We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Crash Palace
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$126
$105
Novotel
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$115
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Ramada Resort Rotorua Marama(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
$155
$123
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$133
$128
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$123
$102
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cleveland Thermal Motel(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
$86
$79
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Prince's Gate Hotel(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
$75
$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Emerald Spa Motor Inn(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
$91
$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Braeside Rotorua(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
$93
$83
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$58
$56
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (401)
Filter reviews
401 results
Traveler rating
215
123
42
12
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
215
123
42
12
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree pasta and ricefree pancakesmovie nighthot tubpub crawlfree wififree pool tablefree stuffcooking oilbeer pongsingle roomfantastic hostellaundry servicefree tea and coffeenew zealandcommunal areasmin walk
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
276 - 281 of 401 reviews
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Chris was our host and he made us feel most welcome. The location was just down from the Polynesian Spa and the lakefront park. Very warm inside and the upstairs is locked after 10pm, so also very secure. A good layout and very tidy.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crash1977, Owner at Crash Palace, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

we appreciate your feedback thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Hope you had a great time riding in the redwoods and look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Stayed there in April 2013

Nice hostel near the Government Gardens as well as the Polynesian Spa, and only about 5 minutes away from the Rotorua I-site.
They have some lovely walks not too far away as well.

Crash Palace itself is well equipped with 2 kitchens on each level that are very nice for cooking. The toilets and bathrooms are ok as well.

I was staying in a 4 share female dorm that was quite nice, altrough the beds were a bit squeaky. Even though they have a DJ desk downstairs, you don't hear too much of it when the doors are closed.

Chris and Max were helpful, nice and could answer any questions we had (and we had a lot sometimes... :-) ) Thanks guys!
We got some discount vouchers for the Te Puia from them, which was really nice.

The lounge is comfy and they have a good movie selection, as well as a pool table there.

What's also very convenient is that New World is only about 3 minutes away, so really good for stocking up.

All in all, I'd definitely reommend this hostel!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank AllyBluNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crash1977, Owner at Crash Palace, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review we appreciate your kind words and a pleased you found our hostel a great place to stay. we want to wish you a safe trip through the rest of NZ and hope you find many more places like us. safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Friendly reception from Max. Wifi is cheap, but not free. You can get discount bookings on local attractions at the desk and save big. Sounds like they had a real party going on downstairs (they had a DJ's desk in the lobby area!) but my room seemed fairly sound proof. Some hostels provide towels for single rooms, they didn't, but I didn't ask either.

Room Tip: rooms thru the east door from the staircase are away from the bathrooms and kitchen and not above the DJ equipment, so they will be quieter. I had room 7.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crash1977, Owner at Crash Palace, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Wifi is free when booking through certain sites as they cover the cost of this for us. I am going to look into putting towels in the single and double rooms thanks for the suggestion. hope you have a great trip through NZ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here for 3 nights in February 2013. This is a well equipped, fairly large hostel with great outside space out back for barbecues, and general relaxing in good weather. There are 2 main kitchens with the usual facilities, my only complaint is that people seemed to neglect to wash up after themselves and leave dishes in the sink - but the staff seem to sort this during daily servicing. Reception is also a bar, which sells cheap(ish) beer. However this means you can't consume your own alcohol while this is open (to 10pm). Noise levels were fairly low and we had good sleep through our stay. There were a set of DJ decks, mostly playing reggae and dub at low volume during the day, which was a nice touch. The hostel can get really good discounts on the Mitai Maori Village trip (history, hangi feast etc), so would recommend booking here. There were also other excursions and activities organised by the hostel. Rotorua is a fun place to spend a few days, I would recommend doing the city walk through the local geothermal activity (free), then maybe head to Hot and Cold River for a dip (c.25k south). Rotorua has a strong, eggy aroma due to the sulphur, so bear that in mind!

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Dave L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crash1977, Owner at Crash Palace, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Sounds like you got the best out of Rotorua mate so glad we could help you with your travel and activity plans at our discounted rates and directions to the free hot spots makes for a nice saving when your on a budget !! enjoy your travels..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

l have stayed at three hostels while in Nz .The Crash Palace was great it had everything very clean well fitted out kitchen .longe was comforatable large tv for wet days .Pool table good living space,bedrooms quite roomy and white sheets l love clean white sheets .l had a mishap with missing a bus l went back to the crash palace and asked if l could hang a few hours .l was left with a warm feeling l will go back again and stay at the palace any time.
Julie D
Melbourne Australia

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crash1977, Owner at Crash Palace, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

We appreciate the kind words thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review hope you had a safe trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews