We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable stay with friendly, accommodating hosts.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Rock Thermal Motel
Ranked #20 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very comfortable stay with friendly, accommodating hosts.”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Our two days in Rotorua were very wet and I was ill throughout but despite these factors, I have great memories of Red Rock Thermal Motel. We had a great, comfortable, clean, recently-renovated room with good internet access (great as for the second day I was in bed for most of it!) and were welcomed brilliantly by Ngata and Merryn. It was one of the best motels we stayed in during our month in New Zealand, for sure.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yogal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Rock T, Manager at Red Rock Thermal Motel, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Kia Ora Yogal, thanks for the comment that we were one of the best motels you stayed in whilst in New Zealand, we really appreciate that you took the time to write a review and especially make that comment. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay; we do price ourselves on our service and cleanliness. Wishing you all the best - Merryn & Ngata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    78
    18
    5
    2
See reviews for
101
108
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We were at Red Rock in 2011 Dec for our yearly retreat and road-drive in NZ. We had booked the hut as there were four of us and we wanted something with a small kitchen to cook our meals while in Rotorua.

The little hut is really huge and the children were very excited and happy with the place that we were staying. Apart from that, the kitchen had everything that you need from cooking pans to spatula that we had forgotten to bring along.

The staffs were very helpful too because every morning while we were out exploring the town, they will come in and help us clean up whatever dishes that we had left behind in the sink from the previous night of cooking.

While we were there, I realised that they were providing some local manufactured toiletries which were very helpful to my skin while I was in NZ due to the low humidity. So I was actually trying to purchase the handwash from the motel but they didn't really had any spare ones to offer me but they did helped me contacted the supplier and got them to deliver my purchase to my next hotel in Wellington.

Apart from the kitchen, they also had a thermal pool which was quite generous for a motel. Will definitely be visiting them again during my next trip to Rotorua!

One last thing, they also had wifi provided for us during the trip.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SilverMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Rock T, Manager at Red Rock Thermal Motel, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Kia Ora Silver Mama. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in our Cottage; it is certainly great for families, couples and groups. The Cottage is a home away from home with everything you need there along with access to a guest laundry and heated pools. We are glad that you were able to source the toiletries and we look forward to seeing on your next stay in Rotorua - Merryn & Ngata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

This is a perfect place to stop and stay in Rotorua, and I would highly recommend it as a great budget option, with extremely friendly service, and great rooms. Very relaxing sitting in the Geothermal Spa, and having easy walking access to Town, and the local Maori Village on the edge of the lake. My wife and I loved staying here and would do so again next time we visit Rotorua...

Room Tip: Easy access to the thermal park (free) in town, and also close to the Moari Village on the edge of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swinno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Rock T, Manager at Red Rock Thermal Motel, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Kia Ora, thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. Great to hear that you appreciated out services and facilities, the private mineral pool is always a very popular and great for that end of the day (or start) soak. Glad to hear that you also enjoyed Ohinemutu. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to New Zealand - Merryn & Ngata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Lovely rooms, plenty of space. The pool and trampoline were perfect kids entertainment. We all liked the vibrant artwork, and the room access with decks out the back. Would recommend this for families.

Room Tip: Rooms to the north are away from the pool and road
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Rock T, Manager at Red Rock Thermal Motel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Kia Ora Emma. We are glad to hear that you and the children enjoyed the stay here. Our outdoor heated pool and large Jumpflex trampoline are a real hit with children of all ages. Thank you taking the time to write a review and we look forward to seeing you again. Merryn & Ngata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed April 27, 2013

A great place for families. We really appreciated the cots with their linen and warm covers. Room for little ones inside and out. Merryn and Ngata were friendly, so helpful and nothing was too much trouble. We really appreciated their advice and the bookings they made for us. So great not to have to hire linen and towels. Warm, clean, comfortable and well equipped. A few shops, such as a bakery and fruit market nearby to save driving to the supermarket. Easy to find and close to everything. Value for money. Thank you for having us. :)

Room Tip: Let Merryn and Ngata know how many people and they will advise you. Great cottage to all bunk in tog...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Rock T, Manager at Red Rock Thermal Motel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Kia Ora Sue. Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. We are happy to provide Cots, but as we only have a couple they do need to be booked. Nothing beats a bit of local knowledge and we are both born & breed here, please to be able to book things and take advantage of special rates. Glad that you enjoyed the Cottage is great for groups or large families. It was a pleasure to meet you all. Take care, Merryn & Ngata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Merryn and Ngata were helpful, friendly and informative. They asked about our interests and advised accordingly, pointing out where they could save us money by booking on our behalf.
Our room was clean, quiet and secure, it was serviced daily, which was a pleasant surprise. We really liked the fact that they had organised the arrangement of the beds, which allowed our ten year old to go to sleep, while we could stay up and not feel that we had to go to bed at 8.30 as well.
The kitchen was fully equipped and the cutlery and crockery were good quality.
We used the swimming pool (clean and warm) but didn't get a chance to use the mineral pool (42C).
What really impressed us was how understanding Merryn and Ngata were when our outbound flight was seriously delayed.
As it is a little way out of town, you will need a car, but then unless you're only planning on seeing central Rotorua, you'd need a car anyway.
Can't wait to come back to Rotorua and we would definitely stay here again.
Finally, make sure that when booking the Aquaduck tour, that it's on a day that Ngata is the tour guide and driver. It was a great tour :)

Room Tip: We stayed in room 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanuja_W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Rock T, Manager at Red Rock Thermal Motel, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Kia Ora Tanuja, Steve & Rohan. Thank you for the lovely review. It was not problem to work around your flight; we understand that things such as this are simply out of your control.
We understand travelling can be expensive, so where ever we can help you save a penny or two we will definitely point you in that direction.
We pride ourselves on our service and cleanliness, and we currently service rooms every day except Christmas. Glad to hear you enjoyed the pool and you must try the mineral pool on your next stay!
In regards to location, we are about a 3 minute drive or 12-15 minute walk from the CDB, but Rotorua's attractions are spread out all over the city, so a car does help. However, if you do not want to drive there is a company that we recommend that can help with your transportation.
Glad to hear that you enjoyed Rotorua Duck tours, it is one of Ngata's passions.
It was lovely to meet you all and we look for to seeing you again.
Take care – Merryn, Ngata & Rufus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed our recent 2 night stay. Friendly hosts, very comfortable studio unit and private mineral pool was brilliant. One of the purposes of our trip was to experience the Rail Cruising Adventure about 20 minutes out of Rotorua. Can thoroughly recommend that as well as the Red Rock Motel.

Room Tip: Book ahead
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen638
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Rock T, Manager at Red Rock Thermal Motel, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Kia Ora Helen! Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay here with us and had time to soak in the Mineral Pool. We look forward to being able to accommodate you again in the same unit after May, as we are completely redecorating the Studio Units. I have also passed on your feedback to Rail Cruising. Until next time - Merryn & Ngata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.9 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
696 reviews
1.8 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
0.9 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#4 of 92 in Rotorua
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#17 of 92 in Rotorua
839 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western Braeside Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Rock Thermal Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Rock Thermal Motel

Property: Red Rock Thermal Motel
Address: 109 Lake Road, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Red Rock Thermal Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Rock Thermal Motel is a small motel with thermal heating, a private thermal mineral spa pool for rejuvenating after a busy day sightseeing and a outdoor heated swimming pool. We have gardens to relax in with a trampoline for the kids. All units have tea & coffee facilities, kitchenettes and bathrooms. The Motel is ideally situated to tour the many geothermal parks in the area. Many of the Maori Culture shows offer a free pick up service from here for a great night out, or if you prefer you can simply walk out of our back gate, catch yourself a trout from the stream & cook it on the BBQ. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Rock Thermal Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing