We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hamurana Lodge
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$126
$105
Novotel
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$115
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$133
$129
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$123
$102
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sport of Kings Motel(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
$98
$91
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cleveland Thermal Motel(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
$86
$79
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Prince's Gate Hotel(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
$200
$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Braeside Rotorua(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
$93
$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$58
$56
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Alpin Motel and Conference Centre(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
$62
$57
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (436)
Filter reviews
436 results
Traveler rating
372
48
11
3
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
372
48
11
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnespresso machinenew zealandwarm croissantscountry estatelong drivewayheated floorsbeautiful propertyour honeymoonboutique hotelrotorua towna wonderful staylovely roomshort drivetwo nightstwo night staypatrickmerlin
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
148 - 153 of 436 reviews
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Hamurana Lodge is a lovely boutique hotel slightly removed from town. We arrived after our long flight from the U.S. and subsequent 2 hour drive to find a very welcoming manager in Patrick. He met us outside on the stairs, carried our luggage, offered us a cool drink and showed us to our well-appointed room and had a lovely view of the lake. This was our first impression of New Zealand and provided a wonderful start to our vacation. Patrick was very knowledgeable and helpful with tourism needs and he was extremely professional at all times (always available but never intrusive). He elevates Hamurana from a quaint and enjoyable hotel to a 5 star accommodation. Thank you, Patrick!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LisaMullarky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick_Gao, Manager at Hamurana Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2014

Kia Ora Lisa, it's great to hear from you! Rotorua has a lot to offer, from geothermal landscapes, Maori culture, to adrenaline activities, the list goes on and on. However this city is often overlooked by many travelers. My goal is to find the right sights and the right activities for our guests and I'm very happy to hear that you liked what Rotorua had to offer. We look forward to hosting you again in the near future and let you experience more of Rotorua.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014

I spent 5 days in this fabulous location after a trip to the South Island, and I can tell this was the most charming hotel I have been. Rooms are cosy and warmly decorated, the spa and the heated floor in the bathroom gives it a distinctive feature, and breakfast is generous, served in a lovely room with a great vista of the garden.
The staff here is the highlight. They were after every single inquiry and arranged tours around Rotorua, which is a central place with lots of attractions to see.
I would definitely return.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LauraLaLoca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick_Gao, Manager at Hamurana Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2014

Hi Laura, thank you very much for your review. We are glad that you liked our rooms, facilities and our service. We look forward to your return. Warmest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

What a lovely stay for just one night at this beautiful lodge - greeted at the drive, had bags carried to my room, a beautiful share mezze platter, lovely room, heated floors - can't wait to stay here again for leisure rather than business.

Room Tip: Large rooms, lots of space, Occitane products, just beautiful
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maddie1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick_Gao, Manager at Hamurana Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

Thank you Maddie for sharing your experience, you have included the most popular features of Hamurana Lodge in your review. We will be pleased to host you again on a more relaxed occasion to let you unwind and forget about work :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2014

We had a delightful one night stay for a special occasion. The welcome and hospitality was extra special, the room met all expectations and was beautifully presented, and the Continental style breakfast was of a very high standard with a great range to choose from.. All in all we would find it hard to fault our experience.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick_Gao, Manager at Hamurana Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

Kia Ora Richard, It's our pleasure to host you on your special day and we are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope you enjoyed the queen's birthday long weekend and we look forward to welcoming you again. warmest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2014

From the initial booking, with lots of help to organise trips, to returning left items after our visit, the staff were remarkable.
We never wonted for attention, were offered Tea/Coffee, assistance and casual conversation at just the right amounts throughout our four night stay. Excellent, thank you for making our visit to Rotorua all the more enjoyable.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaimeinMoray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick_Gao, Manager at Hamurana Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2014

Hi Jaime, glad to hear that the phone charger has reunited with you. It was our pleasure to have you and your family stayed with us. Glad that you had a chance to enjoy Rotorua in its busy days, the around the lake marathon is held here every year, hope to see you all again next year. Warmest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews