We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Robertson House
Nearby Hotels
$151
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$127
$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Prince's Gate Hotel(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
$143
$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Rotorua(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
$166
$128
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$162
$126
Official Site
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
$120
$99
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Braeside Rotorua(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
$100
$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$174
$152
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$485
$411
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$1,062
$849
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (185)
Filter reviews
185 results
Traveler rating
151
30
2
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
151
30
2
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshost johnhouse is beautifulgave us a mapnew zealandperiod propertycontinental style breakfastcooked breakfasthome from homefresh fruitplaces to visitonly stayed one nightrooms are spaciousplace to stayshort staygood sizecerealnz
Filter
Updating list...
55 - 60 of 185 reviews
Reviewed March 26, 2012

A nice old building in "art Deco style"we entered when arriving at John's place.
He showed us the room with a small terrace, viewing the garden. We got a lot of information from John who was very helpful in every way. He made a reservation for us for the Maui show in the evening. He even called the buscompany when we told we forgot the tripod when we left the bus and it was brought back in 10 minutes. Breakfast was simple but good. And here we could use the laptop as well, whenever we wanted to.
A very pleasant place to be.
Bert and Willemien Ruiter from Holland

Room Tip: Choose a room downstairs; there's a small terrace.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2012

We had been recommended Robertson House by some Europeans we'd met in a Queenstown B&B, we were not able to consult Trip Advisor by this time in our month long trip so recommendations of any sort were greatfully received. We were headed for Rotorua so contacted John and booked two nights.

To be honest, we may not have ventured down Pererika Street as it seemed like a mixed residential street with some houses needing attention BUT we'd have missed this beautiful place and wonderful host, so for once, Brits grateful to Europeans!

John (originally from Worcester) has the background and experience to know what a traveller is looking for from accomodation when travelling and he has seemed to have used that very well He is a very giving person and through his general tips on what to see where to go and where to eat recommendations added so much to our trip to Rotorua.

Our room was fabulous. comfortable, large, well maintained. The bathroom was just as good with enough room for two to get ready at the same time.
The house itself is wonderful, off street parking, breakfasts to die for!

Our only regret is that we only had two nights, for the first time in 18 nights we really didn't want to leave - we'd have been happy to spend the rest of our holiday with John amd his Samoid Loki.
I don't recommend without knowing someone is going to deffinately enjoy a place, but with a month long trip through NZ I can say that without a shadow of a doubt this place rate equalled by only one other (much more expensive) place we stayed.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisR200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2012

We stayed only one night in Rotorua and John was kindness itself and couldn't do enough for us. Best place to stay in Rotorua.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank periwinkleMarlow_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2011

Robertson House is one of the best B&B's in NZ. Very beautiful house and fantastic rooms. Very helpful and enthusiastic host John made us feel very welcome, even though we arrived late and unannounced. Slept wonderfully on the comfortable bed. Delicious breakfast to start the day. John gave us some excellent tips on how to spent our days in Rotorua. Thanks John, hope to see you again one day.
Greetings from The Netherlands.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edith K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2011

I have been there last year with my wife (we were touring New Zealand on honeymoon). The Robertson House is just beautiful, we hade a fantastic room, and John has been a very cheerful, amazing host. I would highly recommen this place to anyone who is going to visit Rotorua. Actually, we enjoyed more the Robertson House than the town itself.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fab_1492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews