We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Neat and tidy” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BK's Rotorua Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
BK's Rotorua Motor Lodge
Ranked #8 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Neat and tidy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

We got there early and they let us check in the rooms were tidy and very clean,close to shops,quiet location.the staff were very helpful we will be coming back to rotorua again and will stay here again.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Stephenjknipe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoriaB62, Owner at BK's Rotorua Motor Lodge, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you "Stephenjknipe" for taking the time to leave comments about your stay with us. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    122
    13
    2
    1
See reviews for
92
193
23
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

We arrived a little early,but we were able to access our room.It was very clean and tidy. The toilet bathroom was spotless and the information manual was full of great ideas.The owners were very helpful and gave us information about what is going on.It is situated near a mall which was great and the street is very quiet.
We stayed two nights and wish we could have extended it.Price wise very reasonable and the continental breakfast were enought to keep us going.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BGW060241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoriaB62, Owner at BK's Rotorua Motor Lodge, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Hello "BGW060241". Thank you for taking the time to post comments about your stay with us. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us while in rotorua and found our suites to your liking. Our cleaning staff do a great job when preparing the suites for the arriving guests. With so much to do in Rotorua a number of our guests wish they had longer with us, it is also nice to be able to set up base for three or four nights and not pack and unpack each night.
Thank You Dean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Te Awamutu, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

We booked a shh secret sale hotel in Rotorua and it happened to be BK's Rotorua Motor Lodge. We stayed in a double unit with a duo spa bath for two nights and we had complimentary breakfasts as well. We loved it. Dean was an excellent host. He gave us information and recommendations to what was available to do in the area. Made us feel very welcome. Our unit was spotless with all the comforts of home. Kitchen was well equipped with cutlery and dishes if you wished to cook and eat in. The spa bath was awesome to soak in after a long day of activities. Location was excellent with supermarkets and town within walking distance. Excellent value for money! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay! Hotel exceeded our expectations. Can't recommend it enough! We will definitely be staying again

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank awhinaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoriaB62, Owner at BK's Rotorua Motor Lodge, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you "awhinaP" for your review of your stay with us. From your review it sounds as though you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to your next visit. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

We recently had an extended stay at BK’s Motor Lodge. The motel was recommended to us by locals after I was hospitalised with a broken leg (beware of the advanced run on the Skyline Luge!) and needed somewhere to recuperate before flying home to England.
The rooms are spacious, clean and light with comfortable beds and pillows. The bathroom was ideal with wonderful water pressure in the shower. The wall mounted flat screen TV (with SkySports!) was ideal and the small cooker, microwave and fridge allowed us to eat in whenever we wished.
BK’s is superbly located with the two supermarkets and a food court just a short walk away and there is amble parking immediately outside the rooms. Rotorua’s tourist attractions are all within a few minutes drive and the lakeside is an easy walk.
BK’s owners, Dean and Debbie are extremely helpful and caring with nothing being too much trouble. Their desire to go the extra mile is what makes BK’s Motor Lodge special.
If you are looking for somewhere that is excellent value, clean, friendly and spacious then I can’t recommend BK’s highly enough.
Give it a try, it’s a bargain compared to some of the other big soulless accommodations available. We loved it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoriaB62, Owner at BK's Rotorua Motor Lodge, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you "Martin D" for taking the time to review your stay with us. We know its no fun being on holiday with a broken leg (Sky-larking on the Luge) but we are pleased we were able to make your stay as comfortable as possible and our mobility suites are well equiped. We were more than happy to take you out and about and the smile on your face while you were driving the red ferrari (mobility scooter) made the visit memorable. We all hope your leg is well on the mend and we will see you and your wife in the future. All the best. Dean, Debbie & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
121 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed here for two nights and we had requested a quiet room as I am very sensitive to noise .We were given a quite studio with spacious spa bath.The motel is very close to countdown supermarket and walking distance to city . Dean is such a wonderful host and has provided us with lots of information not only about Rotorua but other things we were interested in.Amongst all the motel owners we have met for our stay in NZ, we were really glad to meet such a gem of a person, Dean .He exceeded our expectations in making our stay memorable and comfortable .we got late while coming back from agrodome sheep show and we had to catch bus to auckland ..we were just in time to reach motel and Dean dragged our suitcases to shuttle bus as he knew we were already late .We loved the warm hospitality of Dean and the staff .The complimentary breakfast , complimentary internet were nice add ons provided..would definately recommend this motel to everyone and we would go back again ...a warm hospitality plus a comfortable apartment is a cheery on the cake ..Thank you Dean ..

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vimmy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoriaB62, Owner at BK's Rotorua Motor Lodge, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you "vimmyarora" for your review. I can see by your Trip Advisor profile that you are a seasoned traveller and for you to rate us so highly means a lot to us. We set ourselves high standards across our motel and it pleases us that it does not go unnoticed. Have fun planning your next trip ti Canada and Alaska. Once again thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

We were in an upstairs studio unit which was clean and comfortable. The chairs made a real difference as most motels you have to sit on the bed or on very uncomfortable chairs. It was very well laid out unit. The only slight criticism was not any fault of anybody other than other guests as we were in a unit which had a connecting door to the next unit and the occupants of the other unit did not know how to shut doors quietly they just let the slam constantly and spoke very loudly and had their tv on loudly - oblivious to other people! There have been previous comments on the cost of the laundry but it was very clearly explained that the $10 charge was for any laundry done during the whole of our stay! Wild definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank timslouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoriaB62, Owner at BK's Rotorua Motor Lodge, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you "timslouise" for taking the time to post a review of your stay with us. Yes our recliner chairs have proven to be very popular with our guests and they feature in numerous reviews. We will look forward to your next visit. Thank you. Dean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

stayed here for one night in the queen spa suite on the 23rd of march with my boyfriend. We arrived an hour early before check-in and was checked in by Dean with no problems at all(we even got a free breakfast).
As we had nothing planned Dean was more than happy to give us some suggestions of things to do and see.
The rooms were very spacious, bigger than a standard hotel room, had a mini kitchen so if you decided to stay in and cook you had everything there
, bed was super comfy after being out all day and the bathroom with the spa was very big and very clean! because this motor lodge is off the main road we didn't hear any traffic noise at all or noise from the other rooms the were occupied next to us. Thank you Dean for being very helpful and informative, we rally enjoyed our stay here and will definitely stay here again if we're ever in rotorua.
sent from my iPhone

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J738
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoriaB62, Owner at BK's Rotorua Motor Lodge, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you "JennyN1010" for your wonderful comments. All our studio suites are of a generous size and the spa bath is just great for a soak at the end of the day. We are more than happy for our guests to arrive early, if the room is ready we are happy for an early check in. We are more than happy to advise on the "what to do" in Rotorua. We also offer a complimentary reservation service. We will look forward to your next visit. Regards Dean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.3 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 93 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
0.7 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
0.5 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#14 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Arista Capri Motel
Arista Capri Motel
#5 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
0.1 mi away
RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua
0.7 mi away
Sport of Kings Motel
Sport of Kings Motel
#2 of 93 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BK's Rotorua Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BK's Rotorua Motor Lodge

Property: BK's Rotorua Motor Lodge
Address: 16 Victoria Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Rotorua
#8 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#9 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#12 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — BK's Rotorua Motor Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
B-K's Rotorua Motor Lodge, Qualmark rated 4 star plus is a modern 16 unit motel located in central Rotorua 100 meters from the town centre. One of Rotorua's newest motels all our units have extra insulation and hush glass making for quiet and modern units. Our units range from generous studios, one, two and three bedroom sleeping up to 7 guests. All our units have kitchens, recliner chairs, LCD TVs and some have duo spa baths. Local tours and attractions and be booked through reception and we are always happy to offer assistance on what to do in Rotorua. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your BK's Rotorua Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bk`s Rotorua Motor Hotel Rotorua
Bks Rotorua Hotel
Bks Rotorua Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing