We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot in Rotorua”
Review of Crash Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Crash Palace
Certificate of Excellence
colorado
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great spot in Rotorua”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

I was only there one night, but I enjoyed the atmosphere while staying at Crash Palace. Friendly staff and laid back vibe. Back patio was nice spot to chill as well. Only downside is you cant bring in your own alcohol while the front desk/bar is open. Wish I could have stayed longer though

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cotraveler82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crash1977, Owner at Crash Palace, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
thanks for the review mate hope you had a great trip around NZ look forward to your return some day. safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    115
    34
    11
    5
See reviews for
8
78
126
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012

me and my friends were staying at this very nice backpackers. i slept in a twin room with another friend, and 3 other friends in dorms. one of my friends, after paying 23$ for a dorm bed, found himself SLEEPING ON THE COUCH at night because his bed was taken while we were in the common area! now staff member were to be found or reached!!!
at morning when addressing the clerk - Chriss Wood if my memory serves me well - MY FRIEND WAS ACTUALLY BLAMED FOR THIS INCIDENCE!!
not only spending good 23 good nzd for sleeping on a sofa, but also get blamed for it - sorry sir but i don't appreciate this kind of attitude.

part from this unfortunate incidence - a really nice place. very clean and tidy, space-full, good atmosphere, great facilities. sadly for me and my friends this incidence and especially the way the staff dealt with it - kinda ruined the good impression of the place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crashpalace, Owner at Crash Palace, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Mr Sharon. Your friend was asked when he checked in to check that there was a bed free in the room as we thought someone had extended their stay without informing us... When he returned he told us yes there was a bed and it was free....... He was not blamed for this miss understanding and he was refunded for his stay in the morning the fact that you proceeded to make such a big deal out of a small mistake by myself meant I also asked you to leave the hostel. had your attitude been a little different we may have been more accommodating. we would stil like to wish you a safe journey through NZ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Having read all the other reviews I've concluded we just went on an off day as the place is absolutely fine, has some cool character about it and clean rooms, but we felt a cold atmosphere from check in, almost like we were a bit of a hassle. However, location is spot on, it's clean, reasonable price bar and decent rooms so would recommend to friends visiting Rotorua.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Zebraclark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crashpalace, Owner at Crash Palace, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thanks for you review i can not be here 24 hours a day to monitor what is going on here so i do use the reviews to gauge customer feedback. i am working with my staff now to ensure all customers get the same experience. I am a little disappointed you felt you were a hassle and can assure you it was not the intention of the staff to make you feel this way. like you say some people just have off days. thanks for taking the time to bring this to my attention hope you have a great Christmas and a safe new year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orebro, Sweden
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Was there together with my daughter in the beginning of november 2012. The people working there are really greate and helpful. The atmosphere was greate also the kitchen and togetherspaces. Really rekommend it if you are going to Rotorua.

Room Tip: We rented a Twinroom and it had a bunkbed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pia511030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crashpalace, Owner at Crash Palace, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
thank you we are stoked that you found the palace to be a feel good place and the is our intentions to make people feel good and get the most out of their stay in Rotorua. have a great trip and merry Xmas..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed November 22, 2012

This place is the most awesome hostel I have stayed in so far. It's clean, recently renovated has great kitchen facilities and has a hot pool. And you can tell the place was decorated with lots of dedication and energy. CHeck out the beautiful paintings all over the place. But the best thing is the welcoming atmopshere there. The moment yopu enter the room you get caught up by the chilled out but fun vibe and the good tunes. The staff made an important contribution on my stay by not only saving me quite some money with giving me their advise on cool stuff to do but also directed me to really nice places. You'll meet really great people among both the guests and the staff. Feel just like beeing among friends and having a good time

Room Tip: even the dorm rooms have enough space for finding some privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crashpalace, Owner at Crash Palace, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
well i am not sure what to say in reply to your review except thank you so so much for saying such kind things about our hostel. Reviews like this make my day, all the effort we put into our hostel worth it!! safe travels and we want to wish you a merry Christmas and a happy new year for the festive season. bless :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed November 20, 2012

This was by far the best hostel I have stayed in in New Zealand. It has been recently refurbished and is very clean and had excellent facilities. The owner and manager Chris is extremely helpful with booking excursions and always present. I stayed there twice during my time in the country and found the same atmosphere and service.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank E2Scotton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crashpalace, Owner at Crash Palace, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words Emma we are truly great full you took the time to let us and others know about your experience at crash palace and we thoroughly enjoyed meeting you. we want to wish you a merry Christmas and a happy new year as we head into the festive season and hope you have a great 2013. safe travels doll :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
Reviewed October 30, 2012

I have stay 4 monats in crash Palace. This hostel is very cool and Chris and Paul are very friendly. The rooms are good and cleans. They have make the rooms new. They have evry day a special for the guest andt he tour with Paul was very good. This Hosstel is the best in NZ.
When I go for holidays back to NZ I come back in this very nice Hostel....

Sabrina

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sabrina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crashpalace, Owner at Crash Palace, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Hey Sabrina how are you I hope you had a great trip through NZ and have made it home safe. Thanks for taking the time to leave a review it means a lot to us we def hope to see you return to NZ and crash palace . thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.3 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
689 reviews
0.0 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
0.3 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
0.5 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
0.2 mi away
Rock Solid Backpackers
Rock Solid Backpackers
#14 of 57 in Rotorua
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crash Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crash Palace

Property: Crash Palace
Address: 1271 Hinemaru Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 57 Specialty Lodging in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crash Palace 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crash Palace provides the cheapest Quality accommodation for backpackers, Groups and budget travelers. The 1930,s character building has deep funky colors throughout. New Zealand art fills almost every space and fresh New Zealand music sets the atmosphere for an enjoyable stay. Crash is conveniently located opposite the Millennium Hotel and within 5 mins walking distance of the Main Street, I site (bus stop), Government gardens, Blue baths, Polynesian spa, and Pac N save supermarket. With high-speed Wi-Fi Internet, Lockers, 2 Kitchens and dining areas, BBQ, Outdoor Courtyard, Spa Pool, Thermal heating, and friendly service. It's the perfect place to chill and unwind a little from your travels. We offer a range of free services, Pasta and rice tea & coffee a selection of herbs and spices. Also a Free Spaghetti bolignaise on Fridays in summer and pancakes for breakfast Sunday. The hostel is located within walking distance of Pac N save supermarket, Government Gardens, Blue Baths, Museum, Polynesian Spa Pools, Kuirau Thermal Park. You are right in the city close to Rotorua's pubs, bars and markets.Look foward to seeing you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your Crash Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing