We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Red Rock Thermal Motel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ibis Rotorua(Rotorua)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Reviews (314)
Filter reviews
314 results
Traveler rating
200
87
18
5
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
200
87
18
5
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmineral spasmall complexfree wifiprivate thermal poolfull kitchenshort walk into townkuirau parkthermal heatinga great staymain roadserviced dailyroom was largestayed longerbed was very comfortableonly stayed one nighttea and coffeenew zealand
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
246 - 251 of 314 reviews
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We stayed in room number 7 last night and were very impressed with the 5 star finish. We felt immediately welcome and at home. Thanks for that. Merryn & Ngata have been amazing hosts and we want you to know that we appreciate it. Hope the road works ends soon so that you can get back to 'normal'. Thoroughly enjoyed the soak in the spa ☺ We would stay with you again

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tersia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Rock T, Manager at Red Rock Thermal Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Kia Ora Tersia & Alan. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay here with us and that you loved our Deluxe Studio. The mineral pool is wonderful and we are glad that you made the most of your stay here with us and enjoyed the soak. Countdown to roadworks finishing is getting closer. We look forward to seeing you again. Take care - Merryn & Ngata

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We ranked our experience at Red Rock Theramal Motel 9.5 out of 10.
It would have been 10 if the nearby road construction was completed, and the weather was a bit better.

Both the owner Jim and his manager ( husband & wife ) were friendly and very helpful.We found the use of Motel's thermal spa to be convenient, cosy and very private and comfortable healing spa - a bit of an extra luxury at the cost of a night's stay. The unit was well appointed, spacious, the free wi-fi allowed us to contact friends, plan our travel. We have visited nearby attractions including caves, Maori villege and sorrounding areas. After our 11 days visit in New Zealand we considered stay at Red Rock Thermal Motel the highlight of our trip and real value for our moneys, and certainly would recommend this gem vacation place to all nice people.

We purchased some lamb, and used the BBQ available to the Motel's visitors. The Pack& Save and Countdown food stores are located just a few minutes drive away.

This place may not be well visible off the Lake Road, but it is a hidden treasure.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tradicional
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Rock T, Manager at Red Rock Thermal Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Kia Ora Eugene & Zuzana. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay here with us and that we could all help to make your honeymoon that little bit more enjoyable. The roadworks are nearly completed, it will be great when complete. The pool is indeed a great healer, wonderful for any aches & pains and general stiffness after travelling. We are glad you enjoyed the wifi, and we trust your friends enjoyed the updates on your travel. Great to hear you had some Kiwi Lamb on a BBQ, what a Kiwi tradition that is! All the very best to you both and we wish you continued success with your dancing. Take care - Merryn & Ngata

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Yes there were road works but they didn't bother us. We only stayed one night (mother and 8 year old daughter). Great location, close to heaps of things. We swam in the outdoor pool and soaked in the spa. The room was fantastic and we would stay there again. Lovely mangement too!

Room Tip: We stayed in the duluxe room which looks to be the most modern and is closest to the spa.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shelley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Rock T, Manager at Red Rock Thermal Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2012

Kia Ora Shelley, we are glad that you and your daughter enjoyed your stay with us in our Deluxe Studio and made the most of our swimming pool & mineral spa. We plan to be doing the other studios to this standard mid next year and this is also the same standard in our Deluxe One Bedrooms. We look forward to seeing you again and being able to host another mini escape break for you. Take care - Merryn & Ngata

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

that events out of their control took the edge off our stay. Roadworks outside meant noise, though at least they stopped at dinnertime. Don't expect a long lie until they finish though. Then the internet server crashed for a day, no nighttime youtube for Dad. But, great location close to bakery, wine store, fish and chips and the big park. Outdoor pool was so lovely and warm, even on a cold morning. Private spa also awesome. Nice new bedding, with a lovely double in the lounge as well as my sons in the bedroom. Def need to either close or fix the trampoline please: the safetly padding has rotted away, exposing springs and the netting to prevent falls was absent.Friendly Reception, very helpful. Overall good value, esp if you like hot water :-)

Room Tip: Unit # 1 is next to the Pool, noisy kids swim pretty early :-)
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colbro66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Rock T, Manager at Red Rock Thermal Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Kia Ora Colin, thank you for taking the time to complete a review. Unfortuantely the roadworks are out of our control but are all meant to be over in the next few weeks. We have a wonderful new brick wall that goes all around the pool area and front of our property so that is shielding us from the works going on. We now have a new Internet router, think the other one must have been overworked and tired due to the heavy holiday usage! The new trampoline has been ordered, this is due in the next few weeks, we thought it better to have it there for our regular holiday stayers than nothing, but your comments have been noted and the old one was taken down on the last day of the holidays. So on your next stay you will see a few changes. Thanks Merryn & Ngata :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We stayed here for one night in a studio for $80. The room was fine. Had a kitchenette with all the usual facilities. Location is ok, about a 5 min drive from the town centre. Staff were helpful and friendly. Free wifi which is always nice. Very reasonably priced. No complaints at all.

Would stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SF3415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Rock T, Manager at Red Rock Thermal Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2012

Kia Ora, thank you for taking the time to write the review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay here with us at the Red Rock Thermal Motel and we look forward to being able to accommodate you again in the future. Travel Safe. Merryn & Ngata

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews