We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hamurana Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hamurana Lodge
Ranked #16 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

My wife and I stayed at HL for one night while visiting Rotorua from Auckland. The Lodge is on a beautiful estate property that overlooks the lake. It's about 15 minutes from Rotorua and 5 minutes from another little town whose name escapes me. It was also close to Hamurana Springs (3min drive east of Lodge on same road) which is a nice nature hike (free) and interesting to see.

We were given a suite which was spacious, clean, and overlooked the lake. The room was quiet and the surrounding area lends to tranquility. The beds were comfortable and continental breakfast (only option, but included in stay) was very nice and offered a nice selection if breads, cereals, jams, smoked salmon, cold cuts, etc. All and all I'd definitely stay here again and recommend it to travelers. Some of the motels we drove by in Downtown Rotorua don't even come close to this place. It's worth the short drive to stay here in my opinion.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelin4fun22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fred n, General Manager at Hamurana Lodge, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you so much for your message. It was great meeting you both and letting you indulge in the lodge while away from the big city. Our local little villa is Ngongotaha :) Trust you will return soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    42
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
52
268
16
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

From the moment we drove into the gates of this amazing property we knew we were in for something special. Greeted at the door by Pattrick and led up the stairs into a magical building. We were treated like royalty, we we also given a complimentry room upgrade to the massive suite overlooking lake views. Our every need was attended to, breakfast in the front room was very special indeed. Make sure you ask Patrick for directions to the local spring it is stunning. Highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GForbez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fred n, General Manager at Hamurana Lodge, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thanks a million for your shared feedback. Pleasure for Patrick and the team to host you and let you enjoy a ''royalty moment' :) - Indeed the local springs is our little hideaway; Hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

Thank you to Patrick and the team for a delightful stay. The service was first class from the moment we pulled into the driveway. We spent our last 2 nights in New Zealand here and it capped off a wonderful week. Thanks to Patrick and the team for making it such a memorable occasion.

Room Tip: The rooms on the east have magnificent morning views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fred n, General Manager at Hamurana Lodge, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Many thanks Andrew for your lovely feedback. Pleasure that you enjoyed our services, and the dedication our team puts into it for the enjoyment of our guests. Return to visit soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

Thank you to Patrick and team for a wonderful stay. We could not fault the service from the moment we were greeted at the front door, to having coffee served in our room, and having the fire lit for us for drinks in front of the fireplace every night. The staff were friendly and helpful, while affording us privacy at the right time. We'd been so used to the cool, efficient service at modern international establishments so it's great to be reminded again what good, old-fashion service and warm hospitality was about.

The suite we stayed in had French doors opening out to a balcony with expansive views of the property and the lake beyond. The bathroom was a bit dated but adequate. The French baked breakfast was nice but would've been better with cooked options such as bacon and eggs. The property itself is an easy 15 minutes drive from Rotorua (or Hells Gate in the other direction) and I'm glad we chose to stay at a quiet, secluded property rather than in the midst of all the hustle and bustle.

It was fun interacting with the resident animals too. They were eager to make our acquaintance, and we even crossed paths with an elusive rabbit at different parts of the grounds. We were glad we stayed for two nights so we could relax with a game of pool or chess after drinks in front of the warm fire. It was like a home away from home.

Room Tip: Arrive early in the afternoon so you have ample time to enjoy the grounds and the friendly residents...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lollishop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fred n, General Manager at Hamurana Lodge, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thanks for the message and feedback. Great tip about arriving earlier to enjoy the grounds and the wonderful resident animals around - they are a pure delight on a daily basis. Fire in the evening and relaxing breakfasts sounds like it was indeed a great holiday. See you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
73 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on our last night in New Zealand, and it looks like several other people did the same thing according to these reviews...and we all seem to say the same thing: we regret only planning one night here! It is awesome. The rooms are very nice, old feel with all the modern amenities. We ordered one of the cheese platters...it's $95 NZD and worth every penny. Huge and delicious. The animals around the grounds are neat to look at, and I think the donkey and I are buddies now after he ran over to me and I scratched his head. This place sends us off on a great memory, especially since the last thing in our minds is the croissants we ate at breakfast!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cdbasu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fred n, General Manager at Hamurana Lodge, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Croissants, Merlin the donkey and the fabulous platters are all waiting for your next visit :) Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. Pleasure having you stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston TX
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We had an excellent experience. The lodge has a nice B&B feel, and the staff were all extremely accommodating. Patrick was outside to greet us every evening upon our return, which made our stay that much nicer. We would definitely stay here again, and highly recommend to others.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GEMWorking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fred n, General Manager at Hamurana Lodge, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Cheers for your lovely feedback - pleasure our attention to service and added little extras made the difference in your stay and we look forward to welcoming you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

Stayed here for a night only but everything is perfect. The dining lounge, the living room, the bar area with a snooker table, the yard n little farm with those little animals, last but not the least the Golden RR at the main door; including Patrick's hospitality, this is a place that will make people return to visit n sure, I'm going back to stay there for my next visit to rotorua!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mwonghs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fred n, General Manager at Hamurana Lodge, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thanks for sharing your photos and review with us - a pleasure for the team to host you and let you experience our property inside out. Come back for a longer period to fully indulge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
7.9 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
6.8 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 93 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
4.6 mi away
Peppers on the Point - Lake Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Treetops Lodge & Estate
Treetops Lodge & Estate
#40 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
13.0 mi away
Solitaire Lodge
Solitaire Lodge
#21 of 93 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
6.5 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamurana Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamurana Lodge

Property: Hamurana Lodge
Address: 415 Hamurana Road | RD7, Rotorua 3097, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hamurana Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for luxury hotel accommodation Hamurana Lodge in Rotorua, New Zealand (NZ) offers executive suites along with a variety of special hotel packages for your holiday / vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hamurana Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing