We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Crash Palace
Nearby Hotels
$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ramada Resort Rotorua Marama(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
$157
$144
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$756
$558
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$133
$107
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$125
$106
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arista Capri Motel(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sport of Kings Motel(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
$100
$93
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Emerald Spa Motor Inn(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
$130
$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$455
$383
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$93
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (400)
Filter reviews
400 results
Traveler rating
215
123
41
12
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
215
123
41
12
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree pasta and ricefree pancakesmovie nighthot tubpub crawlfree wififree pool tablefree stuffcooking oilbeer pongsingle roomfantastic hostellaundry servicefree tea and coffeenew zealandcommunal areasmin walk
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
259 - 264 of 400 reviews
Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

This place definitely has a backpacker's feel to it all the way down to the messy kitchen and vomit on the toilet seats. It was quite busy the night we were there so that might have had something to do with it. The bed was OK but not a very homely feel to the place. It was fine for the money.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank spf3million
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crash1977, Owner at Crash Palace, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Cheers for letting us know someone had been sick in the toilet in your review it may have helped if you let one of our staff know when you were here so we could have cleaned it?? again with the messy kitchens ? i don't know what to do about it sorry unless we start to fine people for not doing dishes if guest use the kitchens they must clean up after themselves. our kitchens are cleaned morning and night. thanks for the review i will try to figure out what to do about the kitchens.. safe travels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

This hostel is in a good location close to a supermarket and bus stop. The German guy that checked us in was lovely and helpful but then it went downhill. The corridors were roasting hot but our room was an ice box. The kitchen downstairs and upstairs were tiny and very hard to get space to cook in them. The kitchen was dirty most of the time and only seemed to be cleaned once a week. The tea towels were wet and dirty. The fridge was overflowing and not clean. There was 2 dogs wandering around downstairs! There was only 2 female showers upstairs so had to queue each morning till 1 became available. Would not recommended staying here nearly the worst hostel we've stayed in after 8 weeks backpacking and staying in hostels. The hostel did give free pasta or rice which was a nice bonus.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helly2626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crash1977, Owner at Crash Palace, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

sorry you don't like our taste in music but it is far from Garage. reggae and dub is what gets played mostly maybe some funk. we are thermally heated and all rooms have heaters sorry you did not find the one in your room. I'm not sure what we can do about the kitchens i have people clean them in the morning and then again at night this is however other guest responsibility as well.
sorry our dogs offended you they are part of our family and we advertise we have them.
thanks for your review safe travels to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a week in o e of the private rooms. The room had an ensuite which we weren't expcecting so that was definitely good.
The staff were very nice and helpful though reception isn't open 24 hours. We even got a lift round to our bus stop when we were leaving.
The hostel has 2 kitchens and the upstairs one is definitely better. The downstairs kitchen is too small with too many people and nobody ever washes their dishes (though not the hostel's fault). The kitchens are well equipped though there's no oven. Guests are provided with free tea, coffee, rice, pasta and other things.
I wasn't too keen on staff doing my laundry for me - I just prefer doing it myself.
The outside seating area is really nice especially as we had great weather & the hot tub is an added bonus.
There's different evening activities on each night which give the place a good atmosphere and a chance to meet people.
We really like it & would go back.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katie-a-r-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crash1977, Owner at Crash Palace, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

thanks for taking the time to leave a review guys glad you had a great stay safe travels to the both of you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

This hostel is perfect for the younger travellers and people on their own, hot tub and decks with lots of funky artwork around the main area's. Not a huge hostel but an up and downstairs kitchen we only used the downstairs kitchen which wasn't massive and not well kept but clean enough to cook in! Our room was cool as it was a 10 bed but because of the shape of the room the 4 beds around the corner almost separated the area completely so you had your own space would definitely want to stay here again when I go back.

Room Tip: Like I said before the 10 bed is the biggest room but because of the shape of the room it almost feels like 2 separate areas so any room size will be good!
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stacey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crash1977, Owner at Crash Palace, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Its a fine balance between party and sleep :) we do like to create an atmosphere where people feel comfortable to talk with others and come down to play our evening games. This was the hostels i loved when i was traveling so i guess i have taken a little from everywhere and tried to mix it up here. 11pm is cut off time though for these activities ensuring those wanting to sleep or have early flights or buses are able to get a good night sleep. thanks so much for taking the time to leave a review safe travels to you !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

i have been recommend to stay there. it is the last place i have stayed for my four weeks traveling in new zealand. i really really loved there. i wont say it is the best facilities but everything just makes comfortable. the french canadian girl in reception was really helpful to book the tour for me and phoned so many different companies helping check the avilabiles. the friday night free bolognese spaghetti is just good and the free brownies were sooooooooooo yummy. after a free pool competition on saturday, we went for my last night out in NZ. everything was just so good. the free spa and the dj in lounge and very arty decoration.

Room Tip: the four bed dorm is really good but you may need ask for another blanket since nz is chilling during night now.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michmich0911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crash1977, Owner at Crash Palace, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

thanks so much for taking the time to leave a review. we rely on recommendations from other and would like to thank anyone who recommends us. have a great trip through the rest of the country safe travels to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews