We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Ibis Rotorua

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ibis Rotorua
Ranked #33 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
Bigfork, Montana, Usa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Average hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

Great location within walking distance. The hotel is unattractive and the rooms are SMALL. We had two double beds (didn't get to pick) and the bathrooms are small. We arrived to park across the street and took our own luggage as there were no bellmen. The staff was fine but no overly helpful. There was a horrible smell in the entry as if the sewage was having a problem. Fine room for a night but wouldn't want to spend more time in that room. The buffet breakfast is NOT WORTH the $25 NZ.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian S, Manager at Ibis Rotorua, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Dear Teresa K

Thank you for the feedback regarding your recent stay with us in Rotorua,i am sorry to hear that your stay was not a memorable one. The smell you are referring to is the sulphurous gases released due to the predominant geothermal activity in the Rotorua area, and not sewerage.

Regards
Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    502
    294
    58
    24
See reviews for
224
507
94
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Wagga Wagga, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

Good location, reception very helpful, rooms are average, had an issue with the sink clogging up and the mini bar fridge not working at all, not much parking available.Overall it was a nice hotel to stay in.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank straveller91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian S, Manager at Ibis Rotorua, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Dear straveller91

Thank you for the feedback regarding your recent stay with us in Rotorua. I am pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay overall with us. With regards to the few concerns you had these have been addressed with the team.

Regards
Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

I stay at this hotel on a regular basis for business, I have always enjoyed my stays due to
Staff. They are always welcoming, very professional and friendly. The Toaster at breakfast
could be more user friendly as the instructions to use are in English only.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Les W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian S, Manager at Ibis Rotorua, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Dear straveller91

It is always fantastic to hear from our regular guests, thank you for the ongoing patronage. Looking forward to your next stay with us.

Regards
Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

A very nice hotel and we received a friendly welcome together with a voucher for a fee drink from the bar. Our room was very nice and the bed was comfortable. We had dinner at the hotel and the meal was lovely. The hotel is across the road from the lake which we could view from our room.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank nmurdoch1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian S, Manager at Ibis Rotorua, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Dear nmurdoch1

Thank you for the feedback regarding your stay with us, I am pleased you enjoyed the facilities, look forward to having you back with us.

Regards
Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

Booked online for two nights, relying on pictures shown but the real deal is absolutely grotesque. Came to a poorly aired room with a carpet full of obnoxious marks that I did not deem it fit for our toddler to step down from the bed. Lumpy beds made the night so uncomfortable so checked out next morning. Would not recommend this place to anyone, forget the views hygiene is most important. The bathrooms did not have a shower cap and it took the lady at the desk 10 mins to locate one! An entire re hauling is required for the hotel's amenities, the staff can do as much. They tried their best to put forward their best faces but you can see through it all and sympathise with them.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Kawal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian S, Manager at Ibis Rotorua, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Dear Kawal S

Thank you for the feedback regarding your stay with us, at the Ibis Rotorua we strive to provide superior service to all our guests, we have obviously not succeeded on this occasion and for that I apologize.

Regards
Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.0 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
0.7 mi away
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#18 of 93 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 93 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
1.5 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
0.6 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Rotorua

Property: Ibis Rotorua
Address: Lake End Rangiuru Street | PO Box 348, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#32 Family Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ibis Rotorua 3.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ibis Rotorua is located on the picturesque shores of lake Rotorua, just five minutes walk from the central business district, convention centre, cafes and restaurants and some of Rotorua's most popular tourist attractions. The fully air-conditioned hotel offers 145 rooms providing exceptional comfort and value. Room configurations can be one king or two doubles. A number of triple rooms with three single beds are also available. Bedrooms feature in-room safes, internet with broadband connectivity, showers, flat screen TV's and refrigerators. 24hr reception, an internet kiosk and guest laundry facilities. The I-Restaurant and Bar welcomes guests for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Conference rooms and other facilities at the neighboring Novotel Rotorua Lakeside are also available to guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Rotorua Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing