We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 nights of exceptional and friendly service”
Review of Hamurana Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hamurana Lodge
Ranked #16 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Collins, Colorado, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“4 nights of exceptional and friendly service”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We had four days to experience the north island after spending two weeks in Australia. We decided to use Rotorua as our central location and the Hamurana Lodge as our home away from home. Wow! We had very high expectations after reading all of the reviews and Fred, Jenna, and Alex exceeded all of them. We stayed in a fabulous suite overlooking the property with a slight view of the lake. We arrived at 9pm the first night and starving -- and the most amazing platter was prepared in short order (so good we dined in again the fourth night!!). We were given excellent suggestions and directions by the staff for hikes, activities in the area, and restaurants. The service and amenities were wonderful (breakfast, wine, pool table, reading rooms, walking the grounds). Every time we returned from an outing a staff member greeted us in the driveway, welcomed us back, and asked if we needed anything - "Why yes, how about a glass of Syrah." Thanks Hamurana Lodge. You made our vacation.
-Greg & Cheryl

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fred n, General Manager at Hamurana Lodge, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Kia Ora to both of you, thank you for your lovely words shared amongst our great dedicated team. The Superior Suites are indeed a real pleasure to indulge in and guess what- The Syrah is poured so we are waiting for your next visit :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    350
    43
    10
    2
    1
See reviews for
52
275
17
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

My husband and I spent a few nights at the lodge! We loved the our room. The heated tile was a treat on a chilly fall morning!
The owners were so wonderful and gracious. When we first arrived after traveling half way around the world, a platter of cheeses, meats and salads were suggested as our evening meal. This could not have been better! except for the glass of wine or 2 that we had go with it.
In the morning breakfast buffett had a nice fresh variety for everyone. The fresh out of the oven croissant was to die for.
I have to say one more thing.... the bed was heaven at the end of the day. Thanks for making our visit to your area even better!!!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcizzz123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fred n, General Manager at Hamurana Lodge, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
A real pleasure reading your feedback - it was superb to host you and delighted to know you indulged in our new dinning concept of gourmet platters with some great wines. Beds are indeed heaven and they will await for your return soon - Warmest regards from the entire team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh on Sea
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We only had one night at Hamurana Lodge unfortunately, but the place itself is very special, and Jenna was great. From the moment we arrived we felt very spoilt, and, as previous reviews have stated, the attention to detail and service were excellent.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank KayD533
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fred n, General Manager at Hamurana Lodge, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Kia Ora - one night of great memories - we are delighted we created this at Hamurana Lodge and look forward to welcoming you again for a longer chilled period of time. See you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

This was the last stop on our 9 night East Cape tour and was just meant to break the trip back to Auckland. We were very warmly welcomed as we arrived, offered a drink and then sorted out the checking in.
Nothing was too much trouble and the two people we had looking after us were wonderful. It's about 15 mins from downtown Rototua so you don't get the Rotorua smell, it has lovely views over the lake and is quiet and secluded. We drove into town for dinner and had dinner al fresco at the street market which is on every Thursday.
My other half was very impressed by Hamurauna lodge, both by the sumptous room, and with the warmth of the people there. We loved it and would go back there if we are ever in the area.

Room Tip: Lake view are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordy838
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fred n, General Manager at Hamurana Lodge, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Sublime - very proud and thank you for your lovely feedback. A pleasure hosting both of you and that it gave you a chance to really enjoy the area of Rotorua. Come back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We only had 3 days to stay in New Zealand and I cannot imagine there is a better place to stay. We had arranged to have a cold platter for dinner since we were unsure what time we would arrive. Little did we know what a feast that would be. But it was not just quantity, the quality of the food was outstanding (high compliment by my foodie husband!) Eating during sunset on the balcony overlooking Lake Rotorua was quite magical. Our room was very spacious , and although somewhat dated,had plenty of amenities and was spotlessly clean. The addition of some large fluffy bath sheets to the bathroom would be welcomed. Ordinary bath towels don't go far when you are 6' 4" tall!
Breakfast is plentiful and fresh. Rotarua is close by with its attractions. If you want to spend time "away from the world" you can do that here. Secluded pool area, tennis court, acres of ground to stroll in, with farm animals and wildlife to watch and the most attentive staff you could wish for. We felt comfortable and spoiled!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beverley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fred n, General Manager at Hamurana Lodge, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Thank you Beverley for your lovely feedback shared with our team. It was a pleasure offering you a place away from the world for your 3 day visit to Rotorua and that you also loved our new gourmet platter concept - Visit us again soon :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raglan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 6, 2013

HAMURANA LODGE sets the standard for service and excellence. It is rare to find this caliber of quality and attention to detail at any price, anywhere. It is from a personal touch the moment you drive up to the lovely platter dinner, to the little things like bringing popcorn when watching the Academy awards on their large screen theater Television. If they said they would bring the website mentioned in conversation, it happens. Nothing but delivery on every point. I am in the hospitality business and rarely write a review because I know they can do damage if unbecoming truths go public so I would tell the owner in confidence. This is my pleasure to have a chance to sing the praises of a job most certainly well done.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fourelementsNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fred n, General Manager at Hamurana Lodge, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Cheers for your lovely review. Popcorns are a treat especially for the oscars. It is a pleasure to share your feedback with the team and we look forward to your return to NZ for another visit. A bientot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Booked through Hotels.com, so this review is there also. From what I found, this is probably the 2nd nicest spot in the Rotorua area. Not a lot of high-end lodging in this area except for the top spot (Treehouse) which is about 3X the cost, but apparently worth it if you have that sort of budget. Service at Hamurana is incredible and beautiful property. Only downsides are rooms are a little dated but still nice and very clean. It is a few miles just outside the CBD, so there is no walking to "attractions" or restaurants but we liked being away on a more farm-like setting.

My sons and I all have to eat gluten-free and they were very accommodating -- really nice breakfast with the room!

Room Tip: Can't remember the exact "title" of our room but they called it "the family room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heston L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fred n, General Manager at Hamurana Lodge, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Thank you for your comments and the chance of hosting you and the family for your trip to Rotorua. We are delighte dto have provided you the service we pride ourselves in and trust you will visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
6.8 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
696 reviews
6.5 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
4.6 mi away
Peppers on the Point - Lake Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
12.3 mi away
Treetops Lodge & Estate
Treetops Lodge & Estate
#44 of 92 in Rotorua
181 reviews
6.9 mi away
Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamurana Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamurana Lodge

Property: Hamurana Lodge
Address: 415 Hamurana Road | RD7, Rotorua 3097, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hamurana Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for luxury hotel accommodation Hamurana Lodge in Rotorua, New Zealand (NZ) offers executive suites along with a variety of special hotel packages for your holiday / vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hamurana Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing