We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Robertson House
Nearby Hotels
$151
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$162
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$127
$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Prince's Gate Hotel(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
$143
$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
$120
$99
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$162
$126
Official Site
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Holiday Inn Rotorua(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
$166
$128
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Braeside Rotorua(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
$100
$92
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$485
$411
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$1,062
$849
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (185)
Filter reviews
185 results
Traveler rating
151
30
2
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
151
30
2
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshost johnhouse is beautifulgave us a mapnew zealandperiod propertycontinental style breakfastcooked breakfasthome from homefresh fruitplaces to visitonly stayed one nightrooms are spaciousplace to stayshort staygood sizecerealnz
Filter
Updating list...
86 - 91 of 185 reviews
Reviewed May 11, 2008

Robertson House was our 1st BB on our long awaited NZ holiday, and was more than we had expected. We previously contacted John to confirm if it would be OK for us to arrive at 9.30pm on the evening of our arrival, which was no issue for him. Unfortunately, our flight from Sydney was delayed 2 hrs due to bad weather, which in turn delayed our arrival into Auckland airport. Prior to departing the airport, we phoned John to advise of our late arrival and would this be of any concern to him for us to arrive in the middle of the night. Absolutley no probem which was a hugh relief to tired travellers.

Even in the dead of night, our first impression of Robertson House was one of delight. The front of the house immediately, gives you a feeling of warmth and charm.

Our room was spacious and decorated with period features. The bed was new ( as advised by John ) and very comfortable. Breakfast is in the communal dining/family room which we enjoyed with the other guests.

John is a wonderful host, with a wealth of knowledge of sites to see and places to eat. He made a booking for us prior to our arrivel to attend the Matai Village Maori culture evening, and we were collected from the front door that evening. A must for any visitor to Rotorua, is to walk thru the Redwood Forest. Ask John for directions and it is only 10mins away. Make sure you drive thru to the Visitor Centre and take your camera.
We stayed 2 nights at Robertson House, but I would definitely recommend 3 nights or longer.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Tori88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2008

My husband and I stayed for only one night just before we left New Zealand. The house is a lovely period house, sympathetically restored by John, the owner, a short drive out on a quiet street. Our room was a very large en suite, with access directly to the garden, and was tastefully decorated.

John was an extremely friendly and accommodating host, and gave us a good tip for eating out (The Fat Dog Cafe, which I subsequently throughly recommend!).

Breakfast in the morning was varied and plentiful. Unfortunately we got up for our morning 2 hours early, having put our clocks back, instead of forward at daylight saving! Consequently we had extra time on our hands before our trip to the airport, so I was able to use John's computer in his office while my husband entertained him showing him the videos from our skydive the previous morning!

Although we only stayed one night, I would have been more than happy to stay longer, and if we return to Rotorua we would definitely look forward to staying here again.

Stayed: April 2008
Thank EYM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2008

Had two rooms here, the double with the beautiful claw foot bath, and a triple across the hall, for two nights. It's a really lovely place, and John and Loki the dog are great hosts. Free internet access and use of the kitchen and garden all day made a big difference - we could store our toddlers food (and some beer...)in the fridge, and spent a lovely afternoon on the sunny terrace with our son playing safely in the garden. The bedrooms don't have TV's, which I think is great. There's a communal TV in the living/dining area.
The furniture and furnishings are splendid, John has really gone for the Victorian period charm!
The shower in our triple room was the best I had all holiday. So powerful it could knock you over!
Breakfast was an easy going affair, John confessed to being a terrible cook, hence the sway towards continental, but I've never seen so many types of sliced bread as he had on offer.
It's a 15 minute walk into Rotorua centre from the house

  • Stayed: February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank cafitiere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2008

We almost didn't go to Rotorua, having heard of the "tourist hype" prevalent there. We're so glad we changed our minds, and staying at the Robertson House added immensely to our enjoyment of the whole experience. From the moment of our arrival, John and his canine friend, Loki, were ebullient, effusive, and incredibly available and helpful with knowledgeable suggestions (that helped avoid that very "tourist hype") The place itself was lovely -- beautifully restored Bay Villa house, with large, airy, sunny rooms (our bathroom was a special delight), meticulously landscaped grounds, and convenient location. John found us restaurants, Hangi reservations at Te Puia (the most authentic around), and guided us to specific aspects of the local sites that we were delighted not to have missed (i.e., how to avoid the crowds at the Waitapu thermal spot). If ever we can go back to NZ, this B and B will be a destination, and we couldn't recommend it more highly.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank CapeTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2008

We stayed in November 2007 and John was the perfect host. The house is a beautifully restored victorian cottage with a perfect greeter. ( A beautiful siberian husky named Luke)

The breakfast buffet was completely stocked and the rooms beautiful. We highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Lafran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews