We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a wonderful find... :)”
Review of Hamurana Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hamurana Lodge
Ranked #7 of 53 Rotorua B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We only had one night at Hamurana Lodge unfortunately, but the place itself is very special, and Jenna was great. From the moment we arrived we felt very spoilt, and, as previous reviews have stated, the attention to detail and service were excellent.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank KayD533
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fred n, General Manager at Hamurana Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Kia Ora - one night of great memories - we are delighted we created this at Hamurana Lodge and look forward to welcoming you again for a longer chilled period of time. See you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (427)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

236 - 242 of 427 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2013

This was the last stop on our 9 night East Cape tour and was just meant to break the trip back to Auckland. We were very warmly welcomed as we arrived, offered a drink and then sorted out the checking in.
Nothing was too much trouble and the two people we had looking after us were wonderful. It's about 15 mins from downtown Rototua so you don't get the Rotorua smell, it has lovely views over the lake and is quiet and secluded. We drove into town for dinner and had dinner al fresco at the street market which is on every Thursday.
My other half was very impressed by Hamurauna lodge, both by the sumptous room, and with the warmth of the people there. We loved it and would go back there if we are ever in the area.

Room Tip: Lake view are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gordy838
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fred n, General Manager at Hamurana Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Sublime - very proud and thank you for your lovely feedback. A pleasure hosting both of you and that it gave you a chance to really enjoy the area of Rotorua. Come back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We only had 3 days to stay in New Zealand and I cannot imagine there is a better place to stay. We had arranged to have a cold platter for dinner since we were unsure what time we would arrive. Little did we know what a feast that would be. But it was not just quantity, the quality of the food was outstanding (high compliment by my foodie husband!) Eating during sunset on the balcony overlooking Lake Rotorua was quite magical. Our room was very spacious , and although somewhat dated,had plenty of amenities and was spotlessly clean. The addition of some large fluffy bath sheets to the bathroom would be welcomed. Ordinary bath towels don't go far when you are 6' 4" tall!
Breakfast is plentiful and fresh. Rotarua is close by with its attractions. If you want to spend time "away from the world" you can do that here. Secluded pool area, tennis court, acres of ground to stroll in, with farm animals and wildlife to watch and the most attentive staff you could wish for. We felt comfortable and spoiled!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beverley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fred n, General Manager at Hamurana Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2013

Thank you Beverley for your lovely feedback shared with our team. It was a pleasure offering you a place away from the world for your 3 day visit to Rotorua and that you also loved our new gourmet platter concept - Visit us again soon :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

HAMURANA LODGE sets the standard for service and excellence. It is rare to find this caliber of quality and attention to detail at any price, anywhere. It is from a personal touch the moment you drive up to the lovely platter dinner, to the little things like bringing popcorn when watching the Academy awards on their large screen theater Television. If they said they would bring the website mentioned in conversation, it happens. Nothing but delivery on every point. I am in the hospitality business and rarely write a review because I know they can do damage if unbecoming truths go public so I would tell the owner in confidence. This is my pleasure to have a chance to sing the praises of a job most certainly well done.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fourelementsNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fred n, General Manager at Hamurana Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Cheers for your lovely review. Popcorns are a treat especially for the oscars. It is a pleasure to share your feedback with the team and we look forward to your return to NZ for another visit. A bientot

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Booked through Hotels.com, so this review is there also. From what I found, this is probably the 2nd nicest spot in the Rotorua area. Not a lot of high-end lodging in this area except for the top spot (Treehouse) which is about 3X the cost, but apparently worth it if you have that sort of budget. Service at Hamurana is incredible and beautiful property. Only downsides are rooms are a little dated but still nice and very clean. It is a few miles just outside the CBD, so there is no walking to "attractions" or restaurants but we liked being away on a more farm-like setting.

My sons and I all have to eat gluten-free and they were very accommodating -- really nice breakfast with the room!

Room Tip: Can't remember the exact "title" of our room but they called it "the family room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heston L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fred n, General Manager at Hamurana Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2013

Thank you for your comments and the chance of hosting you and the family for your trip to Rotorua. We are delighte dto have provided you the service we pride ourselves in and trust you will visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Ok, if you really want to wind down, book this place. The entry is already stunning as you feel driving up your own mansion lane. As soon as you cross the gate, the buzzer goes off and the people stand ready to greet you (we slipped passed the gate without tripping the buzzer, which does not happen often, must be caused by our stealth Korean car). The hosts are wonderful and you are greeted by a nice glass of NZ wine. Everything is cared for and we can definitely recommend the platter they prepare because it is delicious. We stayed 2 days in the lodge and it was the crown on a beautiful round trip around the north Island. One tip: we do neither like the touristic geothermal extravaganzas, nor the local evening entertainments and had a wonderful time at the Waikite Valley Thermal baths. It was quiet and beautiful. Then enjoy the sunset from the verandah of the lodge

Room Tip: Get the lake view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jollenl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fred n, General Manager at Hamurana Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Thanks for your comments, it was a real pleasure hosting you and we are still wondering HOW you tricked the buzzer :) - Come back soon and spend more quality time in the estate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Everything was perfect. Great location superb staff very helpful. Wonderful room great food. We highly recommend this excellent boutique lodge. Very intimate setting rural area with great access to the area. Quiet and comfortable

Room Tip: Front room was superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fred n, General Manager at Hamurana Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Hi Jim, peace and quiet for a bit of intimacy and romance is definately what we aim for and we are delighted you felt that way during your recent stay. See you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
6.8 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 91 in Rotorua
791 reviews
6.5 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
6.7 mi away
Prince's Gate Hotel
Prince's Gate Hotel
#22 of 91 in Rotorua
866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Treetops Lodge & Estate
Treetops Lodge & Estate
#39 of 91 in Rotorua
190 reviews
4.6 mi away
Peppers on the Point - Lake Rotorua
4.6 mi away
Best Western Braeside Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamurana Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamurana Lodge

Address: 415 Hamurana Road | Rd7, Rotorua 3097, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Rotorua
Price Range: $150 - $417 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hamurana Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for luxury hotel accommodation Hamurana Lodge in Rotorua, New Zealand (NZ) offers executive suites along with a variety of special hotel packages for your holiday / vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hamurana Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing