We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Service Around”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
New Castle Motor Lodge
Ranked #40 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Best Service Around”
Reviewed April 21, 2012

I found the New Castle Motor Lodge through a deal on Wotif. Upon arrival the owner showed me to our room and was very helpful on giving her advice as to which Maori village has a good hangi dinner and show. The entire lodge has been updated within the last ten years and the rooms are kept immaculate. The full kitchen was great. The spa bathtub and free WIFI were added bonuses. The owner checked in with us as we were leaving to run some errands for the day and wanted to let us know about a Maori show that was on special and said she'd be happy to book it for us - which she did and it ended up being a great evening out.

Would definitely recommend this place to anyone staying in Rotorua - the service was second to none.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheMellybooProject
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
citylights10, Owner at New Castle Motor Lodge, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thank you very much for your glowing review. We pride ourselves on cleanliness and service and Sue and Quentin certainly deliver this to all of our guests! We are grateful for you taking the time to give your feedback and hope to see you again one day. Until then, travel safely. Naomi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    70
    16
    7
    5
See reviews for
42
90
10
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hawkes Bay
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2012

Myself, Partner & Children stayed here for two nights, the owners were very nice, the Rooms were perfect for us & the Children, Very clean & tidy, Bathroom had a large Spa Bath... Super Strike Bowling is right next door to the Motel which was very handy just to finish the night off before bed... Not the closest to the City but not a big deal when you have a Vehicle... We would be more than happy to go back...

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donz74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
citylights10, Owner at New Castle Motor Lodge, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thank you very much for your lovely review. We are grateful that you took the time to give us your feedback and are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you will come and visit us again one day - until then, travel safely. Naomi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2012

friendly staff and operators, good clean and comfortable - great nights sleep at a reasonable cost. Family room has the kids sleeping ina separate room with a queen bed in the lounge which is a much better configuration than the other way around.

If you are looking for clean and tidy family accom (albeit a bit tired) This is well worth while

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gregorus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2012

Although the location is not the greatest (not downtown)- the managers personally chauffeured us to the downtown area! The room was clean and new and nice.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cmt87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2012

Immaculately clean, great size, good facilities and good price ($95).

Some amount of discolouration on the bath seal but I'm being nitpicky. Honestly I would really recommend this place to everyone I know and wish I could have taken the room with us on our travels!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JenIttels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 8, 2012

Thank you to Sue and her husband for excellent service, going out of their way to make my children, and mother feel at home. Giving us fantastic advice on sight seeing. Loved the spa bath ! A treat for young and old ! The rooms were spacious, well kept and very clean.
We will be back !

Room Tip: A room with a SPA BATH !
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton UK
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2011

Very resonable priced, extremley helpful staff, nothing too much for them.
Ideal place to stay just out of the hustle and bustle of Rotorua, and walking distance away from resturants.
Our room was clean and fully furnished with everything that was required.
Well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Down stairs were good, however being close to a industrial unit it would probally be best upstairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SouthamptonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.3 mi away
Brylin Motel
Brylin Motel
#49 of 92 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rotorua Coachman Spa Motel
2.1 mi away
Lake Rotorua Hotel
Lake Rotorua Hotel
#48 of 92 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Apex on Fenton
Apex on Fenton
#10 of 92 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
0.9 mi away
Accolade Lodge Motel
Accolade Lodge Motel
#37 of 92 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
0.4 mi away
Green View Hotels
Green View Hotels
#66 of 92 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Castle Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Castle Motor Lodge

Property: New Castle Motor Lodge
Address: 18 Ward Avenue, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — New Castle Motor Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your New Castle Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Castle Motor Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing