We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't argue with the price!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Crash Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Crash Palace
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Can't argue with the price!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2010

We stayed in a double room, which did come directly off the kitchen. this meant we could hear people coming and going but most people seemed quite respectful of this. The hosts were extremely friendly and keen to help organise any activities. The hostel is on the top side of the town near to the lake, but the whole area is very compact so everything is easily accessible. I'd recommend this as a budget option.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peachesandcream84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    115
    34
    11
    5
See reviews for
8
77
122
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
bristol, england
Level Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2010

This hostel is in an excellent location - close to all the shops and the lake.
The staff were very friendly and helpful and helped me book a couple of tours.
The room was very big and spacious but the beds were not that comfortable and were very squeaky!!!
It was a nice quiet hostel and the lounge and kitchen were clean and spacious.
There are 2 resident dogs and a cat so if you are not an animal lover this is not the hostel for you!
Overall a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimmerg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2010

They wanted my passport on arrival (which I refused to hand over) and I felt was totally unnecessary. The dorm room was ok but there were 4 sets of bunk beds and limited floor space for all the bags. I had a top bunk, but the ladder couldn't be used as it was up against the wall at the end of the bunk. getting up and down was awkward to say the least.. Ths showers and toilet facilities were ok. I didn't use the kitchen and didn't really notice how clean it was. i just didn't find the place very friendly although the guy on reception was certainly ok.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HarryLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oita, Japan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2010

My friend and I really enjoyed our stay here. We had a private room with ensuite. The room was huge! And we had our own kitchen area with a kettle, fridge and sink. It wasn't the fanciest of places, but it certainly was cheap! The bathroom was ok, sink was really small, the shower was great, but so dark! There was no light in there! The staff really make this place great, they are so friendly and relaxed and really knowledgable about the local area. There was loads of free parking, a decent sized kitchen, a big lounge area with TV and a hot tub outside on the deck. The hostel have a dog and cat, they are both really friendly and cute!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate83UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2010

Stayed in a dorm with friends, it was no frills but clean, tidy and secure. The hostel was quiet and spacious. There is a nice spa and outside area. In central Rotorua, close to most things, free roadside parking!

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annika81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2010

Really good service. Booked a rafting trip through the desk. Super cool and friendly kiwi "bro" on the desk who got us good rates. Good advice on spas as well. The place itself has it's own natural spa pool. Beers available, TV lounge, clean kitchens and comfortable rooms. Good rates and like minded laid back guests.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigRobbyP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
78 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 310 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2009

I stayed at this backpackers-type hostel July 4-6 2009.
Centrally located. Convenient to the Travel Centre which is also the Intercity/Newmans bus station, near the Maori Village Headquarters, the bath spa museum, etc. Plenty of souvenir shops & restaurants nearby as well as the Pak-N-Save supermarket.
I had the single room #18 upstairs. The bed was rather old & felt/sounded like a futon. Comfortable enough though the bare mattress & pillows had scary stains (You’re asked to remove sheets & turn them in along with your towel upon checkout.) Staff friendly & helpful with directions.
Hot tub out back. Right underneath some of the rooms (mine included) so those late-night/wee-morning dippers made me find my earplugs.
The kitchenette areas on both floors had a fridge & utensils to use/borrow and wash.
Decent to prepare foods and a dining room with plenty of tables to eat & chat with others. Also a separate lounge with TV on the ground floor.
This is a backpacker’s type hostel. People wanting to spend little money and/or meet lots of other travelers stay here. You have to have a sharing/opened mind. There will always be those who talk loudly in/outside their rooms, cook all kinds of foods, walk around with lead feet, get cheery as they watch TV, use the hot tub at all hours of the night, etc.
After 3 days in Rotorua, I walked all over, did & saw everything. I’d recommend this place for a stay if you’re looking to meet & hang out with others. Just bring your earplugs for when you’re ready for serious sleep. Reliable/helpful email communication before my arrival, the price, location, friendly staff of the hostel, and the great atmosphere of mostly cool people/travelers made for a good stay.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank funnychap24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.3 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 93 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
1.0 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
0.3 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#7 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
0.3 mi away
Princes Gate Hotel
Princes Gate Hotel
#39 of 93 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rock Solid Backpackers
Rock Solid Backpackers
#5 of 55 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crash Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crash Palace

Property: Crash Palace
Address: 1271 Hinemaru Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crash Palace 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crash Palace provides the cheapest Quality accommodation for backpackers, Groups and budget travelers. The 1930,s character building has deep funky colors throughout. New Zealand art fills almost every space and fresh New Zealand music sets the atmosphere for an enjoyable stay. Crash is conveniently located opposite the Millennium Hotel and within 5 mins walking distance of the Main Street, I site (bus stop), Government gardens, Blue baths, Polynesian spa, and Pac N save supermarket. With high-speed Wi-Fi Internet, Lockers, 2 Kitchens and dining areas, BBQ, Outdoor Courtyard, Spa Pool, Thermal heating, and friendly service. It's the perfect place to chill and unwind a little from your travels. We offer a range of free services, Pasta and rice tea & coffee a selection of herbs and spices. Also a Free Spaghetti bolignaise on Fridays in summer and pancakes for breakfast Sunday. The hostel is located within walking distance of Pac N save supermarket, Government Gardens, Blue Baths, Museum, Polynesian Spa Pools, Kuirau Thermal Park. You are right in the city close to Rotorua's pubs, bars and markets.Look foward to seeing you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crash Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing