We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hamurana Lodge
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$126
$105
Novotel
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$115
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$133
$129
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$123
$102
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sport of Kings Motel(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
$98
$91
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cleveland Thermal Motel(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
$86
$79
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Prince's Gate Hotel(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
$200
$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Braeside Rotorua(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
$93
$84
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$58
$56
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Alpin Motel and Conference Centre(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
$62
$57
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (436)
Filter reviews
436 results
Traveler rating
372
48
11
3
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
372
48
11
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnespresso machinenew zealandwarm croissantscountry estatelong drivewayheated floorsbeautiful propertyour honeymoonboutique hotelrotorua towna wonderful staylovely roomshort drivetwo nightstwo night staypatrickmerlin
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
211 - 216 of 436 reviews
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Beautiful property with a lot of charm and character. Rotorua is a dumpy town, so you'll appreciate being in such pleasant surroundings.

Patrick was outstanding and couldn't do enough for us. Lauren was more distant, but completely efficient.

Get the gourmet platter--it's excellent. Two areas for improvement: towels and amenities in the bathroom are weak, and the cold breakfast is repetitive and uninspired. The worst we've had in New Zealand though still not bad.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 136ross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fred n, Owner at Hamurana Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Thank you for your review and constructive feedback. We are delighted you enjoyed the charm and character of the property and our team's services and hospitality. Come back and visit us again soon, Warmest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

What a house! From afar, it looks like an old English cottage...and well, the Rolls Royce waiting for you just by the etrance door won't make you feel any differently. Very warm staff, always there to help without being too intrusive. The room was just a dream : very, very large, with full equipment (coffee machine, bathtub AND shower, hifi system...) and a lovely decoration.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Delroc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fred n, General Manager at Hamurana Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Hello and many thanks for your lovely review. A real pleasure to know that your stop in Rotorua while visiting NZ was filled with pampering and indulgence at the lodge and that you enjoyed the entire facilities and room amenities - especially the Nespresso coffee machine for that early morning wake up. Looking forward to your return. Warmest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

My entire family of four loved the Hamurana Lodge. It was a great change from hotels and the long hours of flying to New Zealand from the US. Patrick and the entire staff couldn't have been more gracious or welcoming. Breakfast was exceptional - on par with the Sofitel in Auckland. The lodge was charming and serene. Patrick helped us make the most of our three day trip to Rotorua. The only glitch was the distance from Waitomo where we went through the glowworm caves. But the roads were good and our daughter was used to driving in NZ as she had been there for her spring semester. Zorbing was tremendous fun - ten minutes away and the Maori experence was fascinating. Thanks to the entire team for a great stay.

Room Tip: we stayed on the top in the two room family suite - the kids loved the heated bathroom floor tiles - it was winter and rainy in NZ.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mdmom4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fred n, General Manager at Hamurana Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Kia Ora, Hello - Great to hear from you and the family. It was a real pleasure for all of us to host you at Hamurana Lodge Boutique Hotel for your extended stay. Delighted to know we have been equally compared to a large luxury brand - a real pride especially as being one of our favourite hotels in Auckland :) . Come back soon as many more activities are awaiting and more of the pampering at the lodge. Warmest regards, the entire Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We spent two nights at the Lodge and thoroughly enjoyed it. The room was comfortable and well-appointed and the service was attentive without being obtrusive. Our hosts were very accommodating and made us feel welcome. A comment in another review resonated with me, "Nothing was too much bother for the outstanding staff". This is true and in my opinion the very best part of staying at Hamurana Lodge.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank bronwen_kerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fred n, Owner at Hamurana Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Kia Ora Bronwen, thanks for your lovely feedback - the team is delighted to know their genuine care and hospitality as works once again - come back again soon
Warmest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

What a breath of fresh air and so what we needed...to be pampered with exceptional service, spectacular surroundings, ease of access and a definite need to return sometime soon. It was lovely to come home to visit NZ (expat) and stay somewhere so warming. Drinks were offered on arrival, food offered on our return from sightseeing daily and breakfast was nothing short of delectable. We were always greeted getting out of our car and walked inside as if we were family. Nothing was too much bother for the outstanding staff. I also wanted to comment on the wonderful underfloor heating in the ensuite...wow.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jacqui M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fred n, Owner at Hamurana Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

Thank you immensely Jacqui for wonderful feedback. Wonderful having you back home. Come again to enjoy soon, Warmest regards from all of us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews