We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would definitely go back.”
Review of Crash Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Crash Palace
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a week in o e of the private rooms. The room had an ensuite which we weren't expcecting so that was definitely good.
The staff were very nice and helpful though reception isn't open 24 hours. We even got a lift round to our bus stop when we were leaving.
The hostel has 2 kitchens and the upstairs one is definitely better. The downstairs kitchen is too small with too many people and nobody ever washes their dishes (though not the hostel's fault). The kitchens are well equipped though there's no oven. Guests are provided with free tea, coffee, rice, pasta and other things.
I wasn't too keen on staff doing my laundry for me - I just prefer doing it myself.
The outside seating area is really nice especially as we had great weather & the hot tub is an added bonus.
There's different evening activities on each night which give the place a good atmosphere and a chance to meet people.
We really like it & would go back.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katie-a-r-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crash1977, Owner at Crash Palace, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

thanks for taking the time to leave a review guys glad you had a great stay safe travels to the both of you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (388)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

251 - 257 of 389 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2013

This hostel is perfect for the younger travellers and people on their own, hot tub and decks with lots of funky artwork around the main area's. Not a huge hostel but an up and downstairs kitchen we only used the downstairs kitchen which wasn't massive and not well kept but clean enough to cook in! Our room was cool as it was a 10 bed but because of the shape of the room the 4 beds around the corner almost separated the area completely so you had your own space would definitely want to stay here again when I go back.

Room Tip: Like I said before the 10 bed is the biggest room but because of the shape of the room it almost fee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stacey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crash1977, Owner at Crash Palace, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Its a fine balance between party and sleep :) we do like to create an atmosphere where people feel comfortable to talk with others and come down to play our evening games. This was the hostels i loved when i was traveling so i guess i have taken a little from everywhere and tried to mix it up here. 11pm is cut off time though for these activities ensuring those wanting to sleep or have early flights or buses are able to get a good night sleep. thanks so much for taking the time to leave a review safe travels to you !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

i have been recommend to stay there. it is the last place i have stayed for my four weeks traveling in new zealand. i really really loved there. i wont say it is the best facilities but everything just makes comfortable. the french canadian girl in reception was really helpful to book the tour for me and phoned so many different companies helping check the avilabiles. the friday night free bolognese spaghetti is just good and the free brownies were sooooooooooo yummy. after a free pool competition on saturday, we went for my last night out in NZ. everything was just so good. the free spa and the dj in lounge and very arty decoration.

Room Tip: the four bed dorm is really good but you may need ask for another blanket since nz is chilling durin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michmich0911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crash1977, Owner at Crash Palace, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

thanks so much for taking the time to leave a review. we rely on recommendations from other and would like to thank anyone who recommends us. have a great trip through the rest of the country safe travels to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

It's been over a year now since I left crash palace, but I'm still think a lot about the good times I had.
If you're going to NZ, you have to travel to Rotorua and experience Crash Palace.
Sure it's a great hostel, but what makes it so special and unique are the people there. The staff is truly welcoming and friendly and helps you out with nearly everything, they give you tips like where to go to see some cool stuff for free or where you find free wifi. They are heart and soul of this place and make it feel like home.
Not to mention, that it's the cheapest hostel in Rotorua and theyre even having free dinner on fridays and free pancakes on sunday mornings, they have a hot tub, great deals for tourist attractions, of course clean rooms and bathrooms... and so on.
Guys really, if youranywhere near Rotorua go check out this awesome hostel!
You won't regret it.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JudithF1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crash1977, Owner at Crash Palace, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

And we remember you like it was yesterday doll thanks so much for your kind words my little family appreciate it. We would like to thank you for helping us through last summer you arrived as a stranger and left as part of our family and for this we are forever grateful to you. hope you are loving life and living your dream. love love your whanau at crash

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

I can honestly say. This is the best hostel I stayed I. My whole travels. The accommodation, staff, facilities and location within the town were all absolutely spot on. It's clean, warm and welcoming as well as extremely helpful with all day trip, activities and excursions. Would recommend to anyone who would like to stay a few nights at a friendly fun hostel with a chilled vibe to relax all.
Happy days.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crash1977, Owner at Crash Palace, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Our guest blow us away with reviews like this thanks so much for taking the time to leave a review we appreciate it. safe travels to you my friend hope you have a great trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

One of the nicest hostels I've stayed in during my 2 years of travel. The staff are great, it's clean, comfortable, cheap, ideally located, has a spa pool, free tea and coffee, and a cosy living room where folk can congregate, watch movies and play pool. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The 10 bed dorms have tonnes of space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WayneKelso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crash1977, Owner at Crash Palace, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Cheers for the kind words big fulla !! sorry you guys didn't win the refund during your stay. hope you have a great time in Taupo and beyond safe travels to you both.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed the hostel to some extent but wouldn't stay there again. Just was not the kind of hostel I was looking for. The owner is fairly nice, seems quite stern and emotionless when you first meet him but he was very friendly and knowledgable.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lilcoop12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crash1977, Owner at Crash Palace, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

thanks for your review mate sorry we were not what you were looking for hope you find it ? safe travels to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.4 mi away
YHA Rotorua
YHA Rotorua
#3 of 58 in Rotorua
408 reviews
0.3 mi away
Spa Lodge
Spa Lodge
#12 of 58 in Rotorua
74 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rock Solid Backpackers
Rock Solid Backpackers
#10 of 58 in Rotorua
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Cosy Cottage Thermal Holiday Park Rotorua
0.2 mi away
Rotorua Downtown Backpackers
3.2 mi away
All Seasons Holiday Park Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crash Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crash Palace

Address: 1271 Hinemaru Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 58 Specialty Lodging in Rotorua
Price Range: $28 - $55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Crash Palace 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crash Palace provides the cheapest Quality accommodation for backpackers, Groups and budget travelers. The 1930,s character building has deep funky colors throughout. New Zealand art fills almost every space and fresh New Zealand music sets the atmosphere for an enjoyable stay. Crash is conveniently located opposite the Millennium Hotel and within 5 mins walking distance of the Main Street, I site (bus stop), Government gardens, Blue baths, Polynesian spa, and Pac N save supermarket. With high-speed Wi-Fi Internet, Lockers, 2 Kitchens and dining areas, BBQ, Outdoor Courtyard, Spa Pool, Thermal heating, and friendly service. It's the perfect place to chill and unwind a little from your travels. We offer a range of free services, Pasta and rice tea & coffee a selection of herbs and spices. Also a Free Spaghetti bolignaise on Fridays in summer and pancakes for breakfast Sunday. The hostel is located within walking distance of Pac N save supermarket, Government Gardens, Blue Baths, Museum, Polynesian Spa Pools, Kuirau Thermal Park. You are right in the city close to Rotorua's pubs, bars and markets.Look foward to seeing you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Crash Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing