice. The staff were fantastic and very helpful!!!! Got some great recommendations on what activities to do and was all booked for me. Great location - was very close to everything and all shuttles for the activities would pick you up there. Would defiantly stay there again. :-)

Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank NadeneDudley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

Amazing place!

It's very clean, rooms are tidy and modern. Newly done out and it has more of a hotel feel than a hostel!

Location is very close to the town! Very pretty town!

I would go back - such a lovely hostel!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KWard126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

This yha was one of the better ones! Staff were friendly and helpful always smiling, rooms were clean and spacious! My only down fall was the noise in hostel walls very thin could hear the people next to me snoring, and the floor boards make an awful noise If anybody moves! Making it impossible to get a lie in, and the seats in tv room were the most uncomforable seats ever! But in a whole a great hostel

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank koddon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Have stayed in many hostel's throughout New Zealand and Australia. Overall this YHA has a good location, helpful and friendly staff. Double room with ensuite on the small side but adequate. Modern kitchen with good access to town and surrounding attractions.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ben B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

I stayed in a double ensuite for two nights while staying in the area. Great location, pretty much in walking distance of the city and a short drive to the other major attractions in the area. Had enough parking space to accomadate all guests (free of charge). The hostel as a whole was wonderful. The living area was spacious and had games, books, and a pool table if you wernt content with the adjouring tv room. The kitchen had more than enough room for everyone to make dinner at the same time, with at least 4 ovens, a plethora of hot plates and two large friges and a freezer. All the utensitls/ cutlery and crockery were available and never seemed to run short. the recycing program they had an place was excellent, they even had a food scraps bin for the local pig farmers. Staff were friendly and had a good knowledge of the area. I would stay here again in a heart beat! Thanks YHA you really made my stay in Rotorua

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carrie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.2 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
706 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
184 reviews
0.5 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Princes Gate Hotel
Princes Gate Hotel
#29 of 92 in Rotorua
780 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
0.4 mi away
Crash Palace
Crash Palace
#3 of 58 in Rotorua
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Rotorua

Property: YHA Rotorua
Address: 1278 Haupapa Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand (Formerly YHA Treks Backpackers)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 58 Specialty Lodging in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — YHA Rotorua 5*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to YHA Rotorua, a purpose built backpacker hostel in the central city for your complete Rotorua experience. Rotorua’s finest lodge, YHA Rotorua offers budget backpacker accommodation right beside Kuirau Park, Rotorua’s free geothermal attraction, and only two minutes walk from shops, cafes, restaurants and beautiful Lake Rotorua. There is a wide range of backpacker accommodation to choose from: 4 bed share rooms, 6 bed bunk rooms, triple room, standard double rooms, twin/double ensuite rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your YHA Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yha Treks Backpackers Rotorua
Yha Treks Backpackers Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing