We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay, heaps of space”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BK's Rotorua Motor Lodge
Ranked #12 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 28, 2011

We booked here for four night and was worth it. The location was excellent within only a few walking mintues to town central. The staff were very nice and offered help with any booking needed.

The apartment was nice and had lots of space.
Great for the Family.
I would definately recommend this motor inn.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travellerdanni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (416)
There are newer reviews for BK's Rotorua Motor Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

360 - 366 of 416 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2011

Lovely clean Motel, very friendly, accommodating and helpful staff.

Room Tip: Helpful friendly staff will happily show you all available rooms, so you can choose the best for you
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarinWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2011

Stayed here for 3 nights. The owner has been very helpful in providing local information. You can skip the long line at the i-SITE (visitor) center, and just get the information from the owner. Plus, the owner can book many tours for you. He was able to get ~20% discount for the Tamaki dinner/show. Also there is a Jason booklet that has quite a few coupons for local activities too. I used them for Waiotapu geothermal, Mitai dinner show, Te Puio, Huka Jet, etc. for about 10% discount. I didn't check with the hotel owner on these, he may have a better discount from his on-line reservation system though.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cowboy2009Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2011

We received a lovely welcome from Gaylene, & she took us over to our room. We had been allocated the disabled room - not sure why - but we chose only to use its parking space for unloading & loading.

The main room was well furnished, in neutrals with navy. The bed was comfortable & we had an excellent nights sleep. There were 2 comfortable recliner armchairs & a small LCD TV. There were also 2 padded dining chairs & a small table. There was a ceiling fan which we used to cool us down.

The kitchen was nicely stocked. The wet bathroom was more than OK for wheelchair access. There were more than enough towels for us, but our only negative was that there wasn't a lot of places to hang them to dry, so we used the shower curtain rail. There also wasn't a lot of vanity space for our toiletries.

The hairdryer was a surprise - it was a Breville Sports (maybe these are popular, but was a first for me). It was powerful & compact, with no handle, but it didn't get too hot to hold.

BKs isn't too far from anything if you're on foot, but some places do need a car to get to.

When we arrived, we were worried that BKs was just across from a large shopping area, but there was no problem from noise or vehicles. In fact, Rotorua seemed to close down at 9pm! After a few drinks in the Pig & Whistle in the main street, we walked back to BKs, finding we (almost) had the town to ourselves!

Gaylene also had discount vouchers for various attractions & we used one for Te Puia, saving about 15%.

Nice place, & we'd stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StrayCat5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2011

Booked on line whilst already on holday in NZ and was very pleasantly surprised when we arrived to find how great the reception was. Whilst booking in we were informed of all that there was to see and do in and around Rotorua. We only stayed 2 nights but could quite happily stayed longer as the rooms where quite large and very comfortable. We opted for the full english breakfast that was delivered to the room and it did not disappoint. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnboy247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2011

Stayed here for two nights. Good central location and near enough to supermarket to get fresh bread for breakfast.

Room was clean and provided all the amenities necessary. Also had own spa bath.

Proprietor was very helpful and was able to provide discount vouchers to many of the events/places that we wanted to visit.

Probably one of the best motels that we used during our trip.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MalcolmSWokingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2011

I was sceptical about staying in a motor lodge, but the price and location suited us. I should not have worried, this motel was perfect. It was spacious, clean and fully functional. We travelled with an 11 month old and found the place to be very baby friendly. It was easy for our baby to crawl around the room etc., without us having to move anything out of his way. It was exceptionally clean and the water pressure for the shower was brilliant. I cannot reccomend this motel enough.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aadavix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.3 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
717 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
205 reviews
0.7 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#10 of 92 in Rotorua
435 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#17 of 92 in Rotorua
857 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sport of Kings Motel
Sport of Kings Motel
#2 of 92 in Rotorua
1,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BK's Rotorua Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BK's Rotorua Motor Lodge

Address: 16 Victoria Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Rotorua
#9 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#11 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#12 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range: $68 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — BK's Rotorua Motor Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
B-K's Rotorua Motor Lodge, Qualmark rated 4 star plus is a modern 16 unit motel located in central Rotorua 100 meters from the town centre. One of Rotorua's newest motels all our units have extra insulation and hush glass making for quiet and modern units. Our units range from generous studios, one, two and three bedroom sleeping up to 7 guests. All our units have kitchens, recliner chairs, LCD TVs and some have duo spa baths. Local tours and attractions and be booked through reception and we are always happy to offer assistance on what to do in Rotorua. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your BK's Rotorua Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bk`s Rotorua Motor Hotel Rotorua
Bks Rotorua Hotel
Bks Rotorua Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing