We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice and Comfy” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Rock Thermal Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Red Rock Thermal Motel
Ranked #21 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Palmerston North, New Zealand
1 review
“Nice and Comfy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

The Red Rock Thermal Motel is conveniently located to town, the Gondala and other sites. The welcome we received on arrival was excellent as was the condition of the room that accomodated five of us comfortably. The pool and spa were lovely and warm and very clean.
We would definetely stay there again. The only negative was the amount of prickles in the grass out the back that meant the kids couldn't go bare foot. However, this did not detract from the enjoyment of our stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richie42_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Rock T, Manager at Red Rock Thermal Motel, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Kia Ora Richie. Thank you for the review. W are glad that you found our room comfortable and made the most of the 2 pools that we have on site, they are definately a great way to relax and also occupy the family. Thank you for alerting us to the prickles in the lawn, this is our first summer here as managers so we are looking into what we can do to remove them. WE look forward to seeing you again and wish you & your family Ngā mihi o te Tau Hou (Happy New Year) - Merryn & Ngata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    77
    18
    5
    2
See reviews for
96
105
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

Red Rock Thermal Motel was a fantastic place to stay. Merryn the owner is very helpful and accommodating. I had a cold when I arrived but the thermal pool soon fixed that up as reccommended by Merryn! Washing facilities available for a couple of dollars and heated room available for drying clothes. The main pool is a perfect temperature! The room was comfortable and nice and clean and modern. Also a little sitting area out back which was nice and homely. My family of four would definitelty return in the future! Thanks again Merryn and Ngata.

Room Tip: All pretty much the same I would think. No problems at all. Highly recommended!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fiona C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Rock T, Manager at Red Rock Thermal Motel, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Kia Ora Fiona. Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a lovely review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay here with us at the Red Rock. Glad to hear that our advice about the mineral pool made you feel better, the mineral water is great for the sniffles and any aches & pains. We are glad that you made the most of our facilities and we look forward to seeing you again. Safe travels - Merryn & Ngata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

Welcoming / Helpful at every request / Clean / Friendly / Free Wifi / Lovely Hot Pools / Comfortable for all....
Arrived with my family, myself, my partner, 2 older kids (13yrs n 11yrs) n a 1yr old, instantly greeted on arrival, welcomed all the kids, knew everyones names prior to arrival --- just made us feel so welcomed like we were family! All 3 kids straight on the brand new tramp, then hit the warm outdoor pool (was slightly showering at one point but we loved it n remained in the pool) and showered comfortably in our spacious room! Had the deluxe family room n was peeerrrrrrrfect!!!!
From now on, will only stay at Red Rock when in Rotovegas! Have stayed at Novotel / Millenium and others, and enjoyed my stay at RED ROCK much more! We felt like individual clients and not just a number / sale!
Room was more than enough with full kitchen facilities, plenty of bathroom commodities, separate room for the kids, comfy beds all round and a fold out couch....
Prefer this location as its right in the middle for heading towards town for markets / cafes etc and then right around the corner from the gondola / luge etc.... Food places both ways, shops close by! Highly recommend Red Rock!
Was a blessing to meet Ngata n Merryn!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Rock T, Manager at Red Rock Thermal Motel, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Kia Ora Adam, Hanna, Jada, Jermaine & Jett. Thank you the totally glowing review. It was our absolute pleasure to meet you and ensure you had a fantastic stay here with us, especially as this was a Thank you weekend from a good friend. Was great timing to have your kids test out our brand new trampoline, which had only been up for a matter of hours! We too think that swimming in a warm pool in the rain is great. We definitely like to treat our guests as individuals and try to make Red Rock guests feel like they are at home and of course relaxed to enjoy their stay. We look forward to seeing you all again and wish you happiness and safe travels. Take care until we meet again. Mere Kirimete me te mihi atu mou te tau hau - Ngata & Merryn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

Very nice place, nice staff the lady was very keen
the studio is spacious and everything was clean (sheets, towels..)
you have everything you need in the kitchen to cook if necessary

the outdoor pool is really lovely and warmed which is great after a day trip in the region
the indoor pool/spa is really a fun experience (smells sulfur but that's normal!) hot water, bubbles

good value for money!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nico P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Rock T, Manager at Red Rock Thermal Motel, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Kia Ora Nico. Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We love to tell visitors to our City about the many wonders we have to offer and to hear of your travels. Our Studios are well sized and appointed. The outdoor pool is great all year round as it is heated. The mineral pool is great to rest away any travellers’ tired bones. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels and look forward to being to accommodate you again. Take care - Merryn & Ngata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

During our one-month stay at New Zealand we have had 10 different accommodations of similar cost. The Red Rock was mostly closed to our home comfort. In spite of running road works we felt there very comfortable. Spaceful room, perfect lighting in room and bathroom, comfortable beds, mixing handle-operated water valves, hose type of shower, free WI-FI - miscellaneous, which created nice environment including also thermal pool with massage nozzles and heated outdoor swimming pool. But first of all impressions was heartful dealing of all motel operators and personnel. Very unlikely we shall meet again, but definitely we shall remember pleasant stay in Red Rock for long time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vladimir v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Rock T, Manager at Red Rock Thermal Motel, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Kia Ora Vladimir. Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review for us. It was a pleasure to meet you both and to have you stay with us, we were sorry we did not get to say good-bye to you. We are glad that you made use of the facilities here at the Red Rock and we too agree that are pools are terrific! We wish you well and safe travels. Kia tupato tou hikoi - Merryn & Ngata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

We really enjoyed staying this motel.
Merryn & Ngata are so kind and friendly for all guests.
The room is so tidy and most of equipments are ready to use.
We could stay here very comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mitsu968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Rock T, Manager at Red Rock Thermal Motel, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Kia Ora Mitsu. Thank you for taking the time to write a review for Red Rock Thermal Motel. It was a pleasure to meet you and have you stay with us. We are glad that you found the room tidy and well equipped and we look forward to having you stay with us again - Merryn & Ngata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

We found Red Rock by serching for gay-friendly motels and were given a free up-grade to make it easier for us to cater for ourselves. The room had been recently decorated very tastefully and was serviced daily. It was really clean and well-equipped. The hosts were friendly and welcoming - always stopped for a chat.
The themal spa pool was convenient - relax in the pool and slip back to your room to collapse into bed. Lovely. The whole package was great value. It was close to all the attractions that we wanted to see and do. We thoroughly recommend Red Rock and we would stay again next time we're in Rotorua.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Rock T, Manager at Red Rock Thermal Motel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Kia Ora Nick & Geoff. Thank you so very much for writing the review for us. We were happy to provide you with an upgrade, nice to have an extra bit of space when staying a few days. We pride ourselves on our cleanliness, so thank you for mentioning that. It was great to catch up and to hear what you had been up to whilst staying here with us at Red Rock Thermal Motel. It’s wonderful to be able to relax in the pool after a busy day exploring Rotorua, so we are glad you made the most of it. W look forward to having you stay with us again. Take care - Merryn & Ngata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
1.8 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
1.7 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#14 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
0.9 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#13 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#17 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cleveland Thermal Motel
Cleveland Thermal Motel
#11 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
1.7 mi away
Arista Capri Motel
Arista Capri Motel
#5 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Rock Thermal Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Rock Thermal Motel

Property: Red Rock Thermal Motel
Address: 109 Lake Road, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Red Rock Thermal Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Rock Thermal Motel is a small motel with thermal heating, a private thermal mineral spa pool for rejuvenating after a busy day sightseeing and a outdoor heated swimming pool. We have gardens to relax in with a trampoline for the kids. All units have tea & coffee facilities, kitchenettes and bathrooms. The Motel is ideally situated to tour the many geothermal parks in the area. Many of the Maori Culture shows offer a free pick up service from here for a great night out, or if you prefer you can simply walk out of our back gate, catch yourself a trout from the stream & cook it on the BBQ. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Red Rock Thermal Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing