We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Home Away From Home”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hamurana Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hamurana Lodge
Ranked #15 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Navi Mumbai, India
1 review
“A Home Away From Home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

After a fairly hectic 2 week tour of 7 locations in New Zealand, one memory that stands out is our 2 nights stay at Hamurana Lodge. After visiting many larger hotels, the feel of Hamurana Lodge with its personalized service and friendly hosts (we interacted mainly with Jenna and Fred) was extremely refreshing.
The food was great, we really enjoyed the mini-platter with its variety of meats, seafood, cheeses, breads, fruit and veggies. The breakfast spread was equally good (included home-made jams), and a thoughtful touch was freshly baked cookies at the lounge area. We loved the compact yet well-stocked bar, an exclusive experience with a nice sampling of local beers.
The loaded iPod in the room was a nice idea, gave us a chance to enjoy some old favourite tracks and relax over a glass of wine.
We were well advised on places to visit in Rotorua (we settled on the Museum and Wai-O-Tapu Geothermals), both of which we really enjoyed.
We also enjoyed a walk around the property, the farm animals and delightful dog Sunny (who was just as friendly as the folks at the Lodge) were a pleasure to have around.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rohit S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fred n, General Manager at Hamurana Lodge, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Kia Ora Rohit, Many thanks for your positive feedback, it was a pleasure having you experience the lodge and it's award winning service and yes Sonny is a big part of the experience :) We look forward to hosting you again soon, Warmest Regards and Happy Festive Season
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    42
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
52
268
16
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

We loved Hamurana and Fred and Alec were fabulous hosts. The property was beautiful, the setting blissful and the staff went that extra mile to make sure we got the most from our weekend break, with advice on 'off the beaten track' places to visit. We would definitely stay here again if heading to Rotorua. Most of all, we adored the three friendly donkeys and goat who greeted us on our arrival! A very special place and lovingly restored and cared for.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philippa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fred n, General Manager at Hamurana Lodge, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Kia Ora Philippa H, Many thanks for your lovely feedback. We are delighted you totally relaxed and rejuvenated at the lodge during your weekend away. Our services and peace and quiet is a key element to a great Rotorua stay. Looking forward to seeing you again, Warmest Regards from the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenmore Park, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

From the moment we pulled up in the car to be greeted by Jenna we felt relaxed. It felt like nothing was to much trouble. We felt like we were staying with friends such was the atmosphere. This place is better than any five star accommodation we have stayed at. It is simply one of the best places we have stayed anywhere in the world.

Room Tip: We had a choice of two rooms both were excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

Hamurana Lodge was a one night stopover booked through research on the web.
Surprise number one - they contacted us to see if we wished o have a platter in house that night.
We did, and it was a gourmet delight.
Our host came to the car to grett us and take care of our baggage!
The property was lovely, our hosts delightful, and the rooms well appointed and very comfortable.
Breakfast was superb.
What more can I say - We wished we were staying longer to enjoy the rest of the facilities.
We hope to return.
Thank you to all the staff.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fred n, General Manager at Hamurana Lodge, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Kia Ora Susan, Many thanks for your lovely feedback and we are delighted you have enjoyed our hospitality and the Gourmet Platters our newly introduced casual concept. We look forward to hosting you on your next visit for a longer period to fully enjoy all the resort facilities at Hamurana Lodge Boutique Hotel, Warmest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

Where have you been that as you drive up to the front enterance the host comes out to meet you. Fred and Alec are great and they seem to know everything in Rotorua. Our room was beautiful as were the other public areas. If we ever get back to Rotorua, we will be at the lodge again

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

Stunning settings, superb hospitality. We really felt welcome and pampered...
The lodge is exquisite and the team running it on top of every details. Our rooms was super comfy, very well decorated with loads of kind attentions, on top of L'Occitane amenities in the bathroom, plush towels, Nespresso machines in the room. World class hospitality in a pristine and rare location. The property and the gardens are really beautiful. Hamurana Lodge is truly the perfect place to rewind and to reenergise : that's how I experience it ! Moreover there are loads of interesting things to see or to do in the region if you feel like it...
So do not hesitate any further, it is really worth staying there.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cerisesbanane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fred n, General Manager at Hamurana Lodge, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Dear Cerisesbanane, Many thanks for your review and delighted you have thoroughly enjoyed your time at the lodge, it was a pleasure for the entire team to host you and let you indulge in our facilities and offerings. Visit us again soon, Wamrest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

Had two nights here with a friend from the States. It was such a lovely experience and a great place to return to at night after a long day of sight seeing. Slept like babies, wonderful hosts and very welcoming. Dont stay in a hotel, this is the place to stay and is set in lovely grounds if you want to walk in the morning.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Westiegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fred n, General Manager at Hamurana Lodge, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Dear Westiegal, Thank you very much for your comments, Do visit us again and relax for a longer period and indulge. Our gardens are now the best setting for this comming summer with new resting areas and delightful hospitality as always, Warmest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
7.9 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
6.8 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 93 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
4.6 mi away
Peppers on the Point - Lake Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Treetops Lodge & Estate
Treetops Lodge & Estate
#40 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
13.0 mi away
Solitaire Lodge
Solitaire Lodge
#23 of 93 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
6.5 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamurana Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamurana Lodge

Property: Hamurana Lodge
Address: 415 Hamurana Road | RD7, Rotorua 3097, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hamurana Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for luxury hotel accommodation Hamurana Lodge in Rotorua, New Zealand (NZ) offers executive suites along with a variety of special hotel packages for your holiday / vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hamurana Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing