We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highlight of Our Honeymoon”
Review of Hamurana Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hamurana Lodge
Ranked #16 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 18, 2010

Hamurana Lodge was far superior to any other hotel we visited while in New Zealand - even ones that were more expensive. I cannot say enough good things about this lodge. The hosts were friendly and perfectly attentive, not that you would expect anything less from two former Four Seasons executives. The suite was large, spacious, clean, quiet, and had a spectacular bathroom with every possible amenity. The gardens were beautiful and included livestock, flowers, herbs, and fish ponds.

The restaurant is fantastic and every dish we ate included something from the hotel's herb and vegetable garden. The term restaurant is not really sufficient, though; it is more like a private dining experience with a personal waitstaff.

My wife and I compared every other hotel in New Zealand to Hamurana Lodge, and none of them measured up. We still talk about our stay there and how much we enjoyed it. I recommend you stay at least two nights, four or five would be ideal.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wilrf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamuranal, Owner Host at Hamurana Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2010

Kia Ora, a real pleasure to know you had a fabulous honeymoon in NZ, we are delighted you chose Hamurana Lodge to be part of this special trip and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit - warm wishes Fred

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (408)
There are newer reviews for Hamurana Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

345 - 351 of 408 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2010

Our stay was two nights of relaxing and peaceful luxury - money well spent.

The staff were professional and friendly throughout our stay - additionally, and more importantly, the Hamurana Lodge staff were warm and genuine. As guests, we felt that the staff were keen to ensure we had an excellent stay and any request was tended to immediately. The service was exceptional - both room service and by the bar, the staff were interested in our holiday plans, and keen to see us make the most of the time we had.

The grounds were amazing, and the facilities available were top notch. The fitness centre was well equiped offered a complete workout.

Entertainment - a full size pool table was available in the bar area. The bar is a warm and inviting space where we were able to fully relax and enjoy the pool, or a conversation. The lodge is also fitted with a Nintendo Wii which provides great entertainment for those keen to try their skills.

Breakfast provided by the lodge is a must. A french breakfast with fresh bread and pastries sets you up for the day.

Dinner at the lodge restaurant was brilliant, great service and amazing high quality meals. Well worth it.

Overall a fantastic stay in a premium five star lodge. Service is a credit to the management, I would enjoy a further stay at the Hamurana Lodge and recommend a stay here to anyone looking for a weekend escape, or a special trip away.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmmaMikEc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2010

I wish we had been able to stay longer. Fred is a top quality host and incredibly attentive. The lodge is extremely well equipped and maintained and it would have been nice to have more time to enjoy its facilities to the full. It provides an excellent and restful base for exploring the Rotorua area.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Byron28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2010

My Husband has echoed these Words every Morning around the House since our Return form Hamurana Lodge , Oh those Fresh Pastries !
Dinner in the very Tastfully decorated restuarant was superb , enough to rival our Favourite restuarant in Melbourne and so very reasonably Priced !
Every Detail of our Stay so wonderfully timed and presented , from the Iced Champagne on arrival back from various Day Trips , to the Sweet Dream Messages , Fresh Cut Flower and Chocolates greeting us after Dinner .
Alex and Fred always with a Tentative Smile , both could have not done more to make our 5 night Stay more enjoyable and Relaxing .
The only Problem we had was that when we invited Family and Friends over for Drinks nobody wanted to leave .......we can certainly understand why ........such beautiful surroundings and amazing service .
We will certainly recommend Hamurana Lodge to Family and Friends and most certainly find an excuse to Return ourselves .......Thank you Fred and Alex
Mark and Ricky XOX

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarkyMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2010

From the minute we pulled up the friendly staff were exceptional and went out of their way to make our stay one to remember.
We stayed on a Monday night so missed sampling the cuisine from the on-site restaurant but the staff were very helpful in recommending an alternative restaurant. They even downloaded their menu and made the booking for us. The pre dinner canapés were top notch and had salmon added as soon as they discovered my wife was a fan.
The room was spacious, comfortable and tastefully furnished.
Breakfast the next morning in the on-site restaurant consisted of warm pastries and a tasty continental buffet all eaten in wonderful sunlight with a picturesque view to match.
I would absolutely recommend Hamurana Lodge.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiwitriathletes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2010

From the moment we arrived we were picked up by a beautiful Rolls and delivered to this home away from home lodge. The entire place was majestic from the front yard (with beautiful animals), to the dinning area and fireplace. The hosts Alex and Fred are warm, bright, eager to engage and absolutely delightful (as well as very handsome). The food is beyond. We highly recommend a visit to replenish your soul as well as your taste palette. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ConniRobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2010

Fred provided fantastic hospitality. Warm, caring & yet extremely professional at the same time.

A lovely property located in a rural setting with beautiful views. The room was comfortable and we felt Fred went out of his way to ensure our toddler was also content.

The restaurant provided a relaxing atmosphere and the food delectable.

Would certainly return to Hamurana Lodge in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Starlet_Auckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
6.8 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
717 reviews
6.5 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
4.6 mi away
Peppers on the Point - Lake Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Treetops Lodge & Estate
Treetops Lodge & Estate
#42 of 92 in Rotorua
184 reviews
6.6 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
205 reviews
6.9 mi away
Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamurana Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamurana Lodge

Address: 415 Hamurana Road | RD7, Rotorua 3097, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range: $152 - $415 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hamurana Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for luxury hotel accommodation Hamurana Lodge in Rotorua, New Zealand (NZ) offers executive suites along with a variety of special hotel packages for your holiday / vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hamurana Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing