We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful host!”
Review of Robertson House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Robertson House
Ranked #8 of 52 Rotorua B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rome, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
275 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“wonderful host!”
Reviewed August 23, 2010

We were in Rotorua in honeymoon. Robertson House was a perfect place, very romantic, and John is a perfect host, we drunk wine with him, was incredible! The house is lovely, particular. It's a beautiful place to stay!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ornitorinco76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    25
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
14
131
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
nidau
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 18, 2010

Robertson House is a charming old house in a quiet residential area, within a short walk to the centre. Owner John was away but Sam and her papa John were really excellent hosts and made us feel welcome and at home. Thanks a lot to John for his company in his lovely garden and for taking us around town. Would definitely recommend Robertson House to travellers visiting Rotorua.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcbiko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2010

This review is shamefully overdue but our memories are still so vivid that we had to post our comments. Robertson house is an absolute gem. The house and all the rooms are so beautifully and tastefully decorated and you can see the love that has gone into maintaining this home. They are not enough words to describe how wonderful John and his amazing dog Loki are. From our very first email contact John went out of his way to spoil us and help us with arrangements by offering advice about where to explore. The little touches such as freshly baked cake and being able to use his office and internet were greatly appreciated and we loved just being able to relax in quiet and luxurious surroundings. It takes about 15mins to walk to the centre of town but this was an easy and well signed walk. John recommended Fat Dog as the restaurant to eat at and we still think about it to this day. We’ve never seen portions so big and the quality and price were superb! We loved our time in Rotorua but without doubt it was John and Loki who made our experience so special. We really feel like we made a new friend, John is a very generous and unique host and we truly hope to visit them again one day.
Eloise and Philip – your friends from Jersey, Channel Islands.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philoise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2010

On arrival at this charming house I knew I had made the right choice - John and his lovely dog were so delightful and friendly, and it just got better and better! We had the pick of the rooms, it being a quiet day, how often does that happen? All of the rooms are beautiful and tastefully furnished, we found our room very comfortable and airy.
Breakfast was lovely too -as expected. Pity we had only 1 night to spend at Robertson House -we loved it!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HPsauceNWEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks UK
1 review
Reviewed February 22, 2010

As part of a 2 month tour of NZ we chose Robertson House based on the Tripadvisor reviews for our 2 night stay in Rotorua and were not disappointed. The accomodation is beautifully presented and the breakfasts were a delight. The House is in a quiet residential area only 10 minute walk from the town centre. We do not agree with earlier comments that the area was threatening and felt totally secure. There is little to add to what others have stated about Robertson House however what cannot be over emphasised is the generous nature and overall friendliness of the owner John. He immediately made us feel at home with a welcoming glass of wine followed with excellent advice on where to go and what to do. We met many delightful people in the 19 different hotels, B&B's and motels we stayed in but John shone out as the perfect host.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KevinGBucksUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2010

Robertson House is an excellent place to stay for a couple of days while visiting Rotorua. The house is well described in the below reviews. It is located about 15 minutes walk from town and another 5-10minutes from the town centre. Coming back late one night we realised that the street it is not entirely endearing for those in an unfamiliar area - badly lit and a few dodgy characters hanging around. That said, a taxi is easily got from the town and will only set you back about 6 or 7 dollars.

Rotorua itself was a little disappointing and did not have much more to offer other than the springs and the Polynesian Spa (which is well worth a trip). Alternative activities/sights are few but Robertson House was a gorgeous place to retreat to and read a book or just hang out. Our room was HUGE and the en-suite was roomy with a really good shower! John is a charming and friendly host and will ensure that your stay at the house is a real treat for sure.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank macalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tübingen
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2009

We stayed in the silver room for one night during our honeymoon trip. John is a great host and has lots of tips for Rotorua and the area. He is very helpful and gave us a warm welcome. Robertson House is a loveable colonial building with high ceilings and a nice porch. The silver room was rather small and its ensuite was tiny. From a glimpse the other rooms were much more spacious but they were already booked out when we made our booking. There is free internet access through a computer in the hallway and the continental breakfast was fine. Overall this was good value and I would recommend this place to anyone travelling through Rotorua.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tuebidoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.7 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
706 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#18 of 92 in Rotorua
847 reviews
0.9 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
185 reviews
2.2 mi away
B&B @ The Redwoods
B&B @ The Redwoods
#2 of 52 in Rotorua
490 reviews
6.2 mi away
Doolan's Country Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Robertson House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Robertson House

Property: Robertson House
Address: 70 Pererika Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Robertson House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An historic house only 2 minutes drive from city centre built by one of Rotorua’s forefathers in 1905 renovated retaining its colonial charm our friendly host will be happy to assist with information and bookings for Rotorua attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Robertson House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing