We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very helpful hosts, and a high standard motel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BK's Rotorua Motor Lodge
Ranked #12 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Townsville, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Very helpful hosts, and a high standard motel”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

The room was fairly standard but comfortable. There was free (100Mb I think) and good high-speed internet. The motel is in a good location, and the host was very friendly and extremely helpful. I recommend BK's.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kpossum1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BKsRotorua, Owner at BK's Rotorua Motor Lodge, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Thank you "kpossum1" for your comments. Yes our rooms have everything required for a comfortable stay, they are generously sized with lazy boy chairs to recling in while watching TV. We have free WIFI available to all our guests allocated in lots of 100MB with further vouches available as required. We are always more than happy to assist our guests make the most of their stay in Rotorua with us by sharing our local knowledge with them. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    128
    14
    2
    2
See reviews for
95
207
25
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

Thought it was fantastic, very clean and comfortable, with everything you need. Good attention to detail can't fault the place at all. We needed a late check out due to car trouble, and our hosts were extremely helpful. Will definitely stay here again.

Stayed January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BKsRotorua, Owner at BK's Rotorua Motor Lodge, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Thank you "Kathy C" for your comments. The service technicians did a great job getting you back on the road so soon. We look forward to your next visit with time to stay longer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Booked a last minute trip to Rotorua and chose BK's because of the reviews here. I wasn't disappointed. Took my parents visiting from the UK, on their first trip to Rotorua. My father finds walking up stairs difficult and when I explained this on the phone to the motel, I was offered two ground floor studios with connecting doors. The rooms were immaculate, comfortable and spacious. The bathroom and kitchen area were absolutely spotless and equipped with everything you could need. The bed was very comfortable and the pillows lovely and soft. Lots of facilities nearby, supermarket, shops and places to eat. My parents were extremely impressed with the accommodation. The hosts were very friendly and gave us some great advice about which attractions to visit. I can highly recommend BK's as a base to explore the Rotorua area and wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DiB26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BKsRotorua, Owner at BK's Rotorua Motor Lodge, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you Dib26 for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and both youand your parents found our rooms very comfortable. The kitchens in all our units are well equiped, the bathrooms spacious and the recliner chairs comfortable

Our location is great, right across the road from Rotorua Central Shopping Centre and only a short walk through the Shopping Centre's food court to th main street of town and the local restaurants.

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and will welcome you back when you next visit rotorua.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here in October for 4 days - absolutely wonderful place to stay - close to the heart of Rotorua, walking distance to supermarket and mall. Very clean rooms and the spa was a great joy after days of walking tours. Dean was an excellent host with plenty of good advice about where to visit and came to my rescue in the night when my power went out. Travelling as a single female I felt very comfortable and safe at BK's Rotorua Motor Lodge. Thanks for a great stay and a great memory. Definitely will be back in the future.

Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Tracey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoriaB62, Owner at BK's Rotorua Motor Lodge, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Thank you Tracey for taking the time to review your stay with us. Yes our location is great, being one of the closest motels to Rotorua's Central Shopping Mall and an easy walk through the shopping mall's food court into the centre of town. There is plenty of things to do in and around town and we are more than happy to offer advise on the must do's given the time you have. By staying the number of nights you did you would probable have seen more than most who come to Rotorua. Have a merry christmas and stay cook in Queensland over summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Very comfortable, spacious, modern rooms with kitchen, bathroom, kitchen, dinning table and chairs, and lazy boy arm chairs. Across the road from a large supermarket and mall, and within close walking distance to the city centre, so great location. Rooms clean and daily housekeeping very good. Guest laundry on site, which was great as we stayed 5 nights so could do a couple of loads while we were there. Had a problem with noise from the guests directly upstairs one night - they were banging around until 1am and that was quite disturbing. Didn't find the hosts very friendly or welcoming. There were also a lot of information regarding charges, which I also found off putting eg no cooking curries, seafood in room or you will be charged, no smoking or allowing smoke to waft into rooms or you will be charged, if you soil the bedding you will be charged, loose your key and you will be charged etc - charges are all around $200.

Room Tip: I would choose an upstairs room to avoid noise coming from guests above
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwi-takes-flight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoriaB62, Owner at BK's Rotorua Motor Lodge, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Thank you for your comments. We are sorry we missed you and you found our minders slightly less than friendly. Previously we have had nothing but positive feedback about them. We were having a much needed break before the busy Christmas holidays start. We find regular holidays help us to keep smiling.

We take pride in presenting our units in their best possible condition to our guests. We are a smoke free Motel inside all our units (designated smoking areas outside) and have incorporated our "No Smoking" sign and "Please do not cook" sign to be noticed but un-obtrusive. We have guests from all nationalities who have wide and varied culinary tastes which as we all know can leave pungent lingering smells not liked by everyone. The costing advised in our guest compendium (based on an actual quote for a replacement lock and key) are a worst case scenario should we need to call someone in on a public holiday.

We appreciate you taking the time to read our guest compendium and value your feedback. We are sorry you may have found this information off putting, that was not our intention. It is our belief to be upfront with our guests and have no hidden costs. The information in our compendium is intended to be both informative and a deterrent, prevention is better than cure.

We ourselves have travelled extensively here in New Zealand and overseas and have found similar information in guest compendiums at a majority of establishments we have stayed in.

Wishing you and your family a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at BKs. We had a 2 bedroom which was very spacious, clean and well kept. Although located on the street, there wasn't a lot of noise. And, it was conveniently located across the street from a large grocery store and you could walk to the city centre. There was also easy access to get in and out of town by car. The owners were wonderful in terms of making suggestions on where to go and then making the arrangements on our behalf. We had a great time and would highly recommend BKs for your stay in Rotorua.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave - Terri J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoriaB62, Owner at BK's Rotorua Motor Lodge, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Thank you for your comments Dave & Terri. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Our motel was built with guest comfort in mind, both sound proofing and size of the rooms. We hope you enjoyed the time you spent in New Zealand and it won't be too long before you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky Mountain National Park, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Dean and Debbie, you made our 2 days stay into 4 days as we found you both very helpful and the room was vey cosy and clean, your cleaners do a fantastic job, we have informed all our friends and we will be back to stay again

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoriaB62, Owner at BK's Rotorua Motor Lodge, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Thank you Lisa M for your comments. With so much to do in Rotorua you need three days (four nights) to see whats on offer. Our cleaners do a great job, I have passed your comments on to them. We look forwards to seeing you again in the not too distant future. Stay safe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.3 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
706 reviews
0.6 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
185 reviews
0.7 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#18 of 92 in Rotorua
847 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sport of Kings Motel
Sport of Kings Motel
#2 of 92 in Rotorua
1,237 reviews
0.1 mi away
RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BK's Rotorua Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BK's Rotorua Motor Lodge

Property: BK's Rotorua Motor Lodge
Address: 16 Victoria Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Rotorua
#9 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#10 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#12 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — BK's Rotorua Motor Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
B-K's Rotorua Motor Lodge, Qualmark rated 4 star plus is a modern 16 unit motel located in central Rotorua 100 meters from the town centre. One of Rotorua's newest motels all our units have extra insulation and hush glass making for quiet and modern units. Our units range from generous studios, one, two and three bedroom sleeping up to 7 guests. All our units have kitchens, recliner chairs, LCD TVs and some have duo spa baths. Local tours and attractions and be booked through reception and we are always happy to offer assistance on what to do in Rotorua. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your BK's Rotorua Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bk`s Rotorua Motor Hotel Rotorua
Bks Rotorua Hotel
Bks Rotorua Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing