We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crash knows his stuff”
Review of Crash Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Crash Palace
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Crash knows his stuff”
Reviewed December 3, 2011

Found this place through Hostelworld but booked through the CP website. Was a little unsure of the place before I got there as i recieved no email confirmation of my booking and the girl on the phone, whilst trying to be helpful, didn't know how to access the accounts information. However Chris (owner) assured me that everything was in order and I should turn up as planned for my room.

Well, I have to say I am extremely fortunate to have stumbled across the place. Somehow it achieves a perfect balance between relaxed vibe, backpackers and some kind of bohemian hotel.

Having read a previous review on trip advisor about cleanliness being poor, I am happy to say that this is clearly no longer the case at CP. The entire kitchen and social areas were spotless by 10am every day, the floor was washed, and clean towels and bathmats in each shower and toilet every day. The dorm floor (room 2) was dust-free and had no problem keeping all of my stuff on the floor or sitting on it. In addition, not an ant in sight.

Chris is linked to all the local activities in the community and got me a discounted price, as well as booking me for White water rafting and Maeori village experience, both of which were extremely enjoyable and I would recommend to all. All this was done within about five minutes of me entering the hostel! Chris was also extremely helpful with directions and other advice about the local area. He also employs backpackers to work in the hostel which gives the place a family feel. Sometimes they appeared a little out of their depth when dealing with enquiries but they were extremely nice and made up for it by being personable.

There is free parking 24hours a day, free rice, pasta and herbs, free tea and coffee, free hot-tub usage, free barbeque fridays, free dvd catalogue, 1 dollar pool table and lots of sofas. There's an option for breakfast cereal/milk for $2 a day. There are loads of showers and toilets. If I had two minor gripes it would be the price of Global Gossip internet, and the price of the vending machine ($2.40 for a snickers and poor selection), however these are relatively minor things which I'm writing so that you know I don't work for Crash!

Overall massively positive experience, made loads of new friends here that I'll stay in contact with, nice family atmosphere to the hostel but still reasonable about having fun(we stayed up til 3am one night in the social area chatting and nobody complained). Have already recommended the place to a couple of people coming to Rotorua. Can't see how you'd find a better place to stay for a few nights in Rotorua with the qualities of Crash Palace.

Room Tip: Call Chris and he'll talk through the options. Room 2 (6 bed mixed) was just right for me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    117
    34
    11
    5
See reviews for
8
81
126
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Taupo, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2011

I had a great stay, so much so that I have returned X3. The Staff are friendly and helpful, organising activities, transport etc and offering great deals. The hostel was really clean and tidy with a cool urban feel with incense sticks and great music.

Crash has great offers itself - free bbq on Fri and free pancakes on Sun,

Hostel is in a great location from the local supermarket and town- and must do place to stay in Rotoura.

Room Tip: I have stayed in room 8 the last 3 times and it has always been nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jordana87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2011

Very helpful and nice people! I lost my camera there and they contacted me and mailed it back right away. Were very understanding and flexible. So great! A really nice hostel! :D

Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Laura V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

We had a long wait when we tried to check in as noone was on reception and even though we signalled for some help it took ages to get some. The double room we had was right at the end of the hostel so nice and quiet but we had some bad rain and the room quickly became damp and gained some wet patches due to leaks somewhere.
Bathrooms were ok, kitchens ok both upstairs and downstairs but very annoying that you cant eat or drink in the rooms. Your not allowed to drink your own alcohol either, only the alcohol sold by the hostel but it takes too long to get any service that you wouldnt bother.
When we asked to watch the TV we were eventually shown how to switch it on (no batteries in remote and unplugged somewhere) but not shown how to change to SkyTV as he had wandered off again.
There is a hot tub you can jump into if you fancy and its a good distance to town and Pac n Save.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fruitloopy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Staying over a quite period in Rotorua, this hostel is more like staying in a friendly house rather than accommodation. Well located, well heated by geothermal heating, a great lounge, dining room and kitchen, and a reception staff who are absolutely linked into the local area (to provide excellent recommendations on food, attractions, and onward travels). Couldn't say enough good about this place, and I have stayed at hostels around the world. The only thing I would say is the beds a very very soft, so if your staying in a dorm room, check out all the free beds to make sure your comfortable.

Room Tip: If your after a single private room i had room 4 next to reception, which was very spacious and had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tgord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 25, 2011

Only in Roto for 2 nights and talked the others in staying in a Kiwi Backpackers, no regrets Help desk was helpful, put us onto good ativities & bar, close to town, went on Raft It with a few others, first time white water and great guides, good time around, I recommend it

Room Tip: Just got a dorm, all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CouperStone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2011

We stayed 4 nights here.

Good points: Great staff, free rice and pasta every day, cheap, decent lounge area / selection of films / pool table, free BBQ usage, free spa, good location, very sweet dogs and cat that live there, and if you're on a budget like us there was a great list of 'free things to do' which was very useful.

Unfortunately I fell pretty ill during our stay so was unable to enjoy a lot of those things, so I will say,

Bad points: dreadful hygiene, our room can't have had a hoover round it for months, clothes that had been on the floor were covered in dust, the cutlery holder in the kitchen was quite disgusting, there were ants everywhere, bathroom, rooms, kitchen, all over the cutlery and cookers, did mention the problem but seemed it was only a half hearted attempt to rid of them, it is a real problem, I know how difficult it is to eradicate them completely. My suitcase was infested with them after picking up ants on my clothes from being in the bathroom. There was an insecticide block left right on the hobs, which was grubby, it was ineffective and probably not the safest way to get rid of ants from a kitchen. Obviously the hostel can't control how people conduct them selves, but on several occasions people used the kitchen sinks to wash their hands after being to the loo, and on several occasions people honked up in the kitchen sinks, which is obviously where you need to do your washing up. The kitchen is cleaned and towels changed just once a day, so you have sodden tea towels all day by the time a few people have washed their things.

I'm not someone who complains, or is fussy about accommodation, but I think hygiene is extremely important, especially in a hostel, and this is the only thing this hostel lacks.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JDM637
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.3 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
696 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#4 of 92 in Rotorua
171 reviews
0.0 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
0.4 mi away
YHA Rotorua
YHA Rotorua
#5 of 58 in Rotorua
385 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rock Solid Backpackers
Rock Solid Backpackers
#12 of 58 in Rotorua
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crash Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crash Palace

Property: Crash Palace
Address: 1271 Hinemaru Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 58 Specialty Lodging in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crash Palace 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crash Palace provides the cheapest Quality accommodation for backpackers, Groups and budget travelers. The 1930,s character building has deep funky colors throughout. New Zealand art fills almost every space and fresh New Zealand music sets the atmosphere for an enjoyable stay. Crash is conveniently located opposite the Millennium Hotel and within 5 mins walking distance of the Main Street, I site (bus stop), Government gardens, Blue baths, Polynesian spa, and Pac N save supermarket. With high-speed Wi-Fi Internet, Lockers, 2 Kitchens and dining areas, BBQ, Outdoor Courtyard, Spa Pool, Thermal heating, and friendly service. It's the perfect place to chill and unwind a little from your travels. We offer a range of free services, Pasta and rice tea & coffee a selection of herbs and spices. Also a Free Spaghetti bolignaise on Fridays in summer and pancakes for breakfast Sunday. The hostel is located within walking distance of Pac N save supermarket, Government Gardens, Blue Baths, Museum, Polynesian Spa Pools, Kuirau Thermal Park. You are right in the city close to Rotorua's pubs, bars and markets.Look foward to seeing you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, HostelWorld and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crash Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing