We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Robertson House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rotorua
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Robertson House
Ranked #8 of 56 Rotorua B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Barendrecht, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2011

Robertson House is one of the best B&B's in NZ. Very beautiful house and fantastic rooms. Very helpful and enthusiastic host John made us feel very welcome, even though we arrived late and unannounced. Slept wonderfully on the comfortable bed. Delicious breakfast to start the day. John gave us some excellent tips on how to spent our days in Rotorua. Thanks John, hope to see you again one day.
Greetings from The Netherlands.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Edith K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    24
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
14
127
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2011

I have been there last year with my wife (we were touring New Zealand on honeymoon). The Robertson House is just beautiful, we hade a fantastic room, and John has been a very cheerful, amazing host. I would highly recommen this place to anyone who is going to visit Rotorua. Actually, we enjoyed more the Robertson House than the town itself.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fab_1492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2011

We visited Robertson House as part of our NZ honeymoon roadtrip. I generally find B&B accommodation can be slightly strange - you can feel like you are intruding on the owners private space. This B&B is the exact opposite, every touch makes you feel more comfortable and more welcome. The decor mixes traditional features and contemporary chic, with all mod cons. John is an amazing host and could not have better suggestions for the local area, including tourist traps to avoid, 'hidden gems', and great restaurants in town. I could have easily spent 2 hours at breakfast enjoying the delicious, fresh spread. I am genuinely annoyed that we were only booked in for one night as this B&B was a tour highlight. Please stay here if you can.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gunner_girl_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2011

We travelled as a couple to Robertson in early September and our experience could not have been better. John's hospitality got us through a difficult intrusion in our holiday that made two long international phone calls necessary. We expected (and were perfectly prepared to accept) a friendly direction to a place where we could get our mobiles set up for international calls or buy a phone card. What we got was an offer to use a landline, in a quiet place, for a number of hours to receive the important calls. We are extremely grateful. The room was great, the bathroom was huge and spotless, the service was outstanding, the location was between the town and the trails in the Whakarewarewa Forest, which was why we were in Rotorua in the first place. Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank apdaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new hampshire
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2011

My husband and I stayed here recently and it was very special. All of the rooms are beautifully decorated. The host is exceptionally friendly and helpful. It is centrally located but quiet with beautiful gardens.Breakfast was plentiful and yummy. We loved the area and would recommend this area and especially this B&B to anyone. A wonderful stay.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nhnatives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrace, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2011

we were greeted like old friends when we arrived. This historic home has been beautifully restored, and it felt very warm and friendly. Nikko, the white siberian husky, wagged his tail and welcomed us like we had been there before. The yard is nice, and it was a well-kept and most comfortable place. John was very helpful, and gave us tips about the many things to see and do in the area. We would definitely return, and will recommend this to our friends. Also, great location.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bjuniper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2011

Delightful house not far from town centre with lovely rooms, especially those with a veranda, and a host who makes everyone welcome. You arrive as a guest and leave as a friend. Guest facilities include free internet use, laundry and easy access to kitchen for cuppas night and day.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank patmcSunderland_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
1.1 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
0.7 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 93 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
2.3 mi away
B&B @ The Redwoods
B&B @ The Redwoods
#2 of 56 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Doolan's Country Retreat
1.1 mi away
Arista of Rotorua
Arista of Rotorua
#3 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
6.5 mi away
Country Villa
Country Villa
#6 of 56 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Robertson House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Robertson House

Property: Robertson House
Address: 70 Pererika Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Robertson House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An historic house only 2 minutes drive from city centre built by one of Rotorua’s forefathers in 1905 renovated retaining its colonial charm our friendly host will be happy to assist with information and bookings for Rotorua attractions. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing